We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Hidden gem”
Review of Jamuna - CLOSED

Jamuna
Price range: US$16 - US$32
Cuisines: Indian, Asian
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Groups, Special Occasion Dining, Business meetings, View, Child-friendly, Romantic
Dining options: Dinner, Lunch, Accepts American Express, Accepts Mastercard, Accepts Visa, Cash Only, Delivery, Highchairs Available, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Takeout, Waitstaff
Birmingham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Hidden gem”
Reviewed 21 April 2014

Stumbled across this place about 10pm after seeing a play. Glad we found it because it had good food, good service, and a good location -next to the abbey. Realised while paying that they had added a service charge which we hadn't seen mentioned on the menu but it was still good value.

  • Visited April 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
2 Thank Connie B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

160 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    72
    52
    18
    12
    6
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Kolkata (Calcutta), India
Level Contributor
174 reviews
33 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 87 helpful votes
“Good food but over-priced”
Reviewed 21 April 2014

I went to this restaurant for a dinner during a trip to bath with my wife. The restaurant has a good ambeince and food quality is good. However, portions of the meal are very small. The tables are also small and do not even have enough space to fit the plates, so you may find the plates going outside the table on the edges.
The worst part is that they charge the tip as part of the food bill as a 10% service charge. Watch out for this one and do not pay extra tip since tip is already included in your bill. I will like to decide how much tip I want to pay depending on the service received, but this right is taken away by the restaurant owners.

  • Visited April 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Amit J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Washington DC, District of Columbia
Level Contributor
80 reviews
66 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“Good food and great views”
Reviewed 17 April 2014 via mobile

Good to great Indian food. Could have been a bit spicier but that's just my taste. Went early so no reservation needed but if you're here during tourist season may want to call ahead for a window table even though most of the tables have a fantastic view of the cathedral. Friendly and prompt service.

Helpful?
1 Thank Holamobile
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Southampton, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Best meal in a very long time”
Reviewed 7 April 2014 via mobile

Absolutely fantastic Indian, very ethentic and very open amothosfer. Big windows over looking the abbey.
Will recommend and will go back again.

Helpful?
1 Thank Sony321
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Rome, Italy
Level Contributor
17 reviews
14 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Great Indian food”
Reviewed 24 March 2014

Service was wonderful, cheerful, quick, food was delicious, we were happily left to laugh and eat and enjoy ourselves for two hours on a Sunday night, so fantastic!!

Visited March 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank EIE2013
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Jamuna also viewed

 
Farmborough, Bath
 

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing