We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Consistently good”
Review of Desh - CLOSED

Desh
Cuisines: Indian
Dining options: After-hours, Reservations
Restaurant details
Dining options: After-hours, Reservations
Bath, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
24 reviews
21 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
“Consistently good”
Reviewed 12 August 2014

The Desh is fairly close to where I live so we tend to go there quite often and have been doing for the past 13 years or so. I honestly can't say in all that time that I have ever had a bad meal or a bad experience there. The waiters are always very efficient and friendly and always smartly dressed. The decor is basic but clean and they are happy to tweak the menu a little if there is not the exact thing you would like. Very reasonably priced. Take your own alcohol. They are happy to pack up any left over food that you want to take home with you.

  • Visited August 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Nicki L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

94 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    41
    41
    7
    2
    3
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Brussels, Belgium
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Excellent Indian restaurant”
Reviewed 1 August 2014

I have eaten at the Desh several times. The food is excellent and the staff very attentive and friendly.

Visited July 2014
Helpful?
Thank Iris B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jacksonville, Florida
Level 6 Contributor
217 reviews
110 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 56 helpful votes
“Really good Indian in an out-of-the-way area of Bath”
Reviewed 15 July 2014

We had an excellent meal here. Stayed at a B&B nearby. Food was very good--we had vegetable samosas, naan, paratha, chicken tikka, and mixed burani. Bring your own wine or beer. Minimal atmosphere but friendly and efficient service. Great value

  • Visited June 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank psf1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
“Lovely food”
Reviewed 30 June 2014 via mobile

I been wiv my bf 6 yr every year for are anniversary we go too the desh highly recommend too friends n family, friendly people food is all ways beautiful n they don't mind packing for u too take home defo worth every penny :)

Helpful?
Thank Stephie H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Albuquerque, New Mexico
Level 5 Contributor
52 reviews
15 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
“Very tasty Indian”
Reviewed 23 May 2014

The B&B we were staying at recommended this Indian restaurant. The food was very tasty and flavorful. It was also reasonably priced and nice portion sizes too. No alcohol served but, upon the recommendation of our innkeeper, we bought our own bottle and the restaurant provided the wine glasses. Take away is also available.

  • Visited May 2014
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank TandBNM
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Desh also viewed

 

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing