We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“What a British pub should be ....”
Review of The Raven of Bath

The Raven of Bath
Ranked #31 of 571 Restaurants in Bath
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: US$8 - US$13
Cuisines: Bar, British, Pub
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Bar Scene, Local cuisine
Dining options: Dinner, Brunch, Lunch, Drinks, Accepts American Express, Accepts Mastercard, Accepts Visa, Free Wifi, Full Bar, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Waitstaff
Description: We are a traditional British Pub specialising in Pie & Mash, Cask Ale and now our new hearty English Breakfasts (with Vegetarian options) and Pancakes. We pride ourselves on our customer service and the quality of our simple fare. We operate on a first come, first served basis and therefore do not take reservations.
Bristol
Level Contributor
164 reviews
101 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 68 helpful votes
“What a British pub should be ....”
Reviewed 21 August 2014

Nothing flash ... just great beer, and pie & mash! Not just any beers ... but a great selection of unusual real ales. Not just and pie & mash ... but a choice of serveral 'Pie Minister' pies, mustard mash or chips and a choice of 3 types of gravey. It has the atmosphere of a friendly city centre real ale pub. Well worth a visit if you are in Bath.

  • Visited August 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Kevin W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

909 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    533
    309
    37
    18
    12
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Bodmin, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
67 reviews
35 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
“Great place, great food, great staff”
Reviewed 19 August 2014

Went to The Raven for lunch today. If you want to eat the make sure you go upstairs. Met by a lovely man who took the time to explain all about the pies on the menu and made recommendations based on what we liked. The menu is almost entirely pies with chips or mustard mash. The surroundings are what you should find in a good old fashioned pub. Two main meals of a good size were less than twenty pounds and the beer was excellent.

  • Visited August 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
2 Thank Sara B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bothell, WA
Level Contributor
43 reviews
30 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
“Beer, pies and personality”
Reviewed 18 August 2014

The Raven is a Free House with a great selection of beer, cider and some of the best pies and mash I tasted on our trip through Britain. Worth searching for. We loved it so much we went back again the next night.

Visited July 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank orcasgypsy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dallas, Texas
Level Contributor
23 reviews
11 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
“Good pub food”
Reviewed 17 August 2014

Love being upstairs and watching out the window at the Bath activity. The sausages and meat pie were very satisfying. A pint downstairs is also a great way to spend time.

Visited July 2014
Helpful?
Thank Trisha B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
107 reviews
52 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 51 helpful votes
“Cracking Pub”
Reviewed 17 August 2014 via mobile

Love this place! Real ales, great feel, no loud music so even on a Saturday night managed to get a table upstairs with mates after completing Tough Mudder and sit, drink and show each other our injuries. Really friendly staff too. Great night!

Helpful?
Thank Jim B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed The Raven of Bath also viewed

 

Been to The Raven of Bath? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing