We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“5 Star Accomodation”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Cheddar Woods Resort & Spa
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 19 October 2013

This is a newly refurbished Hoseason's site. We had a three bed lodge with a hot tub for 5 adults. There was loads of room, a bathroom and an en-suite shower room. 4 TV's ! The hot tub was hot and ready to get into when we arrived. The Lodge (yes it is a mobile home with wood cladding) but don't be put off by that, it is like a 5 star hotel with everything you might need and furnished to a high standard. Even my elderly mum couldn't find anything to complain about! She did try!! We spent a long weekend there, the staff were lovely and helpful. Didn't use the restaurant but it looked nice. We did snorkelling and sea scooters (yes 4 adults!) great fun. An adult only swimming session would be nice. Would recommend and return.Great for Xmas? Whilst you are there go to the Penscot Inn, great food.

  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank zarkava
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (973)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

967 - 973 of 973 reviews

Reviewed 13 October 2013

Having just reopened in July everything is brand new and has up to date facilities. We stayed in October 2013. The swimming pool was lovely and warm and you have the added bonus of a steam room and sauna. Luckily for us it was not busy so most of the time we had the facilities to ourselves. All staff were very helpful and accommodating. We stayed in the Axbridge Premier Lodge which includes a hot tub (although we only go to use this once over our 3 night stay). We took part in the raft building and artery Go Active Activities. These were run by Carl who was fantastic, funny and encouraged everyone to participate into the spirit of things. There is so much to see and do you in the surrounding area you certainly want to make the most of this trip. We included a day at Weston Super Mare and spent the afternoon on the pier samplings the new rides. Cheddar is just a five minute drive and is a great way to spend another day visiting Cheddar Caves, souvenir shops, cream teas and of local restaurants and pubs. We have enjoyed our stay so much we have now booked to return.

Room Tip: Axbridge Premier Lodge - it has a hot tube and en suite.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank janecooke67
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 October 2013

If you want a holiday thats clean fun and have hot tubs that are actually HOT don't come here!

Firstly the hot tub was 42 degrees which burnt our skin, then next day the hot tub was DRAINED completely! Had to ask staff for hot tub to be refilled as they forgot we were still staying there for another 4 days! Also went to go to the hot tub Friday but the hot tub was freezing cold!! Went for a swim instead and was amazed no one was in there... then we looked closer once we'd got in and found about 20 dead flies in the pool!!! This is an INDOOR pool I must add... complete filth!! If you want a nice stress free holiday avoid at all costs!

  • Stayed: October 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank Hayley R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 October 2013

this is a beautiful park. the lodges are spacious and very homely.
the staff are outstanding. from the reception staff to the bar staff and the leisure team.

the childrens entertainers were lovely and the kids absolutly loved them.

the reception staff, always greeted us with a smile and were always very helpful.

the food was amazing and generally just a relaxing peaceful for adults but entertaining activities to keep the children entertained.

  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank princesssnooks
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 September 2013

Firstly I must say the park were kind enough for us to delay our holiday for a year, due to my father in law needing treatment for cancer (we had to take him to & from the hospital for treatment daily, when our holiday was booked) & hats off to them for that, they didn't need to do that, as we didn't take insurance out.

On arrival in the pouring rain (not their fault) we went to reception to get our keys, you are told the keypad entry number for the barrier, which for some strange reason is on the passenger side of the road, so I had to get out & get drenched putting the number in, after a 5 hour journey, that wasn't really appreciated.

Then on arriving at the "lodge", which in fact is a static caravan clad in plastic, so not a lodge at all, I was greeted with a dog bowl & treats, which is a lovely thought, but I'd rang them in May to say my dog had died & therefore wasnt coming, so was saddened by that. The caravan itself is stunning, definitely the best accomodation we've had, that you could take a pet into (normally you get dregs). The caravan has all you need & more.

I think all in all it's a good park if your kids are over 3, as mine is 2 she couldn't do any activities, so we went off site apart from the swimming pool & little park.

Room Tip: Only gave poor for children's activities, as mine was too young! Maybe very good, but I can'...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank singletandpoornow
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 August 2013

Over the last few months this site has been updated and now only contains chalets and has been renamed Cheddar Woods. We stayed here this August and were highly impressed by the facilities, the chalets and the friendliness of the staff. The activity programme was excellent for 3-7 year olds and there was plenty for older children and adults to do. The addition of a hot tub outside the chalet made it easy for adults to use and still listen in case needed by the children after they had gone to bed!
The location is special and as oldies we found plenty to do whilst the grandchildren and their parents also were catered for.
All in all a special week.

  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank maryuna
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 September 2016
Google Translation

Room Tip: Il est à noter que cet endroit n'est pas un hôtel... mais un Resort de chalets...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2016, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank Roukinette007
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Cheddar
5.7 mi away
Days Inn Sedgemoor M5
Days Inn Sedgemoor M5
#1 of 1 in Cheddar
674 reviews
3 mi away
Lyncombe Lodge Hotel & Restaurant
6.7 mi away
Wookey Hole Hotel
Wookey Hole Hotel
#1 of 1 in Wookey Hole
1,072 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
5.6 mi away
Rookery Manor
Rookery Manor
#1 of 1 in Edingworth
919 reviews
6.5 mi away
DoubleTree by Hilton Bristol South - Cadbury House
18 mi away
Bath Mill Lodge Retreat
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Cheddar Woods Resort & Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Cheddar Woods Resort & Spa

Address: Axbridge Road, Cheddar BS27 3DB, England (Formerly Cheddar Woods Holiday Home Park)
Region: United Kingdom > England > Somerset > Cheddar
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 8 Speciality Lodging in Cheddar
Price Range: £57 - £164 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — Cheddar Woods Resort & Spa 5*
Number of rooms: 400
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Nestled in the beautiful Mendip Hills, Cheddar Woods is the perfect place to relax and unwind. Breath taking scenery awaits you at our state of the art park - brand new for Summer 2013. Cheddar Woods is the ideal location for family holidays. Set in an area of Outstanding Natural Beauty, our fabulous park boasts beautifully furnished lodges both to purchase and to book for holidays. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com and Agoda so you can book your Cheddar Woods Resort & Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Broadway House Holiday Park Hotel Cheddar
Cheddar Woods Resort & Spa Somerset

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing