We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Always a pleasant experience” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Tilleys Bistro

Tilleys Bistro
Ranked #24 of 563 Restaurants in Bath
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: US$19 - US$50
Cuisines: French, European, British, Soups
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Romantic, Local cuisine, Child-friendly, Business meetings, Special Occasion Dining, Cheap Eats, Groups
Dining options: Dinner, Lunch, After-hours, Full Bar, Highchairs Available, Private Dining, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Description: Closed for refurbishment...
Gloucestershire, England
Level Contributor
10 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Always a pleasant experience”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 14 July 2014

We have been several times to Tilleys and it is always a pleasant experience. The staff are friendly, the menu uncomplicated and the food always tasty. They are always very helpful at attending to special dietary needs and we have had no hesitation recommending Tilleys to our friends

  • Visited October 2013
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
2 Thank gilesbick
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,418 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    1,000
    277
    68
    38
    35
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
23 reviews
11 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Brilliant fish and good value”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 12 July 2014

Three of us ate the set lunch and the diner who is gluten intolerant was really impressed that she had several starters and mains to choose from, which is unusual apparently. Crab starters and gazpacho excellent, pork stiffado and hake with Provençal sauce both superb. A very good value lunch and as it was a hot sticky day we were pleased to eat in the cool basement.

  • Visited July 2014
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
1 Thank RosedeeR
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Buenos Aires, Argentina
1 review
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Not recommended”
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 11 July 2014

We are a Argentina retired couple went to eat a weekend, nothing more we get greeted in a rather abrupt way, if we had booked, was a "big" woman, which at all times was rude and unprofessional with staff, we sat at a table where we could see the kitchen and discussions with a man inside. I am now retired, I worked for Chef in various countries of the world, such as France, Spain, Argentina and England. When we saw the Menu, and my suspicion started a very extensive menu, French restaurant serving food from around the Mediterranean, in the end my wife and I decided on the sole, an insult to the kitchen, the fish when we tried smelled strong and wise strong, just an explanation ... How long had this fish? I assure you from my experience q over a week, barely tried it and we left, a young waiter we retreat English dishes, no wonder how the food was or if there was a problem, watching the atmosphere of tension that existed between the woman who I think was the manager and kitche.... me my wife, she politely opted to pay the bill without discussion and leave. I asked the young waiter's account, which had already included mandatory tipping service, I have never refused to pay them, but I asked him where they were addressed these tips, and I replied that they were going to all staff including the woman and the man were arguing that the restaurant owners. The owners had tips! a shame, tips are for staff! while the woman took the bill to the next table and how happy they were asked them if I please write a positive review on Trip Advisor that would help them, as I also did. Not recommended

  • Visited May 2014
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
7 Thank Felipe S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Beckenham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
189 reviews
122 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 60 helpful votes
“Great Find......”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 10 July 2014 via mobile

Very unassuming from the outside, and when you look in the decor appears basic bistro...... Don't let the appearance of this place fool you!!
I was travelling alone, and they were happy to accommodate me with a choice of tables.
The waitress was attentive and knowledgable. I chose off the set menu - brown crab & egg salad to start with & salmon to follow. Only disappointment with the starter was the salad cream style dressing on the egg.... But it worked well on the dish. Otherwise both dishes were very good. Also a nice basket of bread was served at no extra cost.
A reasonably priced meal for 1 at under £20 including wine.

Visited July 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank Lou0209
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
St Albans, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
105 reviews
66 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
“Best meal of the weekend”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 9 July 2014

We were a group of four couples staying in Bath for the weekend. Talk about saving the best until last. Our Sunday night meal was a wonderful finale to a very enjoyable time. Good food, friendly service and not rushed. We chose from the early menu, very good value and all agreed it was a good find in Bath. Well done to the husband and wife team who run it - always a good indication with one half in the kitchen and the other front of house - what's not to like?? would definitely go back to Tilleys on a future visit to Bath.

  • Visited July 2014
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Sandybags_13
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Tilleys Bistro also viewed

 

Been to Tilleys Bistro? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing