We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“WONDERFUL”
Review of Raphael Restaurant

Raphael Restaurant
Reserve with
Raphael Restaurant is not available for your requested time. Choose another time, or search restaurants with availability.
The time you selected has already passed.
Ranked #17 of 663 Restaurants in Bath
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: US$39 - US$39
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Romantic, Business meetings, Special Occasion Dining
Dining options: Dinner, Breakfast, After-hours, Lunch, Reservations
Description: Raphael restaurant is a much loved restaurant located in the heart of the beautiful city of Bath. Open since 2001 Raphael has established an excellent reputation for serving fabulous European inspired modern British food. Raphael has a cosy atmosphere and exquisite food, perfect for leisurely lunches, pre-theatre dining and intimate meals for two, the ideal place for any occasion. The head chef and his team create imaginative dishes using the freshest local produce available, with the emphasis on seasonality. At Raphael all of the mouth-watering desserts are made in-house, including the delicious ice-creams and sorbets. The friendly and professional staff welcome you warmly, whether you area visitor to the city or one of the regular clientele, many of whom have become good friends over the years. The wine list has been carefully chosen to ensure wines that complement the food perfectly, with reasonable prices, coupled with some amazing bin-ends.
Reviewed 22 February 2015

This is a lovely not too big not too small sized restaurant. It has very attentive and knowledgeable staff. The menu was really varied and it was hard to choose from as everything sounded tempting.... We shared the three cheese starter which was a taste delight. We both had the fillet steaks which were cooked to perfection. Followed by the sharing desert which was magnificent. The only negative which is not about the restaurant ware the toilets were are a bit past their best, However I highly recommend this wonderful restaurant.

Date of visit: February 2015
Thank joanne105
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (891)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

556 - 560 of 891 reviews

Reviewed 21 February 2015 via mobile

Lovely traditional French food, fresh and tasty. Good service. Selection of wines is decent at a fair price. Definitely worth a visit.

Thank Esieens
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 February 2015

A wonderful, cosy restaurant, bubbling with atmosphere whilst very relaxed and a quality and selection of food that would not be out of place in a more 'aloof' Michelin star restaurant. The service was great and again friendly and relaxed.

In an attempt to pace ourselves (second restaurant meal in 2 days) we had the appetisers of bread, olives and oil (all very nice) but decided not to have the starters. This was not a reflection on what was on offer (King Prawns, Smoked Duck, Mussels, etc.) and after our mains I have no doubt they would have been awesome.

For our mains we went with the Venison with a Celeriac Purée and the Guinea Fowl in a tarragon white wine cream. Guinea Fowl is my favourite bird and I can safely say I have never had it prepared so well. The wild mushrooms were extremely nice but the tarragon white wine cream was sublime (I have attempted it at home a number of times since without any success!). The Venison was equally well received.

For Dessert we had “Assiette de Fromage” - a beautiful selection of cheese with wonderful cheese biscuits.

An extensive selection of quality wines finished off a perfect meal - that and the bill which was considerably cheaper than the quality of food would have suggested.

Thank you.

Date of visit: January 2015
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Thank hitweb
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 February 2015

The chef is par excellence; however the place is a bit pricey and the size of portions too small. On the plus side, it does offer a pretty reasonable pre-theatre dinner menu.

Date of visit: February 2015
Thank schibber
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 February 2015

Went to this place for a Valentine's dinner, impressed with a menu as normally set menus are much smaller than this one was. Delicious food, very cosy atmosphere and great service. A little bit pricey, but definitely worth it. Would come back.

Date of visit: February 2015
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Thank valerie932015
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Raphael Restaurant also viewed

 

Been to Raphael Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing