We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Lovely, comfortable, friendly place to stay & a great location!”
Review of Avon Guest House

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Avon Guest House
Ranked #63 of 157 Bath B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Northamptonshire
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Lovely, comfortable, friendly place to stay & a great location!”
Reviewed 20 August 2011

A few photos show mould on the lamp! But ignore this as in truth this is a lovely Place with a helpful and friendly owner. The location is a lovely stroll (5-10mims max) from the wonderful centre of bath, the rooms were really clean and tidy, and the breakfasts were lovely with a great choice, really excellent. We would reccomend and will stay again! Thank you!!

  • Stayed August 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank wgoul
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

91 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    52
    26
    6
    2
    5
See reviews for
17
50
3
1
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (11)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Yateley, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
626 reviews
94 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 242 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 July 2011

We arrived early but Julie gave us our room key and parking permit so we could have a preliminary look around Bath while our room was made ready. The Avon is in a quiet location yet only 5 minutes level walk from from the city centre and all attractions. Bath is well worth a visit. Our room was absolutely superb, we could not fault it in any way. Breakfast was plentiful and excellently cooked. The Avon was spotlessly clean throughout and of good quality furnishings. Service was discreet, friendly, helpful and with a relaxed attitude. We thoroughly enjoyed our stay at the Avon. We intend to visit Bath again and will endeavour to stay at the Avon, even if it means adjusting our dates a little. Many thanks to Julie, the proprietor.

  • Stayed July 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank bparkercars
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 13 July 2011

We stayed at Avon Guest House the same time as you who wrote a bad thing and actually you asked too much of Julie Expecting her to check the ingredients in something you should have told her before about it when you booked up also it is not very fair on Julie she was on her own on the day you went back how would you like it if you were by yourself and how to get all the food ready for everyone and someone kept on talking to you also you did not have the Breakfast which she made for you and you could have phoned her up 1 hour before to say sorry that you could not have the breakfast you were asking too much of her. People do not have time to talk to you when they are on there own it is a real cheek of you expecting that.

Stayed July 2011, travelled with family
Helpful?
1 Thank baby095
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
1 review
Reviewed 11 July 2011

We stayed one night at the Avon guest house during July 2011. Julie, the proprietor, seemingly nice at first, became overly aggressive with guests (which we observed) including ourselves. The beds were uncomfortable (you could feel springs) and all the carpets looked as though they needed a good thorough cleaning. Breakfast was a disaster and came late. During breakfast Julie would whip in and out of the dinning area without considering if her guests had finished speaking. Her personal style was overly familiar and lacked attentiveness or a gentle touch. I cannot recommend this hotel as such.

  • Stayed July 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Reviewerextrodinaire
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Harwich, United Kingdom
1 review
Reviewed 18 May 2011

We stayed at the Avon for two nights, and have nothing but praise for Julie Tavener and her family. The rooms were clean and well appointed, and the breakfasts were excellent!
Many Thanks and well done.
Richard & Helen Polley, and Zoya Zaiceva

  • Stayed May 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank oldgit1943
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
FROME
Level 3 Contributor
7 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 18 May 2011

Recently I needed to stay in Bath with my teenage son for a one night.Having stayed at the Avon Guest House before I had no reasons not to stay again.The booking was handled promptly by the owner Julie and upon arrival we were given a warm welcome,she rembered us from before,a nice touch !
The room at the top of the house "Room 1" was clean,tidy and comfortable,the only thing missing was free Wi Fi but Julie was keen to tell my son that this was work in progress.
After a late night we entered the dining room late for breakfast but nothing was too much trouble and the full english breakfast was excellent,even my son enjoyed it.We paid £77 for a double room with parking and we felt this representated great vale for money.We will be back!

  • Stayed May 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank JJOllie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
uk
Level 4 Contributor
12 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 May 2011

Me and my boyfriend stayed here for 2 nights in april. The guest house is a 5 min walk to the roman baths and thermae spa, you just have to walk across pultney bridge. The breakfasts are great, you can have either a full cooked or continental, continental includes a fruit salad (good mix of fruits!) yoghurt and croissant. we tried both the breakfast options and they were both excellent. you can also have as much cereal/toast/juices/tea/coffee as you want with either option, so you wont go hungry at all.

We chose this guest house over the other similar options in the area because we wanted to be close to everything, and it was one of the best prices available (£70 per night.) There is also free parking available which in bath seems to be quite limited! so this saved us of money too.

Julie the owner was friendly and helpful when we arrived, told us all we needed to know about the area etc. After this shes available when you need her but is not intrusive at all.

the rooms are basic in terms of decor but nice, clean, warm, bed was comfy, freeview tv. obviously if you want a plush room with a 4 poster bed you will need to go to a hotel where the prices are much higher!! We didnt really care too much as we were out sightseeing all day. the only thing we would of liked that wasnt there was a bath, but I dont expect you get this option in many guesthouses due to the space.

I would recommend this guesthouse to friends and if I was staying in bath I would stay here again.

  • Stayed April 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Julietrose123
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Bath hotels
0.0 mi away
Lynwood House
Lynwood House
#72 of 157 in Bath
131 reviews
0.9 mi away
Bay Tree House
Bay Tree House
#47 of 157 in Bath
236 reviews
0.0 mi away
Brindleys Boutique B & B
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
The Edgar Townhouse
The Edgar Townhouse
#40 of 157 in Bath
278 reviews
0.9 mi away
Milton House
Milton House
#29 of 157 in Bath
391 reviews
0.3 mi away
The Henry Guest House
The Henry Guest House
#23 of 157 in Bath
807 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Avon Guest House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Avon Guest House

Property: Avon Guest House
Address: 1 Pulteney Gardens, Bath BA2 4HG, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Somerset > Bath
Hotel Style:
Ranked #63 of 157 B&Bs / Inns in Bath
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — Avon Guest House 4*
Number of rooms: 6
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Odigeo, Priceline and Agoda so you can book your Avon Guest House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Avon Guest House Hotel Bath

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing