We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great stay!” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Gordons Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Gordons Hotel
Ranked #2 of 11 Cheddar B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Bristol, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Great stay!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 8 May 2014 via mobile

Fantastic stay at Gordon's! well looked after by Sue and her staff, very helpful with directions and how to get about. Had a great laugh! Will definitely stay there again! Pity it wasn't warm enough to jump in their lovely pool. Highly recommended! Didn't want to leave!

Stayed May 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank SamanthaIng
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

225 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    178
    32
    11
    3
    1
See reviews for
47
121
5
15
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (54)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 5 May 2014

We have stayed at this hotel many times, it is an ideal location and it never disappoints. The rooms are clean and comfortable and breakfast is first class. The owner makes you feel very welcome and we cannot wait to stay there again.

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Annkimm
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cambridge, United Kingdom
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 May 2014

This is the best place to stay in Cheddar. Ideally located for hilltop Gorge walk and caves.
Greeted with a warm welcome. The room was spotless and nice a warm. The breakfast was EXELLENT. We would definitely stay again and recommend to our friends.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank y g
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Watford, England, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
7 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 27 April 2014

The best so cosy and comfortable place in Cheddar with exceptional service and so helpful staff. The best place to get away from any hustle and bustle. Peace and tranquility guaranteed. Very Clean and all.

Room Tip: All rooms exceptional
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Mahendra C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mumbai (Bombay), India
Level Contributor
59 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 26 March 2014

The room was with bath and was spotlessly clean. The view from the room was of the swimming pool. The owner was very accommodating and helpful. The lounge was alos very cosy to relax for an hour or so after check out. We would definitely stay again if we are in the area next time and also would recommend to our friends.

  • Stayed June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Ashleyags
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
113 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 65 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 March 2014

Greeted with a warm and friendly welcome. We had a really large room overlooking the garden and swimming pool. The owners had thought of everything, lots of little extras such as bottle of water, cotton wool, really good quality body wash and body lotion in pump bottle which was full up. Even provided a flannel! Alarm clock, good size wall mounted TV. The bed was very comfortable and quiet, had a good nights sleep. EXCELLENT breakfast, not rushed, friendly service, good choice and very good quality. This is ideally located for the caves and exploring, could not have picked a better hotel, I would highly recommend this to everyone.

Room Tip: We had a room overlooking gardens and it was very quiet.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Nickie B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cambridge, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 January 2014

We stayed at this hotel a couple of weeks before Christmas with our family - 6 adults and 2 toddlers. We couldn't have wished for a better hotel in a fabulous location.

The staff were exceptional providing a service that we could not fault. The rooms were spacious, clean and warm.

The breakfasts were excellent. All in all a wonderful break and we will certainly be returning.

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank RKB1958
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Cheddar
5.7 mi away
Wookey Hole Hotel
Wookey Hole Hotel
#1 of 1 in Wookey Hole
4.0 of 5 bubbles 944 reviews
6.5 mi away
Days Inn Sedgemoor M5
Days Inn Sedgemoor M5
#1 of 1 in Cheddar
4.0 of 5 bubbles 583 reviews
5.0 mi away
BEST WESTERN Webbington Hotel and Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.9 mi away
Lyncombe Lodge Hotel & Restaurant
2.8 mi away
Premier Inn Bristol Sidcot (A38) Hotel
0.2 mi away
Bath Arms Hotel
Bath Arms Hotel
#1 of 11 in Cheddar
4.5 of 5 bubbles 173 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Gordons Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Gordons Hotel

Property: Gordons Hotel
Address: Cliff Street, Cheddar BS27 3PT, England
Phone Number:
Region: United Kingdom > England > Somerset > Cheddar
Amenities:
Restaurant Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 11 B&Bs / Inns in Cheddar
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3 star — Gordons Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 13
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com so you can book your Gordons Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Gordons Hotel Cheddar, Somerset

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing