We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Perfect intro to Bath! David from Denver”
Review of Apple Tree

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Bath
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Apple Tree
Ranked #12 of 157 Bath B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Denver, Colorado
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Perfect intro to Bath! David from Denver”
Reviewed 22 July 2013

Three nights with Lynsay & Les at the Appletree where the perfect tonic to the long flight over from Denver and the perfect introduction to GB and Bath. It was our luck that these two world travelers planted themselves in Bath. Although the room (the triple - #4) was clean, fresh and comfortable, it was their personalities and genuine concern for our well being that was the icing on the cake. And don't forget the yummy full English breakfast, cooked to order. WOW! The fellow guests were outgoing and shared their experiences traveling in GB - insightful. We look forward to our return and highly recommend.

Room Tip: The "king" in #4 triple is really a US king!
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank DKentS
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

702 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    621
    72
    9
    0
    0
See reviews for
103
418
49
16
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (96)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Atlanta, Georgia
Level 6 Contributor
403 reviews
46 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 176 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 July 2013

Les and Lynsay were fantastic, so accomodating. The location of the B&B is perfect, a 7 minute walk to city center, and the breakfast was excellent. They fixed egg whites for my wife on a special order and the full English breakfast for me was great. They include a discount card with the room keys which saved us money on several tours. Les even accomodated our car for several hours the day we left so we could walk around for a few more minutes. You can read the other reviews, all I'll say is BOOK HERE.

  • Stayed June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank ahmonroe5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Broomfield, Colorado
1 review
Reviewed 6 July 2013

I stayed for three nights at Apple Tree in May. Les and Lynsay were friendly and wonderful hosts. My single ensuite room was very comfortable. I especially enjoyed the tea available in the room with the daily Cadbury Chocolate Bar a very nice touch. The full English Breakfast each morning was really good and substantial to start a full day of touring. The location of the Apple Tree was an easy, pleasant walk into the centre of Bath. I was provided with a map to get me oriented to walking beautiful Bath. Also very near to Apple Tree is a pleasant towpath to walk along the Kennet and Avon Canal. I am so happy I stayed for three nights at the Apple Tree before joining my group tour of England and Wales. Thank you Les and Lynsay.

  • Stayed May 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Nancy L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Manchester, United Kingdom
1 review
Reviewed 3 July 2013

We stayed for three nights at Apple Tree , from the moment you enter the greeting from Les and Lyns is very warm. welcoming and friendly.
The rooms are spotless and the beds very comfortable, we particularly appreciated the
quality toiletries also the large proper size bath towels and the little extras like the chocolate bars on the welcome tray. The location is perfect as a short walk puts you slap bang in the middle of everything, Les and Lyns are very helpful and gave us great advice about what was happening in Bath that particular weekend. The breakfast is one of the best we have ever had, not just the excellent quality but also the service we received, nothing was too much trouble.
Thank you to Les and Lyns for making our stay so lovely, we shall certainly stay at Apple Tree next time we are in Bath .

  • Stayed June 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Marilyn C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Calgary
Level 3 Contributor
10 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 July 2013

We stayed at the Apple Tree in Bath for three nights at the beginning of June and really appreciated all of the help given by Les, Lyns and Lyns' Mom who was visiting. We had a very quiet, clean and modern ensuite room overlooking the back garden. Internet access was very good. Our arrival coincided with the family's rare weekend away but Les still made arrangements for us to get into our room. As others have mentioned, all the little extras such as the chocolate bars and candies at the door were much appreciated. The made-to-order breakfast was among the best we had during our six week tour of Europe and the UK. Les and Lyns both gave us excellent advice on what to see, which tours to take and what else to do in Bath and directed us to the short, pleasant walk across the bridge to the centre of town and to the various restaurants. All in all we had a wonderful time in Bath at the Apple Tree Guest House.

  • Stayed June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank April T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chicago, Illinois
Level 6 Contributor
409 reviews
50 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 220 helpful votes
Reviewed 30 June 2013

We stayed 3 wonderful nights with Les and Lynsay at the Apple Tree Guest House in Bath. And when we come back to Bath, this is where we will be staying again!

Our room (#4) was beautiful, meticulously clean, had a super comfortable bed and a bathroom that was very nice and new. We slept heartedly with the window open in the quiet neighborhood. The tea/coffee and goody basket was very nice with quality items. The towels were big and fluffy. Our traveling companions had the family room (#3) and they loved their room also. It did face the street but noise was not a problem.

The breakfast was absolutely the best we had in England. Fresh fruit, yoghurt, juice, muffins, cereals, the hot English breakfast (the vegetarian sausages were excellent!) and tea and exceptional coffee. All of this was served by Les and Lynsay in the beautiful breakfast room.

As stated, it is just a short walk into the city center where a world of history and beauty awaited us. Walking (and running) along the canals was a delightful experience. Check out the river boats!

Les and Lynsay are absolutely wonderful hosts. Accommodating, helpful and they made us feel very much at home. One person in party had a personal issue and Lynsay went way out of her way to help find the solution, even though it had nothing at all to do with her or the Guest House. Thank you Lynsay!

  • Stayed June 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank catsforkids
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 June 2013

My wife and I recently stayed here for the weekend and would like to pass on our impressions of our experience which was entirely positive. Firstly, our host and hostess were helpful, friendly and hugely accommodating. Despite a busy weekend, it seemed to us as if they couln't do enough for us. The room we stayed in was neat and tidy with great facilities. Our breakfast was served promptly and was hot and tasty.

The guesthouse is a short walk into the city centre, and there is a local pub just over the road from the guest house. City centre about 5-10 mins walk; so the guest house is very convenient.

We have decided to return as soon as possible. Thank you very much for our stay, once again many thanks.

  • Stayed June 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Biggles744
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Bath hotels
0.4 mi away
Dukes Hotel
Dukes Hotel
#2 of 31 in Bath
1,248 reviews
0.5 mi away
Villa at Henrietta Park
0.3 mi away
The Abbey Hotel
The Abbey Hotel
#16 of 31 in Bath
1,382 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.0 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Bath
0.6 mi away
Francis Hotel Bath - MGallery by Sofitel
0.5 mi away
The Gainsborough Bath Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Apple Tree? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Apple Tree

Property: Apple Tree
Address: 7 Pulteney Gardens, Bath BA2 4HG, England
Phone Number:
Region: United Kingdom > England > Somerset > Bath
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #12 of 157 B&Bs / Inns in Bath
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:5 star — Apple Tree 5*
Number of rooms: 5
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Apple Tree Bath. Ling welcomes you to her Victorian period home in the centre of Bath, a World Heritage City with Roman roots, medieval abbey, Georgian city and numerous historic sites. Located in the Cotswolds, the City is within easy reach of the beautiful villages and views of this Area of Outstanding Natural Beauty. The Apple Tree is 10 minutes flat walk from the train station and 5 minute stroll to the city centre, and it offers complementary on-site or off-site permit parking in front of the house in a quiet residential location. All rooms have individual elegant interior themes where East and West meet with a fresh mix of English and Asian artwork, fresh cotton bedlinen and modern facilities. All our guests are welcomed in a tranquil, homely, comfortable and warm atmosphere with a friendly personal service and two lovely cats . We welcome children above 11 years of age. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Apple Tree Guest House Hotel Bath

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing