We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Lunch at the hop pole”
Review of The Hop Pole

The Hop Pole
Ranked #97 of 583 Restaurants in Bath
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: US$12 - US$18
Cuisines: British, Pub
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Groups, Romantic, Bar Scene, Local cuisine, Child-friendly
Dining options: Dinner, Breakfast, After-hours, Lunch, Outdoor Seating, Reservations
Description: The Hop Pole is a comfortable, spacious and friendly pub serving good food and top-notch beer. During summer months and periods of fine weather, the garden comes into its own and is the perfect place for mellow afternoon quaffing.Situated opposite Victoria Park, The Hop Pole is welcoming to all, including well-behaved children and dogs alike. It is a must-visit for anyone who enjoys fine food accompanied by equally enjoyable cask ales, or wine from a selection designed to suit all tastes (and all pockets!).
Sheffield, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
23 reviews
19 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
“Lunch at the hop pole”
Reviewed 26 January 2013

The atmosphere is cosy and relaxed. The food was well presented and very tasty. The service is courteous and friendly. The only slight negative is that the food took a long time to arrive, even though it was fairly quiet in there.

Visited January 2013
Helpful?
Thank 123Michelle123
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mark T, Manager at The Hop Pole, responded to this review, 30 January 2013
Thank you for taking the time to post these kind words. We're very glad you enjoyed your visit. I am sorry to hear of the long wait time on the food - all of our food is locally sourced and freshly cooked to order, but that is no excuse. We do hope you visit us again soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

411 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    229
    129
    26
    22
    5
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Bath, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
21 reviews
16 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Faultless, a real favourite.”
Reviewed 26 January 2013 via mobile

I have been going to the hope pole as often as I have the opportunity. It can be rather difficult to find a real pub which does great home cooked food with great ales in Bath recently. Thankfully this is not a pub/restaurant like many with an excessive price tag. Great friendly staff with a simple fantastic quality menu. Going back to basics the fish and chips are great, the roasted ham hock with homemade pickle and a sweet potato gratin is fabulous. The portions a generous but not overwhelming. Looking forward to another visit. Thank you again

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Fabhouse79
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mark T, Manager at The Hop Pole, responded to this review, 30 January 2013
Many thanks for the wonderful review - we're so glad you regularly enjoy visiting The Hop Pole! And to echo your words, we look forward to your next visit!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bath
1 review
“Now an after school club”
Reviewed 25 January 2013

This used to be my favourite after work boozer but has fallen to the economic necessity of becoming 'family-friendly'. Kids running around, sitting up at bar and ordering, baby crying for an hour on one occassion. The beer and food are still great but not a place to unwind over a couple of beers with your mates anymore. I am sure you won't miss us.

  • Visited January 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Mickbore
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Phil C, Manager at The Hop Pole, responded to this review, 26 January 2013
I am very sad to hear you feel this way - we have always been a family-friendly pub, but I can understand your frustrations. We want to be as equally welcoming to all as we can, although we will be issuing the points you have made. We do hope that this doesn't keep you away, and that we see you again soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level 3 Contributor
14 reviews
12 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“First class in the sunshine....”
Reviewed 22 January 2013

I spent most of summer 2012 in the garden of the Hop Pole with friends. It is a glorious, traditional little pub, with a superb beer garden. In terms of the food, I have only tried items from the snack menu - however, they have all been excellent. The chips and curry sauce are wonderful alongside a perfect pint of Gem. A beef sandwich of doorstop bread, thick cut beef and lashings of horseradish, with a pint of draught dark side along with it takes some beating. I haven't tried the more formal meal options, but a lazy Saturday afternoon with friends at the Hop Pole, treating the snack menu like tapas and letting the atmosphere wash over you....... Bliss.

  • Visited August 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Thedudereturns
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Phil C, Manager at The Hop Pole, responded to this review, 26 January 2013
Thank you very much for your kind words! We are very proud of our garden, and it definitely comes into its own in summertime with the sun shining. We look forward to seeing you again soon, and maybe see if you fancy trying our full menu.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bath
Level 6 Contributor
90 reviews
65 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
“Real ale, real food, proper pub”
Reviewed 7 January 2013

We stopped off for a bite to eat here, mainly because it was on our way home and we had the dog with us.

We had fish and chips and a pint of Bath ale.

Lovely pint, food good, but more gastropub than real pub food, but welcoming all the same.

If you want to experience a 'proper' pub and a good pint, definitely worth a visit. Food was good but not worth raving about. The atmosphere was busy but friendly.

  • Visited December 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank marymacb66
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Phil C, Manager at The Hop Pole, responded to this review, 14 January 2013
Thank you for taking the time out to write this review. We're glad you enjoyed your visit here, and hope you pop by in the near future too (and the pooch too!)
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed The Hop Pole also viewed

 
Swineford, Bitton
 

Been to The Hop Pole? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing