We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Lovely Hotel and Location”
Review of Gordons Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Gordons Hotel
Ranked #1 of 12 Cheddar B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Broadway, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
205 reviews
45 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 104 helpful votes
“Lovely Hotel and Location”
Reviewed 16 April 2012

We visited this hotel with family who were over from Perth Australia, and have to say a very enjoyable stay.It is in an ideal location for visiting the area and within walking distance to the gorge. The rooms were very clean, breakfast excellent and staff very helpful and friendly, we would definitely stay there again if we return to the area

  • Stayed April 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank negativecamber
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

244 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    195
    34
    11
    3
    1
See reviews for
51
130
6
17
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (56)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Perth
Level 3 Contributor
19 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 April 2012

Wonderful place to stay, great family room, hospitality and welcoming people. All the way from Australia and happy to have selected this place..........thanks again.

  • Stayed April 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Jrowla
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reading
Level 2 Contributor
9 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed 18 March 2012

Just returned from Gordons Hotel and will definitely be returning very soon, ideally placed for all amenities and attractions all within easy walking distance. The Rooms are immaculately clean and comfortable. Wonderful breakfast served by friendly staff.
Sue and the team were all extremely welcoming and a great source of information regarding the local area. Nothing was too much trouble. Excellent value for money.

  • Stayed March 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank WoodleyWanderers
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Newcastle upon Tyne, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
8 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 March 2012

Sue, the owner can't do enough for u. A lovely little b&b x

  • Stayed March 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Lou-br
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
stoke
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 January 2012

Cheddar is a great place to stop over in winter for a few days, plenty open and plenty to do with lovely countryside for walkers.
If you stay in Cheddar I think Gordons is an excellent choice:
Right in Cheddar within easy reach of pubs, shops and eateries.
Run by friendy people
Comfortable and reasonably priced.

Room Tip: Our room was number 1 it had a 3/4 bath so tall people might prefer to ask for a room with a shower...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank keith t
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Clavering
Level 3 Contributor
13 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 November 2011

For a second year stayed at Gordons and this year brought friends with us, who loved it as much as us. As usual met at reception by hotel manager, lovely friendly lady, who had remembered us from the previous year. She had already shown our friends to their room, and they too commented on how friendly the first meeting was. This hotel is ideal for all visiting Cheddar and the surrounding area. It has its own swimming pool, which you are welcome to use at any time, wonderful swimming looking up at the gorge.
Would recommend this to all, its just great.

Room Tip: Ask for a room looking over the pool which means you don't have any traffic noise.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank zenafaccini
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
2 reviews
Reviewed 7 November 2011

Four of us stayed at Gordons for 4 nights during half term, and it was great there. The rooms were all clean and cosy, the breakfast was one of the best I've had in a hotel, the staff were lovely and we couldn't fault a thing. I highly recommend Gordons, it's a very pretty hotel and it was lovely staying there.

  • Stayed October 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank 93Kathryn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Cheddar
6.3 mi away
Days Inn Sedgemoor M5
Days Inn Sedgemoor M5
#1 of 1 in Cheddar
626 reviews
5.7 mi away
Wookey Hole Hotel
Wookey Hole Hotel
#1 of 1 in Wookey Hole
1,000 reviews
5.0 mi away
Best Western The Webbington Hotel and Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Bath Arms Hotel
Bath Arms Hotel
#2 of 12 in Cheddar
186 reviews
0.3 mi away
Arundel House
Arundel House
#7 of 12 in Cheddar
55 reviews
1.1 mi away
Nyland Manor
Nyland Manor
#4 of 12 in Cheddar
61 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Gordons Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Gordons Hotel

Property: Gordons Hotel
Address: Cliff Street, Cheddar BS27 3PT, England
Phone Number:
Region: United Kingdom > England > Somerset > Cheddar
Amenities:
Restaurant Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 12 B&Bs / Inns in Cheddar
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3 star — Gordons Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 13
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Odigeo, Priceline and Agoda so you can book your Gordons Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Gordons Hotel Cheddar, Somerset

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing