We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Ok”

Browns Brasserie & Bar
Ranked #221 of 592 Restaurants in Bath
Price range: US$16 - US$40
Cuisines: Contemporary, Bar
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Groups, Bar Scene
Dining options: After-hours, Dinner, Lunch, Breakfast, Reservations
Description: Blending European brasserie dishes and timelessly elegant surroundings, Browns Bar and Brasserie Bath champions an informal yet refined concept. Renowned for indulgent twists on classic comfort food recipes, Browns has offered trademark favourites since 1973, as well as choices from the specials board or the market fresh fish of the day. Showcasing striking design features and historic or listed buildings, Browns restaurants are a refined yet relaxed dining spot, at any time of the day.
Reviewed 2 July 2014 via mobile

We popped in on a Tuesday afternoon for a small bite and a quick drink. Waited 15minutes to be served and it wasn't exactly slick service which you would expect.
We ordered 3 tapas for £11, but this wouldn't feed one person.
Drinks were nice but limited. Once finished rather than wait we went to the bar to pay.
Not very impressed.

Thank Weytigger
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Teddyleach, Manager at Browns Brasserie & Bar, responded to this reviewResponded 7 July 2014

Hello, thank you very much for your review. I am very sorry that your overall experience was not great. I can only apologise and have sent you a private message if you wish to discuss any thing more about your experience with us.

Many thanks, Sara Budd
Assistant Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (1,005)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

684 - 688 of 1,005 reviews

Reviewed 1 July 2014

Service there was pretty much non existant when we visited at about 2pm on a sunny saturday afternoon. The drinks menu is impressive but not cheap. Having said that, when we finally got our "mocktails" they were just what the doctor ordered - big, cool and very refreshing. Setting is nice and facilities are good and clean - only marked down because of the service.

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Thank Debbi S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Teddyleach, Manager at Browns Brasserie & Bar, responded to this reviewResponded 7 July 2014

Dear Debbi, thank you very much for you review. I am glad you enjoyed your mocktails but sorry that the service did not match. I will be looking into our service issues and want to thank you again for your feedback. I have sent you a private message and hope to hear from you soon.

Many thanks, Sara Budd
Assistant Manager.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 June 2014 via mobile

Group of friends telephoned to see if there was a table for 9 half hour before we wanted to it, they managed to accommodate us.

Food was good and menu has a good variety.

My only criticism was that whenever we wanted a waiter or waitress there never seemed to be anyone around

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Thank Limarki C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Teddyleach, Manager at Browns Brasserie & Bar, responded to this reviewResponded 7 July 2014

Hello, thank you for your review as we always appreciate people taking to time to give us feedback. I am glad that you had a good visit but am sorry that you felt that the service was not great. I am looking into this and always appreciate comments on how we can improve on things. I hope you will visit us in the near future.

Many thanks, Sara Budd
Assisitant Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 June 2014

Whilst visiting Bath we went into Browns for a meal. I must say that I was tempted by their specials but chose to order from their menu. My daughter had the homemade chickpea soup which she absolutely loved and the pate was also a hit. My husband and I both had the lamb shank on a bed of bubble and squeak with a delicious 'gravy'. I chose to add sides of minted new boiled potatoes and savoy cabbage with bacon as it came with honeyed parsnips and carrots. I soon learnt that I had over ordered food as the portions on the plate were suffice. Unfortunately this left no room for a sweet :-(

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Thank r00m2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Teddyleach, Manager at Browns Brasserie & Bar, responded to this reviewResponded 7 July 2014

Hello, i just wanted to thank you for your lovely review. I hope you will come back in the near future and this time hopefully you will be able to try some of our desserts.

Many thanks, Sara Budd
Assistant Mananger

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 June 2014 via mobile

We are lunch here whilst visiting Bath for the day. We were lucky enough to get an outside table and it was lovely enjoying the beautiful weather whilst watching the world go by! I felt as though I could have been abroad! Really enjoyed my glass of Sauvignon Blanc and my Caesar salad was very tasty! We all thoroughly enjoyed our lunch! A special mention to our waitress Jess who was absolutely lovely! She made us feel very welcome and nothing was too much trouble for her. Brilliant at her job and an asset to Browns! Would certainly visit again and would recommend to others!

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Thank LuckyStarSwansea
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Teddyleach, Manager at Browns Brasserie & Bar, responded to this reviewResponded 7 July 2014

Hello, i just wanted to thank you for your lovely review. I will pass on your compliments to Jess. I am really glad you had a great experience. Thank you again anf will hopefully see you in the near future.

Many thanks, Sara Budd
Assistant Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Browns Brasserie & Bar also viewed

 

Been to Browns Brasserie & Bar? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing