We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Perfect location. Perfect food.” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of The Bathwick Boatman

The Bathwick Boatman
Ranked #16 of 563 Restaurants in Bath
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: European, British
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Cheap Eats, View, Child-friendly, Business meetings, Special Occasion Dining, Groups, Romantic, Local cuisine, Kids
Dining options: After-hours, Lunch, Dinner, Brunch, Free Wifi, Full Bar, Highchairs Available, Outdoor Seating, Parking Available, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Validated Parking, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Level Contributor
8 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Perfect location. Perfect food.”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 27 July 2014 via mobile

A lovely family run restaurant on the River Avon. The food was very good (fantastic steak and chips!), and the service was equally as good, we were greeted with a smile and left with a smile. We also really liked the outside seating right on top of The River Avon, pretty flowers in the hanging baskets and a nice calm and quiet atmosphere. We are definitely returning here when we next come to Bath!
Rob and Abi

Helpful?
2 Thank Abi-Bird
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

567 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    425
    94
    24
    16
    8
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Polish first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Germany
Level Contributor
69 reviews
28 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
“Unbeatable Terrace!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 27 July 2014

Seafood and other good choices, very good wine. The tripadvisor reviews and top ratings are well earned. We had very good food (a bit out of the ordinary, which is good) and a nice view on the river.

Visited July 2014
Helpful?
2 Thank orgaZone
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Geneva, Switzerland
1 review
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“A perfect dinner”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 27 July 2014

My friend knew this restaurant, otherwise I wouldn't have found it. It's off the city center, but on a lovely stroll from it toward the river Avon and near the Holburne Museum. I highly recommend the stroll down Great Pultney Street, past the Holburne Museum and Jane Austin's House on Sydney Place. The restaurant itself is so lovingly and charmingly decorated (well done, Rose :-) that it welcomes you with a feeling of being invited into a private home. We weren't able to get a seat on the balcony at first. That gave us the pleasure of taking in the amiable atmosphere inside. As it was a hot summer night, we asked to be seated outside as soon as a table opened up and were lucky to be given that opportunity fairly soon. The food was excellent and well presented. The presentation on the plate matched the superb taste - I had swordfish with crisp green beans and mashed potatoes with a divine sauce. The tastes of all items were masterfully mixed - no protruding single taste, but a harmonious composition. The delicious food was accompanied by a beautiful view of the city's hillside houses and the river, trees, grass, and rowing boats. I highly recommend this venue for dining, especially on a hot summer night when one can sit out on the balcony and literally have it all. Try and see for yourself. I LOVED it.

  • Visited July 2014
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
3 Thank Busy B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chester, England
Level Contributor
36 reviews
20 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 63 helpful votes
“Lovely food....service needs an overhaul”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 22 July 2014

I took 7 members of my family to the restaurant on a Tuesday lunch time. It was not busy, but it felt like we were asking for the world when we asked for a table for eight people.

Once they organised two tables and pushed them together, I have to say the food was lovely, beautifully fresh and nicely presented. Top marks to the chef. Service was just a tad can't be bothered, and no friendliness. Would have been 5 stars if the staff were just a little more friendly.

  • Visited July 2014
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
5 Thank paulandkaren1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bath, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
119 reviews
87 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 49 helpful votes
“Excellent Sunday lunch”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 20 July 2014 via mobile

Dined out on the balcony overlooking the River Avon. Both food and location were excellent and service was very friendly. Will return for an evening meal sometime soon

Visited July 2014
Helpful?
3 Thank mab_robinson
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed The Bathwick Boatman also viewed

 

Been to The Bathwick Boatman? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing