We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good Food, Lovely Restaurant”
Review of The Eastern Eye

The Eastern Eye
Ranked #126 of 571 Restaurants in Bath
Cuisines: Indian, Asian, Balti, Bangladeshi
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Special Occasion Dining, Groups, Child-friendly, Kids, Business meetings
Dining options: After-hours, Dinner, Lunch, Delivery, Full Bar, Highchairs Available, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Takeout, Waitstaff
Description: The Mahal of Exquisite Indian Cuisine with the cities most impressive Georgian interior and triple domed high ceiling. Here at The Eastern Eye we are humbled and elated to have received multiple Restaurant of the Year Awards in 2011, along with a whole host of other accolades and positive reviews from popular magazines, newspapers and awards bodies. We specialize in wholesome traditional Indian food, with a touch of imagination and creative flair. We use some of the finest ingredients and pay immense attention to ensuring flavours are not only grounded in Indian culinary heritage, but also now and again break the mould with flavour combinations that are both unique and exceptionally delicious.
Wedmore, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
22 reviews
20 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Good Food, Lovely Restaurant”
Reviewed 18 July 2014 via mobile

It's an unassuming entrance to a beautiful room, originally a Victorian ballroom. We came for lunch and choose the lunchtime three course set menu which was a bargain at £8.50. There is a comprehensive a la carte offered if you feel more adventurous. Like most Indian restaurants, don't expect it to be full at lunchtime, which is a bonus for us as we like a fairly quite atmosphere. It was a hot day and the restaurant was nicely air conditioned. The staff were great, our orders were taken for drinks and papadoms, which came quickly. Our starters arrived promptly, as did or main course. We finished it off with the ice cream. Throughout the meal the waiters were very attentive and helpfull. The food was delicious. The decorated ceiling, large windows and ornate atmosphere made it a meal to remember.

Visited July 2014
Helpful?
Thank georgie020
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

926 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    420
    240
    112
    72
    82
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Vancouver, Canada
Level Contributor
282 reviews
128 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 98 helpful votes
“Best Indian food in Bath”
Reviewed 17 July 2014

This was a place suggested to us by relatives who live in the area. The restaurant is located in what appeared to be an old dance hall or ballroom with lots of large windows giving a lot of natural light. The decor is very pleasant and neat with friendly and engaging staff. The food quality is excellent and gives on the menu who spicy each dish is which is most helpful to those who cannot tolerate very spicy foods. My main praise for this place is the emphasis that is placed on taste rather than spice. My suggestion is to go for the thalis which provide a sample of a couple of curries which comes with rice, bread, and an appetizer.

  • Visited July 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank smrgeog
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Trowbridge, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
61 reviews
26 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
“Late night Indian Food”
Reviewed 14 July 2014

On the recommendation from our taxi driver, a group of us came here for a late night curry on a Saturday night. The venue itself is a former Georgian ballroom which has now been decorated with Indian murals, while retaining original features. There is a good selection on the menu, and when the food came it was very tasty - nothing sloppy or fatty, and decent portion size but not so big that it all gets left. I had lamb mon passand and bhindi bhaji with a peshwari naan, and it was absolutely delicious. The onion bhaji was probably the best I've ever tasted. The rest of the party were equally happy with their selections.
The bill with drinks and no dessert or coffee came out at about £25 per head including tip.
I would certainly go back to this restaurant and would have no hesitation in recommending it.

  • Visited July 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Wisewoman65
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Indiana
Level Contributor
13 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Good Indian food”
Reviewed 13 July 2014

This is an upscale Indian restaurant with better than average Indian food and in a central location. Took a while for us to have our order taken, mostly because no one waiter was responsible for our table. Wide variety of dishes and plenty for vegetarians.

Visited July 2014
Helpful?
Thank Sue S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bristol, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
37 reviews
20 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
“Good tastes, nice and spicey with a lovely decor”
Reviewed 12 July 2014

Visited the restaurant on a Sunday and it was really nice. Went with my partner who had a tasty lentil soup for starter and usual Chicken Tikka Massala for main. I had samosas with a hot chilli chicken for main, not for the fient hearted but really taste bud enlightening. Service was fairly low key but try it if you are looking for a curry in bath.

  • Visited January 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank eclipse33
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed The Eastern Eye also viewed

 

Been to The Eastern Eye? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing