We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Don't go here if you are hungry”
Review of Cavendish Restaurant & Bar - CLOSED

Cavendish Restaurant & Bar
Cavendish Restaurant & Bar
Price range: US$45 - US$58
Cuisines: European, British
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Dinner, Lunch, Reservations, Seating, Waitstaff
Description: Tucked away inside the stunning Grade I listed Dukes Hotel, The Cavendish Restaurant is a discreet and elegant addition to Bath's fine dining scene. The Palladian style Georgian town house has been restored to its original splendour, and the understated dining room has a sophisticated ambience and style all of its own. Head Chef Fran Snell heads up an award-winning kitchen serving modern British cuisine, and signature dishes at The Cavendish include the Cotswald rabbit served with carrot purée, sauté langoustines and tarragon and ginger foam; the maize fed guinea fowl served with forest mushrooms; and the delectable dark chocolate pudding with blood orange sorbet and cocoa-nibbed tuille.
Bournemouth, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
13 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
“Don't go here if you are hungry”
Reviewed 21 November 2011

We were extremely disappointed with this restaurant.
In spit of our son booking 6 weeks ago, we were not in the main restaurant, but in a small featureless room of the bar - the only ones there.
Only presented with a minimal table d'hote menu. Enquiries about the a la carte menu were brushed aside and we were told that it was not available. The menu only offered for main course: 1 meat, 1 fish & 1 vegetarian. If you did not want beef for the meat, you had no other choice.
The portions were minute, and bore no relationship to the meals illustrated on the Dukes Hotel website. Look at the meal in Gallery picture 1and imagine a main course about 1/5 of that size. Quite wilful misrepresentation.
The 3 of us came away hungry.
In retrospect, we should have walked out as soon as were were shown into the side room & saw the menu, but it was a special occasion & we did not want to spoil it.
If the restaurant were unable to provide a proper dinner, then they shold not have accepted the booking in the first place.

  • Visited November 2011
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
2 Thank AlanPritchard
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

20 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    13
    3
    3
    0
    1
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Victoria Bc Canada
Level Contributor
38 reviews
10 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
“Quiet, and pleasant with delicious food!”
Reviewed 14 October 2011

I read the review in TA and decided to go as it was right across the street from our hotel and we were meeting an old friend for dinner. We had vegetarian meals, and my friend had a steak. All delicious as was my squid appetizer....fantastique!

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank magster50
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Essex, England
Level Contributor
6 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Fantastic restaurant, food & service.”
Reviewed 28 September 2011

We ate at the restaurant on a Saturday evening & had one of the best meals we have ever had, the food was cooked to perfection and the service was second to none. The restaurant had earlier seatings but none when we ate later on, which was so surprising considering just how good the food is. The Dukes Hotel & Cavendish Restaurant is just a short stroll from the Pulteney Bridge and definitely worth visiting, we will definitely be eating here again on our next visit to Bath.

  • Visited September 2011
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank TandSKEssex
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bath
Level Contributor
25 reviews
19 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
“Best value lunch in Bath.”
Reviewed 27 September 2011

Had not been for over a year and we were not let down at all. The starter and main course were cooked to perfection. The waiter was great and recommended a bottle of wine to go with lunch and let us try a sample before ordering. No chance of picking the wrong wine and a nice touch. Have booked again and wil be going soon.

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Bromcie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
203 reviews
151 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 106 helpful votes
“Excellent food has the potential to be stellar well worth a visit”
Reviewed 21 July 2011

In the basement of the Dukes Hotel

Great food

Lacking in atmosphere

Delicious steak and pork belly

Superb brownie and sticky toffee pudding

No crackling with the pork but very apologetic and gave complimentary deserts

On balance a great meal a little bit more attention to detail and would be London Standard

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Caspermainecoon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Cavendish Restaurant & Bar also viewed

 

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing