We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (800)
Filter reviews
800 results
Traveller rating
705
84
11
0
0
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
705
84
11
0
0
Show reviews that mention
All reviews royal gala guest house city centre great hosts roman baths minute walk train station downtown bath bath abbey spent nights full english breakfast breakfast was delicious each morning lovely guesthouse wonderful stay little extras eggs benedict
Filter
Updating list...
561 - 566 of 800 reviews
Reviewed 7 August 2012

Easy access to the city of Bath - within walking distance. Lyndsey greeted us warmly, though she was a bit distracted by her baby & so explanations were cut short, as you would expect. Though the room was clean, the bed was not comfortable (lumpy) and the shower head in the bathroom was in need of some bleaching as it was quite moldy. We met Les the next morning who was quite helpful, & also friendly. Breakfast (full English) was okay.
The rating is due to the lumpy bed, moldy shower head & average breakfast. I imagine that given a different room (which we did not request) would have made a better impression. The proprietor's were lovely, friendly & welcoming. The location is perfect.

  • Stayed: May 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank sofla01
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
appletree0, Owner at Apple Tree, responded to this reviewResponded 8 August 2012

As this reviewer stayed 3 months ago and we have had dozens of excellent reviews since then , we are a little surprised at this harsh review. Having looked at their member profile we note they also give quite harsh reviews to other places they have stayed. Our Business is our passion- we work extremely hard 7 days a week to deliver a great place to stay for our guests, and to make everyone feel as though they are friends staying in our beautiful house.
If a guest brings something to our attention - it is rectified immediately. We have had no feedback about shower heads, or our beds- we have renewed all of our matresses in the last year, so find this difficult to understand. We have also checked all of our shower heads and they are all immaculate, so we cannot understand the comment on shower heads. We do live in a hard water area (hence that beautiful Bath Stone!!) so we make a point of regular descaling, so this issue should never occur, so we really are scratching our heads on this one, because we have not seen any problems ourselves!! There is also certainly no mould in our bathrooms , as we have them totally stripped and resealed every few months to stop this issue ever appearing.
As for our breakfasts, hopefully the 200 plus excellent reviews that mention our excellent breakfast are far more relevent .

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 August 2012

Everything in Bath is a five to ten minute walk from here. When we arrived, Lynsey greeted us enthusiastically. She helped us find a laundromat, and suggested a great place for dinner. We walked all over town and enjoyed the proximity of the canal to the guest house. The rooms were unique and beautiful. The food was great. Lynsey even thought to ask in advance to be sure we had breakfast before we left early one morning for the Mad Max Stonehenge tour.

  • Stayed: July 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank californiagirl94303
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 August 2012

We arrived at The Apple Tree on Saturday morning and were greeted by Lyn and Les. We were instantly welcomed into their home and made to feel completely at ease. They tailored to our every wish and were interested to know a little more about us.

We were in Bath to deliver our wedding rings to our Best Men and after finding this out, Lyn and Les left us a box of chocolates and a note in our room later that day.

We had a wonderful long weekend at the Apple Tree and each day began with a scrumptious breakfast. We will be back at Easter :-) we can highly recommend this guest house.

  • Stayed: July 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank TaliJay
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 July 2012

Great guest house run by a lovely couple. Close to Bath, within walking distance of train, bus city center and attractions. I had a very comfortable single room on the top floor. Owners were very attentive and informative about local attractions. Wonderful breakfast selection. Would definitely stay again and would also recommend.

  • Stayed: May 2012, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Maggie195611
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 July 2012

Such a great location! Lynsey greeted us cheerfully upon arrival and answered all questions, then gave wonderful touring advice. The breakfasts are ample and tasty, with Les and Lynsey beaming at every turn; such warm and cheerful hosts. We walked from the train station with our luggage to the hotel in about ten minutes. The Apple Tree is so close to city center...and a great pub is on the corner just down from the guest house. Clean, secure, perfect hosts. We couldn't have picked a better place to stay in my favorite city on earth.

Room Tip: The family room is large and spacious.
  • Stayed: July 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank JC P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews