We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“not as clean as it could be.”
Review of Gordons Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Gordons Hotel
Ranked #1 of 12 Cheddar B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Birmingham, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“not as clean as it could be.”
Reviewed 2 November 2010

looks lovley from the outside. location is great. checked in and told where our room was. walked into the room and the first thing i was was the very stained carpet. the kettle was under the large t.v. on the wall so you had to duck to make a drink. dust on the lamps and bits on the carpet. the shower in the bathroom was a rubber attachment which you put on the taps of the bath and hold over your head. bed not very comfortable. not curtains, just blinds up the window. i found a half empty bottle of water behind the mirror on the dressing table. taps made a noise when you turmed the taps on. breakfast was better. fresh rasberrys, strawberrys, cerials, juice, full english etc. service good but there was only 3 tables in use. it seemed to be the same person serving even though there was about 3/4 staff when we walked in the breakfast room.

  • Stayed October 2010, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank karen_beaumont
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

250 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    201
    34
    11
    3
    1
See reviews for
54
133
6
17
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (57)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Manchester, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 September 2010

This was a nice surprise - I visited the pub opposite as a young child on family holidays about 25 years ago - in those days I was only interested in the Space Invader machines! Because of my familiarity of the area, I knew that this guesthouse was in a great location. The rooms are nice, bright and clean - my only minor criticism was that the carpet was in need of replacement, but not a major issue.

The breakfast lounge was busy but the girls did their best to keep everyone happy. The breakfast is great value (lots of bacon served, and not much fat!)

We didn't see the swimming pool as it wasn't the warmest of days, and the cover was on.

Parking is limited, so there were a couple of times where we had to squeeze in or wait for someone else to move. But there is a public car park opposite that is free between 6pm and 9am the next morning, and is fairly empty at these times.

Overall, I would definitely recommend this place - and they had a special off over the Bank Holiday weekend for three nights.

  • Stayed August 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank DarrenSpoons
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Surrey, England
Level 3 Contributor
18 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 25 April 2010

A nice place to stay in the middle of Cheddar - the owner was friendly and helpful, and we were made to feel welcome.

The room had a nice view over the garden, and had all the necessary amenities, but may benefit from some modernisation over time.

Overall a great place to stay to see Cheddar and the surrounding area.

Stayed April 2010, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank surreynano
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
UK
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
Reviewed 1 April 2010

The hospitality was the best we had for the whole trip they even did our washing!! Champagne and canapes were served to boost our morale as we got so wet riding to Cheddar from Exeter on our tandems. The bedrooms were extremely comfortable and we had a much needed and welcome good nights sleep followed by a wholesome breakfast before being waved off in the morning. Extremley good value for money.

  • Stayed August 2008
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Petal02
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Minneapolis, MN
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 November 2009

Spent 3 weeks in England at B & Bs and this was the absolute worst we encounted, ever. The lady in charge was rude and unhelpful. Our reservation was screwed up, the room was unclean, half the biscuits were eaten with the package being left for us to finish, and the beds were wose than sleeping on a rock-strewn floor. The parking 'lot' is miniscule so we ended up parking at a pay and display; adding insult to injury at the already overpriced stay at such a dump. Breakfast hardly worth getting up for. Avoid this place like the plague! I wouldn't recommend this hotel to someone I hated.

  • Stayed October 2009, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Olivia39
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Around The World
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 6 September 2009

This is a wonderful little hotel. It is immaculately clean, the staff is friendly and helpful and the location is great for exploring Cheddar. We (myself, my husband, my 3 year old and 1 year old) stayed in their family room which, for England, was very nicely sized. We had more than enough room. The owner was friendly and helpful even cheerfully pulling a baby cot out of the loft for us at the last minute. The room was clean. I mean very clean. Cleaner than even some of the big name/chain hotels I have stayed in. The breakfast the next morning was delicious. And they had a high chair for our 1 year old. In England, many restaurants and even family-friendly hotels do not provide little things like this so this was nice. Though we did not use it, the garden and pool area looked lovely. After checking out the next morning we spent the day in Cheddar exploring the caves and the owner let us leave our car in their parking space. This was a huge help to us as parking around Cheddar can get crowded. I would definitely recommend this hotel to anyone wanting to enjoy a nice relaxing stay in Cheddar.

  • Stayed August 2009, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank runNtravel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Grays, Essex, UK
Level 5 Contributor
33 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
Reviewed 16 August 2009

Perfect place to stay to see the Gorge and caves.
We stayed overnight to break our journey from Essex to Falmouth, Cornwall.
accommodation was ideal - Less than 5 minute walk and you are in the Gorge!

Only had the afternoon available to us so our two daughters aged 13 and 15 enjoyed 2 hours caving.
Some nice pubs nearby where you can get reasonably priced meals.

Breakfast the following morning was ideal and well served.

  • Stayed August 2009, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Tapyeno
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Cheddar
6.3 mi away
Days Inn Sedgemoor M5
Days Inn Sedgemoor M5
#1 of 1 in Cheddar
640 reviews
5.7 mi away
Wookey Hole Hotel
Wookey Hole Hotel
#1 of 1 in Wookey Hole
1,023 reviews
5.0 mi away
Best Western The Webbington Hotel and Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.9 mi away
Lyncombe Lodge Hotel & Restaurant
7.3 mi away
Best Western Plus Swan Hotel
1.1 mi away
Nyland Manor
Nyland Manor
#5 of 12 in Cheddar
62 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Gordons Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Gordons Hotel

Property: Gordons Hotel
Address: Cliff Street, Cheddar BS27 3PT, England
Phone Number:
Region: United Kingdom > England > Somerset > Cheddar
Amenities:
Restaurant Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 12 B&Bs / Inns in Cheddar
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3 star — Gordons Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 13
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Odigeo and Agoda so you can book your Gordons Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Gordons Hotel Cheddar, Somerset

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing