We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Brilliant Beer, Great Garden”
Review of The Hop Pole

The Hop Pole
Ranked #97 of 577 Restaurants in Bath
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: US$12 - US$18
Cuisines: British, Pub
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Groups, Child-friendly, Bar Scene, Local cuisine, Romantic
Dining options: Dinner, After-hours, Lunch, Breakfast, Outdoor Seating, Reservations
Description: The Hop Pole is a comfortable, spacious and friendly pub serving good food and top-notch beer. During summer months and periods of fine weather, the garden comes into its own and is the perfect place for mellow afternoon quaffing.Situated opposite Victoria Park, The Hop Pole is welcoming to all, including well-behaved children and dogs alike. It is a must-visit for anyone who enjoys fine food accompanied by equally enjoyable cask ales, or wine from a selection designed to suit all tastes (and all pockets!).
Bristol, England, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
114 reviews
64 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 52 helpful votes
“Brilliant Beer, Great Garden”
Reviewed 20 July 2014

A really nice Bath Ales pub located on the edge of the City of Bath, opposite Victoria Park. Well worth the walk from town - parking nearby can be more challenging!

Have visited on a number of occaisions. The inside of the main pub isn't huge (although it does have a dining room in the former skittles alley at the back). However, there is a reasonably large garden with seating in a variety of quiet shelters, nooks, etc. The garden oozes character and is a lovely place to spend a summer's evening.

On the most recent visit, I enjoyed a pint of Summer Hare. Other local Bath Ales beers are always available, with a range of artisan lagers etc. Didn't eat on this occaision but in the past the food has been good - traditional British pub-food served well.

Not the cheapest place around (in fact food could almost be described as expensive) but well worth the money

  • Visited July 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank recneps86
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mark T, General Manager at The Hop Pole, responded to this review, 21 July 2014
Thank you so much for your lovely review, it is very welcome by us all here.

We're glad you have enjoyed everything we have to offer - it is great to see the garden getting such good usage at this time of year. It really is a great place to forget about the world and enjoy a nice, relaxing drink.

The Summer Hare is a perfect accompaniment to this year's great summer sun, and we're glad you found it so palatable.

Many thanks once again, and we hope it's not too long before we see you again. We'll be sure to save you a seat in the garden...
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

407 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    225
    129
    26
    22
    5
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Ludlow
Level 3 Contributor
18 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Very good evening meal”
Reviewed 17 July 2014

We were told about the hop pole by our guest house who gave us a few places to eat . This was just a few mins walk down the road. Not a huge pub but cosy we ordered our food and the starter did not take long to arrive it went down very well then the main arrived again very nice will be back when we come to bath again.

  • Visited July 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank SandrasLudlow
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mark T, General Manager at The Hop Pole, responded to this review, 21 July 2014
Thank you very much for leaving us some feedback - it is always very much appreciated!

We're glad you enjoyed everything we had to offer, and we do hope that the next time you're in the area, you can find the time to pop in and say hello.

Also, we'd love to know how we can improve and get your next rating of us up to five stars!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
South
Level 5 Contributor
64 reviews
42 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
“Sneaky pint and dinner in the beer garden - just what was needed”
Reviewed 14 July 2014 via mobile

Went here with the dog. We had great Bath Ales beer and cider. Lovely burgers, nice pub menu. Overall staff were friendly, one member of bar staff a little bit full of self importance - but overall a great experience and we have been back.

  • Visited June 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank burnsm
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mark T, General Manager at The Hop Pole, responded to this review, 21 July 2014
Many thanks for leaving this review for us - we're pleased you (and the pooch!) enjoyed your time with us.

I am sorry that one member of staff came across as "a little bit full of self importance" though. The team are very well-grounded, likeable people and would never like to think of themselves as coming across in any way other than friendly and humble.

We do hope to see you again soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sheffield, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
18 reviews
15 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
“Excellent lunch”
Reviewed 14 July 2014

Having become regular visitors to Bath, we decided to go back to The Hop Pole for lunch. It was a hot and noisy day in Bath, but peaceful and cool in The Hop Pole. My husband and father-in-law were very happy with the selection of drinks on offer (yay, Budweiser Budvar!). We all had sandwiches for lunch and they were excellent. I particularly enjoyed the chicken and tarragon mayonnaise sandwich, which was moist and full of flavour. We also ordered chips, which again were lovely. The food arrived very promptly this time and overall it was a great lunch and we will be back.

  • Visited July 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
2 Thank 123Michelle123
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mark T, General Manager at The Hop Pole, responded to this review, 21 July 2014
Thank you very much for your kind review!

I'm glad you found the tranquility of our garden away from the hustle and bustle of the rest of the city.

Very pleased to hear all your food went down well - we do hope that once you're in the area again, we get to welcome you once more!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bath
Level 4 Contributor
36 reviews
22 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
“Love the pub - didn't like the wait......”
Reviewed 13 July 2014

Regularly go to this pub for drinks and food and would normally highly recommend. Visited yesterday, ordered food at the bar - 5 minutes later, bar staff came over and told us that our food order would take at least an hour - didn't tell us when ordering! We had ordered the salmon pate and bread to share as a starter - we couldn't even have that! In fact couldn't have anything other than a packet of crisps. I was very disappointed that our only option given by the bar staff was to cancel the order - she wouldn't even go and ask if we could have the shared starter - we were told everything on a first come first serve basis! As her advice, we cancelled the order and went and got fish and chips. There were five of us - we would have stayed longer and spent more, but left.

  • Visited July 2014
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank sl0w
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mark T, General Manager at The Hop Pole, responded to this review, 21 July 2014
Many thanks for leaving this review.

After having read through this review with the member of staff who spoke to you, she confirmed she did misunderstand before taking your order about the wait time at that moment. We had a large group waiting for their food, as well as multiple orders from other diners in the bar area, garden and dining room.

She did confirm, however, that she didn't say your only option was to cancel your order. Again, I think there may have been some misunderstandings.

We hope that your regular visits here show what we're usually capable of, and I hope that you are willing to give us a chance at redeeming ourselves in the future after this very unfortunate blip.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed The Hop Pole also viewed

 
Swineford, Bitton
 

Been to The Hop Pole? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing