We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Warm welcome”
Review of Apple Tree

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Bath
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Apple Tree
Ranked #12 of 155 Bath B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 11 August 2012

Apple Tree Guest House offered us a very warm welcome during out two-day trip to Bath at the end of last month. Lynsay and Les are very friendly and enthusiastic people who are more than happy to tell you all about Bath, where to go, what to see, and what to avoid. They clearly love their role as hosts, and want to do what they can to make your stay a pleasant one. The room provided everything we needed and the breakfast menu was more than adequate. We can't comment on the cooked breakfasts as we found cereal and several helpings of toast was plenty. At breakfast times our hosts' door was open and it was nice to know they were living on site and available if we had any questions. The guest house is perfectly situated for a visit to the city - you can walk across the bridge into Bath in just five or ten minutes, and it's nice and quiet and suburban to come home to at the end of the evening. We had a lovely stay and would recommend Apple Tree as a very convenient place to stay. We found parking expensive in Bath, so it would have been nice to be able to keep the parking permit for another few hours after checking out but before we left the city.

  • Stayed: July 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Kit62
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (739)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

497 - 503 of 739 reviews

Reviewed 9 August 2012

Myself and three of my friends recently stayed at The Apple Tree guesthouse. From beginning to end our stay was just right. Les and Lynsay are the most attentive hosts. We dealt more with Les during our stay and his attention to detail was faultless. He was full of information about the area and things we could do during our stay and made sure he knew each of us by name not too long after meeting us. Nothing was too much trouble for Les and this is what made our stay so pleasant. We stayed in a triple room which housed 3 singles (can be changed if need be) There was plenty of room for the three of us and all the usual nice touches in the rooms like tea, coffee, fresh milk on request, mini dairy milk bars. The bed was also very comfortable and I found I slept like a baby over my two night stay. The bathroom was a little small which wasn't really a problem but the shower is probably need of a new head so that the water flows in only one direction. All in all a great stay!! Thanks Les and Lyns!

Room Tip: The triple room was the biggest, I also saw the single at the top of the house which was small but v...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Londonjonesy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 August 2012

The Apple Tree is hard to fault.

It is a short walk from the rail station, and so just about perfectly placed for everything else in Central Bath. Bike Hire is nearby, as is a superb art gallery. I think there are two week's worth of restaurants within walking distance.

Rooms are fully equipped, clean and comfy. Food is among the best I have eaten at a B&B - the veggie breakfast is spot on, not to mention the fruit salad and cereal seslection.

Best of all the welcome is unsurpassed - nothing is too much trouble. Advice on visits, places to eat, travel, events and art are all offered. I bet they know answers to most queries!

Lovely, friendly, 10/10 and I will definitely go back.

All this and Bath too!

  • Stayed: August 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Sumo61
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 August 2012

Very cute and homely B&B. Les and Lynsay welcomed us warmly and were enthusiastic to help us and meet all our needs. Rooms really clean and comfortable with great facilities. Great location, easy access to Bath. Will definitely use B&B again when I head to Bath. Thanks guys.

Stayed: August 2012, travelled with friends
Thank Laura T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 August 2012

Easy access to the city of Bath - within walking distance. Lyndsey greeted us warmly, though she was a bit distracted by her baby & so explanations were cut short, as you would expect. Though the room was clean, the bed was not comfortable (lumpy) and the shower head in the bathroom was in need of some bleaching as it was quite moldy. We met Les the next morning who was quite helpful, & also friendly. Breakfast (full English) was okay.
The rating is due to the lumpy bed, moldy shower head & average breakfast. I imagine that given a different room (which we did not request) would have made a better impression. The proprietor's were lovely, friendly & welcoming. The location is perfect.

  • Stayed: May 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank sofla01
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
appletree0, Owner at Apple Tree, responded to this reviewResponded 8 August 2012

As this reviewer stayed 3 months ago and we have had dozens of excellent reviews since then , we are a little surprised at this harsh review. Having looked at their member profile we note they also give quite harsh reviews to other places they have stayed. Our Business is our passion- we work extremely hard 7 days a week to deliver a great place to stay for our guests, and to make everyone feel as though they are friends staying in our beautiful house.
If a guest brings something to our attention - it is rectified immediately. We have had no feedback about shower heads, or our beds- we have renewed all of our matresses in the last year, so find this difficult to understand. We have also checked all of our shower heads and they are all immaculate, so we cannot understand the comment on shower heads. We do live in a hard water area (hence that beautiful Bath Stone!!) so we make a point of regular descaling, so this issue should never occur, so we really are scratching our heads on this one, because we have not seen any problems ourselves!! There is also certainly no mould in our bathrooms , as we have them totally stripped and resealed every few months to stop this issue ever appearing.
As for our breakfasts, hopefully the 200 plus excellent reviews that mention our excellent breakfast are far more relevent .

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 August 2012

Everything in Bath is a five to ten minute walk from here. When we arrived, Lynsey greeted us enthusiastically. She helped us find a laundromat, and suggested a great place for dinner. We walked all over town and enjoyed the proximity of the canal to the guest house. The rooms were unique and beautiful. The food was great. Lynsey even thought to ask in advance to be sure we had breakfast before we left early one morning for the Mad Max Stonehenge tour.

  • Stayed: July 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank californiagirl94303
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 August 2012

We arrived at The Apple Tree on Saturday morning and were greeted by Lyn and Les. We were instantly welcomed into their home and made to feel completely at ease. They tailored to our every wish and were interested to know a little more about us.

We were in Bath to deliver our wedding rings to our Best Men and after finding this out, Lyn and Les left us a box of chocolates and a note in our room later that day.

We had a wonderful long weekend at the Apple Tree and each day began with a scrumptious breakfast. We will be back at Easter :-) we can highly recommend this guest house.

  • Stayed: July 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank TaliJay
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Bath hotels
1.0 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Bath
0.4 mi away
Dukes Hotel
Dukes Hotel
#2 of 34 in Bath
1,304 reviews
0.0 mi away
Brindleys Boutique B & B
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.8 mi away
Hill House
Hill House
#3 of 155 in Bath
557 reviews
1.2 mi away
Grove Lodge
Grove Lodge
#2 of 155 in Bath
248 reviews
0.4 mi away
The Kennard
The Kennard
#11 of 155 in Bath
1,095 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Apple Tree? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Apple Tree

Address: 7 Pulteney Gardens, Bath BA2 4HG, England
Phone Number:
Region: United Kingdom > England > Somerset > Bath
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #12 of 155 B&Bs / Inns in Bath
Price Range: £50 - £100 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — Apple Tree 5*
Number of rooms: 5
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Apple Tree Bath. Ling welcomes you to her Victorian period home in the centre of Bath, a World Heritage City with Roman roots, medieval abbey, Georgian city and numerous historic sites. Located in the Cotswolds, the City is within easy reach of the beautiful villages and views of this Area of Outstanding Natural Beauty. The Apple Tree is 10 minutes flat walk from the train station and 5 minute stroll to the city centre, and it offers complementary on-site or off-site permit parking in front of the house in a quiet residential location. All rooms have individual elegant interior themes where East and West meet with a fresh mix of English and Asian artwork, fresh cotton bedlinen and modern facilities. All our guests are welcomed in a tranquil, homely, comfortable and warm atmosphere with a friendly personal service and two lovely cats . We welcome children above 11 years of age. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Apple Tree Guest House Hotel Bath

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing