We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice stay. Thanks, Ling!”
Review of Apple Tree

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Bath
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Apple Tree
Ranked #13 of 157 Bath B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 31 August 2014

Stayed one night here for a trip to Bath. Was welcomed by two very friendly cats at the door and a nice friendly lady, Ling. Took the Russet room, which was situated on the 2nd floor. Not a huge room, but it was decent, bright, cheerful and clean. The location was great, too. About 10 minutes' walk to the town centre... not far, but quiet, and away from the noise (the church bell chimed non-stop for more than 15 minutes at 8 pm when we were there - not sure if this is a regular occurrence).
As we had to check-out real early, we didn't have time for a proper cooked breakfast.. Being the wonderful host that she is, Ling packed us some fruit to take with us. But from the smells wafting from the kitchen, I can only imagine what yummy stuff Ling was whipping up... oh well. Anyway the B&B provides a variety of cute cheeses that I did get to enjoy - smoked, tabasco and Marmite cheese.

  • Stayed: August 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank Northern_Rock
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (721)
There are newer reviews for Apple Tree
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

346 - 352 of 721 reviews

Reviewed 30 August 2014

We spent 2 great nights at Ling's beautiful, quaint, clean and modern B&B. The Bramley room in this Apple Tree offers everything you would want: spacious room, large bed, plush carpet, big and immaculate en-suite bathroom, Evian water bottles, tea set and even tasty cookies to enjoy on your way back from the Thermae Bath Spa. Breakfast was fabulous. I highly recommend her Eggs Florentine! If you're reading this, you clearly care about finding a good place to stay. We wouldn't think of staying anywhere else after our experience and I bet you'll feel the same way too.

  • Stayed: August 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank Elicia_and_Michal
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 August 2014 via mobile

I didn't expect a B&B like this decent quality. B&B in North America normally just like a regular residence who offering few of their rooms to their friends to accommodate. Breakfast is normally worthless to mention. I don't have much expectation when I planned to stay in a B&B in Bath. However, it is not what I thought.

To me, Apple Tree is a hotel's quality. Clean bed, clean washroom, clean towels, great location & the delicious breakfast. It gives a sense of relax and peacefulness. REAL walking distance to the center of Bath and friendly staffs. Don't miss their breakfast.

Will come again for sure.

Stayed: August 2014, travelled with family
Thank Chris C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 August 2014

Hi this was my wife and I's first B&B adventure, we stay away once or twice per month. We chose the right place, from the moment we arrived for two nights the service offered by Ling was exceptional. Clean and modern - great shower, very clean comfortable room and excellent breakfast. Ling offered great advice on places to go - you must do the free Bath tour, she offered great places to eat advice with a discount voucher for local places. The location is 5 minutes walk into town with easy park on the door step.
Thank you - regards Huggon from Carlisle

Room Tip: As the web site take your pick
  • Stayed: August 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Andrew H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 August 2014

We decided to go to Bath
We come across the Appletree bed-and-breakfast
We thought great value for money amazing place I don't think the host could do any more to make you feel welcome
We would definitely stay here again

  • Stayed: August 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Jeffery1234567
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 August 2014

If the city of Bath is one of the touristic highlights of England, then the Apple Tree Guesthouse B & B is without question the perfect complement to a stay in this most desirable historic city.

Located an easy and rather scenic ten-minute stroll to the city's historic core, Apple Tree is a small, four-room affair, with its owner, the helpful and efficient Ling, providing travelers with all the modern comforts of 21st century lodging yet also retaining more than a hint of Georgian Bath. For example, while the accommodation features narrow hallways and a modestly-sized breakfast room, travelers will be favorably impressed with the bright, cheerful, and ultra-tidy look of the place. My wife and I enjoyed a three-night stay in an amply-sized double room that featured lovely Chinese-themed artwork, a bed that offered a very comfortable night's sleep, coffee service, with tasty cookies, Evian bottled water, a modern flat-screen TV, and plenty of ample natural light which provided views of a very safe and attractive Georgian neighborhood. As regards the bath, while it was a windowless, small room, it should be said the plumbing was modern and efficient, featuring an excellent shower and lighting.

Breakfasts at Apple Tree are yet another standout aspect of this B & B. Beyond the usual cold cereals, toast, juices, Marmite and Nutella, the traveler can also opt for a variety of hot dishes, such as eggs florentine, omelets, and French toast with bananas and Nutella. Any of these makes for a delightful break from the traditional English fry which can also be had at Apple Tree.

Apple Tree is a moderately priced B & B - 110 pounds per night. To our mind, that represents very good value for money, especially when one considers the clean, comfortable, and friendly accommodation that is on offer (not to mention the chance to strike up some new friendships with the resident cats). But sometimes it's the little, unexpected events that make an accommodation truly distinctive. In our case it occurred after we had returned to our room after a late night engagement. Turning on our lights, we noticed a tray in the middle of the room with two glasses of Bailey's liqueur and a pair of Cadbury chocolate bars. What a wonderful, sweet surprise and a real testament to the quality on offer at the absolutely superb Apple Tree Guesthouse.

  • Stayed: August 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank claremay
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 August 2014 via mobile

Stayed one night for a birthday treat, location is excellent with parking outside in a quiet street. Few minutes walk from centre.The room was very spacious, comfortable and designed beautifully. Ling is so nice! I would come back again, easily!

  • Stayed: August 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Hilla G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Bath hotels
0.4 mi away
Dukes Hotel
Dukes Hotel
#2 of 31 in Bath
1,276 reviews
1.0 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Bath
0.6 mi away
Francis Hotel Bath - MGallery by Sofitel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 mi away
The Roseate Villa Bath
0.3 mi away
The Abbey Hotel
The Abbey Hotel
#16 of 31 in Bath
1,413 reviews
0.0 mi away
Brindleys Boutique B & B
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Apple Tree? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Apple Tree

Address: 7 Pulteney Gardens, Bath BA2 4HG, England
Phone Number:
Region: United Kingdom > England > Somerset > Bath
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #13 of 157 B&Bs / Inns in Bath
Price Range: £50 - £100 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — Apple Tree 5*
Number of rooms: 5
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Apple Tree Bath. Ling welcomes you to her Victorian period home in the centre of Bath, a World Heritage City with Roman roots, medieval abbey, Georgian city and numerous historic sites. Located in the Cotswolds, the City is within easy reach of the beautiful villages and views of this Area of Outstanding Natural Beauty. The Apple Tree is 10 minutes flat walk from the train station and 5 minute stroll to the city centre, and it offers complementary on-site or off-site permit parking in front of the house in a quiet residential location. All rooms have individual elegant interior themes where East and West meet with a fresh mix of English and Asian artwork, fresh cotton bedlinen and modern facilities. All our guests are welcomed in a tranquil, homely, comfortable and warm atmosphere with a friendly personal service and two lovely cats . We welcome children above 11 years of age. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Apple Tree Guest House Hotel Bath

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing