We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Wonderful Retreat” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Apple Tree

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Bath
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Apple Tree
Ranked #12 of 192 Bath B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Los Angeles, California
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Wonderful Retreat”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 29 November 2013

We needed a place to relax for a few days to get ready for a busy business meeting in London. The Apple Tree was perfect: welcoming, quiet, an easy walk into town. Breakfast was especially good: very fresh and plentiful. Loved our stay.

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled on business
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank INKLNG
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

662 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    587
    66
    9
    0
    0
See reviews for
97
393
46
16
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (90)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Poulsbo, Washington
Level Contributor
5 reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 29 November 2013

We had a very nice stay at the Apple Tree Guest House. The proprietors were both very nice and helpful, the location was very convenient and quiet. Rooms not "fancy" but very clean and nice. The breakfast was very good - even filled up my 16 year old boys! Would stay here again for sure.

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Aleta S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hertfordshire
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 26 November 2013

My wife and I stayed recently at the Apple Tree Guest House for an autumn break. Les and Lynsay were both very welcoming and described what to see and do in Bath. The guest house is a short walk from the centre of town, yet it's very quiet. The bedroom was cosy and well-presented and the breakfast was delicious. We'll definitely return the next time we're in Bath.

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank steiner2935
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
South Devon, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
56 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 18 November 2013

Booked after seeing trip advisor reviews.
Very convenient location ,owners friendly and informative.
Rooms okay but too much furniture and too many twee ornaments ,so felt a bit cramped and cluttered for us, but we like minimalist decor .
Breakfast good ,dining room very "cosy" !

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled with friends
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank DevonSue
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
appletree0, Owner at Apple Tree, responded to this review, 20 November 2013
A disappointingly harsh review, which does not reflect the real Apple Tree. Our consistent position in the top 20 of 185 guest houses in Bath over the last 6 years, our 288 Excellent reviews, 24 Very Good reviews, commendation in the Rick Steve's guide, and in the Lonely Planet guide, as well as our professionally assessed Visit England four start rating, with Silver award for service- this is what we really are about here at Apple Tree- passion for what we do, and what we offer our lovely guests !! "Twee???" - We really don't think so !!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London
Level Contributor
10 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 9 November 2013

A lovely place in a good location, easily walkable from the centre of Bath. The owners were very friendly and welcoming and gave us good tips on which pubs to go to! Clean and comfortable bedrooms, good breakfast. Great place to stay.

  • Stayed December 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank JWeeC
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kent
Level Contributor
20 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 5 November 2013

My wife and I stayed recently at this B & B. The owners, Lynsay and Les were exceptionally friendly and helpful with advice about what to do and where to eat in Bath. Breakfast was excellent and the room was nice, albeit slightly smaller than we had expected. Tea and coffee etc were available in the room and all was very clean. The shower was a bit hit and miss as the water kept going hot and cold.

All in all a very pleasant stay and the location was excellent for a 10 minute stroll into the centre of Bath. Definitely recommend for a relaxing stay in one of England's nicest towns/cities.

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Bacchus17
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
appletree0, Owner at Apple Tree, responded to this review, 10 November 2013
Thank you for recognising how hard we work at Apple Tree. This is why we won our Silver award from the professional assessors at Visit England, the national tourism authority and we have a four star professional award for all of our facilities.
Our hot water system is a state of the art 500 litre mains pressure system that we have made a substantial investment in to ensure there is constant hot water , even if every guest is showering at the same time. This is protected by thermostatic valves that automatically protect the water temperature to stop too much hot water getting through. We have had very many comments on how powerful our showers are, and congratulating us on the huge amount of hot water they provide. The only time this ever varies is when the valve cuts in to protect our guests from getting scolded. This only happens very occasionally when there is very high use- this would be unusual, but better than a scolding !!! We hope this helps understanding .
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Charlotte, North Carolina
Level Contributor
6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 10 October 2013

Owners Les and Lynsay were fantastic. They made us feel so incredibly welcome. A box of chocolates and a personal note congratulating us on our anniversary awaited us in our room. Breakfast was hot and delicious, made to order. We enjoyed watching the children march out the door to school. Very friendly and inviting property. We walked across the bridge to dinner. Perfect location.

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank cadelap
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Bath hotels
0.2 mi away
Dukes Hotel
Dukes Hotel
#2 of 34 in Bath
5.0 of 5 bubbles 1,185 reviews
0.1 mi away
The Ayrlington
The Ayrlington
#8 of 34 in Bath
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,038 reviews
0.5 mi away
Francis Hotel Bath - MGallery by Sofitel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
The Abbey Hotel
The Abbey Hotel
#16 of 34 in Bath
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,311 reviews
0.4 mi away
The Gainsborough Bath Spa
0.4 mi away
Villa at Henrietta Park
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Apple Tree? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Apple Tree

Property: Apple Tree
Address: 7 Pulteney Gardens, Bath BA2 4HG, England
Phone Number:
Region: United Kingdom > England > Somerset > Bath
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #12 of 192 B&Bs / Inns in Bath
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:5 star — Apple Tree 5*
Number of rooms: 4
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Apple Tree Bath. Ling welcomes you to her Victorian period home in the centre of Bath, a World Heritage City with Roman roots, medieval abbey, Georgian city and numerous historic sites. Located in the Cotswolds, the City is within easy reach of the beautiful villages and views of this Area of Outstanding Natural Beauty. The Apple Tree is 10 minutes flat walk from the train station and 5 minute stroll to the city centre, and it offers complementary on-site or off-site permit parking in front of the house in a quiet residential location. All rooms have individual elegant interior themes where East and West meet with a fresh mix of English and Asian artwork, fresh cotton bedlinen and modern facilities. All our guests are welcomed in a tranquil, homely, comfortable and warm atmosphere with a friendly personal service and two lovely cats . We welcome children above 11 years of age. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Apple Tree Guest House Hotel Bath

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing