We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Lucky us!”

The Circus Restaurant
Ranked #7 of 577 Restaurants in Bath
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: US$23 - US$30
Cuisines: British
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Business meetings, Special Occasion Dining, Local cuisine, Romantic
Dining options: After-hours, Dinner, Lunch, Breakfast, Delivery, Reservations
Description: Small, busy, much admired, family-run restaurant; serving seasonal, locally sourced, freshly cooked food; charming and welcoming staff; sensible and honest prices. Set in a fine Georgian house in Bath's most beautiful position - between The Circus and The Royal Crescent. Voted number 4 in the United Kingdom by The Times "Twenty secret restaurants that foodies love". Bookings advised.
Mackay, Australia
Level 3 Contributor
8 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Lucky us!”
Reviewed 19 June 2014

Couldn't get in at our first choice last month so tried here. Lucky for us! The friendly yet unobtrusive and efficient service was sensational. From the shared Aubergine Parmigiana through the 'Fish of the day' and the Guinea Fowl to the shared,(once again) Chocolate pot the meal was really first class. All the dishes were perfectly cooked and beautifully presented, especially the fat chips.. The wine list showed an individual and quite personal taste and proved a challenge to find a match with food. Good advice was available however and we thoroughly enjoyed our meal.

  • Visited May 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank gniceoz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
eatyourgreens, Owner at The Circus Restaurant, responded to this review, 2 July 2014
Thank you so very much for your kind appraisal. We're so glad you enjoyed your time with us and do come back soon
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,808 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    1,324
    347
    87
    29
    21
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Czech first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Yorkshire UK
Level 4 Contributor
38 reviews
15 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 46 helpful votes
“Nice find”
Reviewed 17 June 2014 via mobile

Stumbled across Circus looking for coffee. The coffee here was excellent & the staff friendly & attentive, so we booked for dinner the following night.
Standards were maintained, staff were pleasant, polite, professional, helpful & very friendly. The food was delicious, excellent sea bass accompanied by a nice selection of veg, not your usual run of the mill stuff. Decor is calming, pleasant. An all round positive experience. Well done all at Circus.

Visited June 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank oneval
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cheshire
Level 4 Contributor
40 reviews
14 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
“Exceptional”
Reviewed 15 June 2014

The food , service and decor is exceptional. We were late in booking and our table was in the basement which is fine but if you book early enough ask for a street level table. The quality of food was exceptional. Try the fat chips as a side serving - they are fried 3 times and are as light as a feather. Everything is really fresh and cooked well. Nothing is too much trouble. Quite expensive but good value . For 2 we paid around £80 for dinner which included starter and main plus a bottle of wine.

  • Visited June 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank pjwCheshire
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Tetbury, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
65 reviews
30 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 71 helpful votes
“Value and high quality food with excellent service.”
Reviewed 13 June 2014

A very good lunch made our day in Bath one to remember. We chose the fresh fish of the day with vegetables and thick cut chips. The food was of a high quality and cooked to our taste. The service was friendly and efficient.
Three of us dined well with wine/beer for a total of 75 pounds which we thought was reasonable.
We will return the next time we are in Bath.

  • Visited June 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Toptown
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Crawley
Level 3 Contributor
14 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
“Lovely lunch”
Reviewed 12 June 2014

This small bistro restaurant is tucked away between the Royal Crescent and the Circus. The menu was small but had a fantastic selection of dishes for appetites and tastes. I enjoyed the chicken dish while my wife had one of the two fish specials, a beautiful plate of John Dory with a crab sauce. Friendly staff, excellent food and service.

Helpful?
1 Thank MrHirst
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed The Circus Restaurant also viewed

 

Been to The Circus Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing