We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Top food, atmosphere a bit flat though”
Review of The Raven of Bath

The Raven of Bath
Ranked #31 of 571 Restaurants in Bath
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: US$8 - US$13
Cuisines: Bar, British, Pub
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Local cuisine, Bar Scene
Dining options: Lunch, Dinner, Brunch, Drinks, Accepts American Express, Accepts Mastercard, Accepts Visa, Free Wifi, Full Bar, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Waitstaff
Description: We are a traditional British Pub specialising in Pie & Mash, Cask Ale and now our new hearty English Breakfasts (with Vegetarian options) and Pancakes. We pride ourselves on our customer service and the quality of our simple fare. We operate on a first come, first served basis and therefore do not take reservations.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
227 reviews
136 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 84 helpful votes
“Top food, atmosphere a bit flat though”
Reviewed 25 May 2014

To start, the food here cannot be faulted. I had a great meal, and arguably one of the best pies I've ever eaten, with fresh ingredients and tasty sides. The real ales were also top quality, however the atmosphere is a bit flat, it wasn't distinctive, the staff seemed very busy and so the service was a little impersonal - however we visited on a bank holiday weekend when it was very busy.

The food, and drink is reasonably priced - I'd recommend it.

  • Visited May 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Lee W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

909 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    533
    309
    37
    18
    12
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Stockport, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
165 reviews
52 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 82 helpful votes
“Great pie”
Reviewed 25 May 2014

There is a great choice of pies to choose from and then three different gravies to pick from. It was one of the best pies I've had, washed down with a good real ale; I will definitely be dining there again when next I am in Bath. The pub downstairs is quite small but there is an upstairs (where we didn't go) and downstairs does have a great British pub atmosphere.

Visited May 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank Liz2903
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ely, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
95 reviews
79 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
“Great tasty pie, good service, at a good price”
Reviewed 10 May 2014

The upstairs is a nice, pleasant place to eat. My steak and ale pie was lovely, and the mash was very tasty. It wasn't expensive, and was excellent value for money too. Highly recommended - I will definitely return when I'm next in the area.

  • Visited May 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Flying_and_Eating
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Gallarate, Italy
Level Contributor
315 reviews
176 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 91 helpful votes
“best pie, best beer, best atmosphere... best pub in Bath”
Reviewed 9 May 2014

Just returned in Bath and a we MUST come back to the raven!
This time we had the occasion to have dinner here (luckly because the pub was really full): THE PIES ARE WONDERFUL!!!!
We tasted the vegetarian one and the meat one - with mash potatoes... the taste is great, the combination of different elements in the recepie is perfect.
And the beers are wonderful! Different selection - golden and black raven are great!
ALso cider is really good
This is the real english pub - take care to come here because this is the Pub (in capital letterl) of Bath

  • Visited April 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank PaolinoOLDBOY85
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bath, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
104 reviews
58 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 63 helpful votes
“Good For a Pie and a Pint”
Reviewed 8 May 2014

Good city centre venue, good range of beers, a wide range of bar food, but the speciality is Pies; yum yum !

Can get quite busy at times, particularly when there are rugby matches on in Bath

Visited March 2014
Helpful?
Thank AlanBA2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed The Raven of Bath also viewed

 

Been to The Raven of Bath? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing