We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Fabulous”
Review of The Olive Tree

The Olive Tree
Ranked #28 of 571 Restaurants in Bath
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: US$45 - US$77
Cuisines: European, British
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Romantic, Local cuisine, Special Occasion Dining, Business meetings
Dining options: Lunch, Dinner, After-hours, Accepts Mastercard, Accepts Visa, Free Wifi, Full Bar, Highchairs Available, Private Dining, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Waitstaff
Description: The Olive Tree Restaurant in the Queensberry Hotel has gained local popularity and national renown as one of the premiere dining places in Bath. The hotel is a stylish contemporary boutique hotel, but the restaurant is an oasis of calm modernity, with excellent British food served with a great attention to detail in relaxed, informal surroundings.
Ipswich, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
82 reviews
61 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 46 helpful votes
“Fabulous”
Reviewed 15 August 2014

Everything was great: the quality of the food, the presentation and service. We went for the dinner taster menu and accompanying flight of (5) wines, expensive yes but worth it for a special occasion. Must be one of the best restaurants in Bath.

  • Visited August 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank kel999
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

852 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    582
    156
    66
    33
    15
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Exeter, England, United Kingdom
1 review
“Single best meal I have ever had!!!!”
Reviewed 14 August 2014

What a stunning evening. Visited last night with my boyfriend and his sister and left speechless. The quality of the food, the beautiful presentation and the warmth of the staff made for the perfect evening. Every single dish felt so cleverly thought out and every mouthful burst with flavour and surprise. We ended up sharing all of our dishes with each other as none of us wanted to miss out on any of the food. In total I think we racked up three starters, six mains and five deserts between three of us!! (No i am not proud, of that) but honestly it was the single best meal I have ever had and already can't wait to go again. Price-wise was EXCEPTIONAL for the quality and level that was presented last night and am shocked how much I have paid in other restaurants for 'special occasions' in comparison. Christopher Cleghorn certainly is someone to keep an eye on!

  • Visited August 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Ellie R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
England, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
30 reviews
20 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“Superb! Not far off 1*”
Reviewed 14 August 2014

You get the feeling they're trying ever so hard for a Michelin Star but they're really not far off!

Everything you'd expect from a decent/starred restaurant amuse bouche, good warm bread, French waiters, imaginative food with great texture, flavour and presentation!

Had the crab and halibut both were excellent particularly the starter!

Would not recommend for people who like huge plates of cheap food!! There dishes are designed to be served as a 6 course taster and are sized and priced as such! But if you're a foodie you'll adore it!

  • Visited August 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank foodfanaticalie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cambridge, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
23 reviews
22 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“Great restaurant!”
Reviewed 12 August 2014 via mobile

Went here with my boyfriend when we were holidaying in Bath. The food was exceptional - I am a vegetarian who can't eat gluten so I am always a bit nervous eating out. But the chef put together an amazing platter together for me, which was great. The food was great as was the service. Would definitely go back! Excellent place - a real gem in Bath!

  • Visited July 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank snv1993
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Barnstaple, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
73 reviews
37 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 48 helpful votes
“Definitely recommend this restaurant and look forward to coming back already. ”
Reviewed 12 August 2014 via mobile

Went to this restaurant with a foodie friend on a girly weekend away and this place was superb. Staff friendly and welcoming not Michelin star level but I couldn't have asked for more attention to detail was perfect. We had crab lasagne and quail to start. Apparently the best starter my friend has ever had! I had the halibut which was so tasty and looked fab. Desserts also good although having seen the next tables souffle we had dessert envy so aim to come back again! Thank you from all three of us.

Helpful?
2 Thank RebelEl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed The Olive Tree also viewed

 

Been to The Olive Tree? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing