We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“This hotel ticks all the boxes”
Review of Gordons Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Gordons Hotel
Ranked #2 of 12 Cheddar B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 31 October 2013

We stayed at this hotel while attending a wedding nearby.

On arrival we received an extremely warm and friendly welcome. Our room was clean, spacious, comfortable and well equipped.

Breakfast was exceptional !

The only down side for me was the room did not have a shower but rooms with showers are available.
I thoroughly recommend this hotel and would definitely stay here again.

Stayed: October 2013, travelled with family
Thank Caire L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (272)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

184 - 190 of 272 reviews

Reviewed 31 October 2013

We have just returned from our 7th stay at Gordons. We return every year for a 3 night stay. We only have good things to say about this place. Clean, welcoming and a fantastic location. We always ask for the same room and we always get it. Sue always remembers us and welcomes us with a big smile and warm welcome, the rest of the staff are always friendly and helpful too. The breakfast is second to none served on piping hot plates, with lots of choices. Not quite sure why it is only 3 out of 10 in Cheddar as to us it is number 1.

Marie & Martin, Northants

  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Marie K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 October 2013

We stayed in this hotel whilst attending a family celebration in the area. The hotel is very comfortable and well situated. The lady owner is very friendly and extremely helpful. The breakfast was very tasty and I would not hesitate to stay again when we are next in the area.

Room Tip: Some rooms have showers and some only have baths. If you have a preference it would probably be wish...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Caledonia8
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 September 2013

This is an ideal place to stay in Cheddar it's so central! Very nice rooms friendly staff and excellent breakfasts. I definitely recommend this hotel. My friends and I enjoy walking so will definitely be back sometime soon.

  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank SUE P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 September 2013

We have used the Gordons Hotel for a few years now. Absolutely fantastic and have nothing at all bad to say about it. Very comfotable and the breakfasts are superb. We normally go as a group of bikers from the same family. Six people total usually although our kids have drove and met us there occasionally, and stayed themselves. We have stayed in the main hotel and the barn conversion overlooking the swimming pool. Can't fault either, although, we all like booking the barn conversion side to make it easier for us to chill out together. Sue is brilliant. Always cheerful, friendly and very easy to get on with. As all the rest of the staff are too. Looking forward to staying there next year again.

Austin, Lucy and the rest of the Heeley gang from Carlisle.

  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Austin H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 September 2013

This is a good choice for staying in Cheddar. The location is perfect for walking and local pubs and restaurants. This was our 2nd stay here and it was just as nice as the 1st time. The pool area is great especially after a long walk over the Cheddar Gorge you can relax and get your breath back ready for a a well earned meal and drink.

  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank andrep514
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 August 2013

Had a very nice stay, the rooms were very nice, the breakfast was very good, and the service was very friendly, the location was excellent, and the swimming pool was just the job on a hot day after walking the gorge.

Room Tip: The annex room for three was ideal
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Steve W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Cheddar
5.7 mi away
Wookey Hole Hotel
Wookey Hole Hotel
#1 of 1 in Wookey Hole
1,068 reviews
6.3 mi away
Days Inn Sedgemoor M5
Days Inn Sedgemoor M5
#1 of 1 in Cheddar
672 reviews
3.9 mi away
Lyncombe Lodge Hotel & Restaurant
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
5.0 mi away
Best Western The Webbington Hotel and Spa
7.2 mi away
DoubleTree by Hilton Bristol South - Cadbury House
7.3 mi away
The White Hart Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Gordons Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Gordons Hotel

Address: Cliff Street, Cheddar BS27 3PT, England
Phone Number:
Region: United Kingdom > England > Somerset > Cheddar
Amenities:
Restaurant Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 12 B&Bs / Inns in Cheddar
Price Range: £90 - £98 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Gordons Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 13
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com and Agoda so you can book your Gordons Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Gordons Hotel Cheddar, Somerset

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing