We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Relaxing and Active Holiday”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Cheddar Woods Resort & Spa
Certificate of Excellence
Bedfordshire, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
43 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
“Relaxing and Active Holiday”
Reviewed 26 August 2014

As previous reviews have said the lodges are lovely; clean, well equipped etc. The on site shop could have been better/more usefully stocked but there was a BP garage with a Spar shop within a few minutes walk. We didn't get to use any of the go-active facilities as things we wanted to do were already fully booked, but we did use the swimming pool, steam room and sauna - all spotlessly clean. Great place for walking up to and around the gorge. We hired some bikes from a place near the industrial park and cycled along The Strawberry line to Yatton station, where we stopped for a cup of tea and tasty slice of cake before heading back to base - approx 20 mile round trip. I visited the spa for a facial on our final night - Alice gave me my treatment - she was fantastic and I would recommend her.

Stayed August 2014, travelled with family
Helpful?
2 Thank MichMoch2014
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Christina L, Customer Services Manager at Cheddar Woods Resort & Spa, responded to this review, 26 August 2014
Thank you for letting us know about your stay here at Cheddar Woods. It is great to hear that you enjoyed your stay and took advantage of so many things on offer in the area as well as on park. We are indead fortunate to have some very gifted therapists in our Eden Spa and I am so pleased to hear that you enjoyed your treatment and such lovely comments. I will be sure to pass these on to her and I hope we will see you with us again soon for another active but also relaxing stay.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

872 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    584
    193
    65
    21
    9
See reviews for
558
147
2
4
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (169)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
hove
Level 5 Contributor
45 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
Reviewed 25 August 2014

Stayed here for 5 days from 18 August with our daughter, her husband and 9 month old baby. Our lodge (17) was ideally located as short distance to main building. Nice pool for babies and toddlers with good changing facilities. The pool was quiet which was ideal for a baby who also liked the larger pool. Cannot fault the lodge...comfortable sitting room, very well equipped kitchen and nice duvets and towels. An en suite bathroom and separate toilet. Large decking area with views over the reservoir in the distance..comfortable seating outside. Takeaway was good. Our only criticism would be that the shop on site was very limited (also closed early as attached to reception) and we walked to the Spar shop at the petrol station. It would have been nice to get provisions on site. Landscaping was lovely and it was a very peaceful site. I would recommend that people should do more research before choosing a site as this was never portrayed as being Center Parc. The website is quite clear about the facilities and that extra facilities are chargeable. Would happily recommend this site to friends and family. Ideal base for beautiful surrounding countryside. We went to Weston super mare to the Seaquarium, Avon valley railway and Court farm country park all of which our grandson enjoyed. Not too far to drive to each afternoon. Last but not least the staff were pleasant and helpful.

  • Stayed August 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank sarahHove
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Christina L, Customer Services Manager at Cheddar Woods Resort & Spa, responded to this review, 26 August 2014
Thank you for your feedback following your stay with us here at Cheddar Woods. I am so pleased to hear that you all enjoyed your stay and particularly that your grandson enjoyed his stay and swim so much. I was also glad to hear that you took advantage of so many of the things the local area has to offer as we do have many wodnerful sites around us as well as on park.

I hope we will see you again soon for another relaxing stay.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Horley, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
27 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 August 2014

We are just back from a week's holiday with our 6 children. We had a premier lodge with hot-tub & could not fault anything. We wanted GoActive activities for the children, who are aged 10-16 & they were ideal, having been to Hengar Manor in Cornwall last year, this was far superior. The staff were all helpful & friendly.

The only criticism was the restaurant in the evening, food was very average & we would of eaten in the restaurant more had the quality been better. The children had a great time & we've booked Piran Meadows in Cornwall for next August!

  • Stayed August 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank KirsH2013
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Christina L, Customer Services Manager at Cheddar Woods Resort & Spa, responded to this review, 26 August 2014
Thank you for letting us know about your stay with us. I am so pleased to hear that you enjoyed many of the wonderful things our GoActive team have to offer as well as the lodge and facilities. It was also a joy to ready the lovely comment toward our team.

I am sure you will enjoy your stay at Piran Meadows as much as this one but I hope we will see you with us here at Cheddar Woods again soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Exeter, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 August 2014

This place is really worth visiting over and over again .
It's has very clean and high spec lodges with wonderful hot tubs . Such a nice place to relax and unwind.
staff are really friendly and helpful. The spa and swimming pool are really nice .

  • Stayed April 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank P C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Christina L, Customer Services Manager at Cheddar Woods Resort & Spa, responded to this review, 26 August 2014
Thank you for letting us know about your recent stay here at Cheddar Woods. I am so pleased you enjoyed it and I am sure we will see you with us again soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kent
Level 4 Contributor
24 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 August 2014

Well, first of all I want to disagree with a couple of the negative reviews on here. Yes, the lodges are plastic clad rather than wooden BUT in the grand scheme of things this doesn't really matter, they look fabulous and the whole resort is well designed! Another negative review said that the fixtures and fittings were cheap. Seriously, was the reviewer actually staying at the same place as me?? There is nothing cheap about the fixtures and fittings here! Our lodge (no 19) was spacious, fabulous, luxurious, and had absolutely everything you could need.

The living room is large, nicely decorated with carpet, comfy seating, large TV, iPod docking station and charging station for every make of mobile phone you can think of. Plenty of power sockets and lovely curtains. An electric fire we didn't use and even some board games for wet days.

The kitchen is probably better equipped than the one I have at home. Double oven, combi microwave, dishwasher (3 tablets included as well as a small bottle of wash-up liquid and dish washing sponge), washer/dryer, fridge and freezer and huge gas hob. Modern cabinets with every glass, plate, cup and cooking utensil you could ask for. Sharp knives, good quality pans. My only comment would be that there isn't a lot of cupboard space left for storing food, and I would question the necessity of a full-size freezer when the most that your average family will use it for is ice and a pack of fish fingers!!! There is also a large, modern glass topped dining table with 6 smart chairs and even has place mats, drinks mats and salt & pepper mills.

Bedrooms well equipped, lovely comfy beds, thick duvets, good quality bedding and plenty of storage especially in the master bedroom where there was a walk-in wardrobe. Again plenty of power sockets and a flat screen TV in each room. Plenty of thick, fluffy towels, toilet rolls and gorgeous toiletries from The White Company in the bathroom that I loved so much I ordered some online before we even left the resort!

There is a large decking area at the front - some lodges have a hot tub (sadly we didn't book early enough to get one) and also a huge outdoor table with plenty of seating and cushions as well.

Each lodge has its own wifi point which was really easy to connect to. They give you 2 codes with your welcome pack for free which are valid for 1 week or 2gB, but if you need more or run out of data they are happy to give our more codes. I think between the 4 of us with phones, iPods, iPads and laptop we got through over a dozen codes in a week, none of which I had to pay for, it seems you can have as many codes as you want which certainly kept my kids happy.

The pool is good, and there is a sauna and steam room as well as relaxation area for adults. We went to the bar for drinks a couple of times and ate there once which was excellent.

Didn't get a chance to use the Spa facilities but it looked fabulous in there.

All in all, an excellent holiday resort, really close to Cheddar Gorge, cannot fault it at all.

Room Tip: Book early and get a hot tub!!!
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Carole-Anne C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Christina L, Customer Services Manager at Cheddar Woods Resort & Spa, responded to this review, 26 August 2014
Thank you for the wonderful feedback following your stay with us. It offers a lovely description and I am so pleased that you enjoyed the lodge and found everything to your liking as we do try to ensure that you have all you need for a brilliant stay.

I am also glad to hear you tried some of our facilities and enjoyed the local area and I hope we will see you with us again in the future for another enjoyable stay.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Exmouth, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 18 August 2014

Wow....this place is amazing....its quiet and defo 5 star...the staff are all very friendly and will do anything for you...we picked this for our honeymoon and was perfect....the only thing i can fault is that it would be good if all verrandas had gates on,as we had a 2 year old and it would have kept her more contained...lol.... swimming pool is lovely, and all very clean. Would highly reccomend this place...thank you for our pleasent stay.....x :)....

Stayed August 2014, travelled with family
Helpful?
1 Thank kathryn b
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Christina L, Customer Services Manager at Cheddar Woods Resort & Spa, responded to this review, 23 August 2014
Thank you for your feedback following your special stay with us. I am so pleased that you had such a good stay and enjoyed all that Cheddar Woods has to offer and I hope we will see you again in the future for another enjoyable break with us.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chester, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
14 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 August 2014 via mobile

I agree with lots already said in previous reviews lodges are spacious and very luxurious. We had a hot tub and it was fantastic . The park overall is very well kept pool area and showers are immaculate .
We have a five year old who tried a couple off the go active sessions And loved them and at £5 for one and half hours I felt it was good value .
There was a small farm shop that sold some nice things but I do think the park would benefit from a bigger shop selling a bit more for two days there was no bread .
The pool is nice not large with a whirl pool section at one end. Children are not allowed to jump in. I think some slides for children or inflatables would he a good idea to make the use off the pool more fun even if they were only used at certain times off the day.
On the whole cheddar woods is a lovely place and in a great position for exploring the area.

  • Stayed August 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Jamiejoops23
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Christina L, Customer Services Manager at Cheddar Woods Resort & Spa, responded to this review, 23 August 2014
Thank you for letting us know about your recent stay here at Cheddar Woods. It is lovely to hear your comments about your stay with us and I am glad to hear that you took advantage of the facilties as well as the enjoyable activties.

I hope we will see you with us again soon for another active stay.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Cheddar
6.7 mi away
Wookey Hole Hotel
Wookey Hole Hotel
#1 of 1 in Wookey Hole
1,001 reviews
5.7 mi away
Days Inn Sedgemoor M5
Days Inn Sedgemoor M5
#1 of 1 in Cheddar
626 reviews
4.1 mi away
Best Western The Webbington Hotel and Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
19.8 mi away
Hilton Bath City
Hilton Bath City
#23 of 31 in Bath
2,763 reviews
20.6 mi away
Combe Grove Hotel
Combe Grove Hotel
#21 of 31 in Bath
131 reviews
17.7 mi away
Bath Mill Lodge Retreat
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Cheddar Woods Resort & Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Cheddar Woods Resort & Spa

Property: Cheddar Woods Resort & Spa
Address: Axbridge Road, Cheddar BS27 3DB, England (Formerly Cheddar Woods Holiday Home Park)
Region: United Kingdom > England > Somerset > Cheddar
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 8 Speciality Lodging in Cheddar
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:5 star — Cheddar Woods Resort & Spa 5*
Number of rooms: 400
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Nestled in the beautiful Mendip Hills, Cheddar Woods is the perfect place to relax and unwind. Breath taking scenery awaits you at our state of the art park - brand new for Summer 2013. Cheddar Woods is the ideal location for family holidays. Set in an area of Outstanding Natural Beauty, our fabulous park boasts beautifully furnished lodges both to purchase and to book for holidays. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Odigeo, Priceline and Agoda so you can book your Cheddar Woods Resort & Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Broadway House Holiday Park Hotel Cheddar
Cheddar Woods Resort & Spa Somerset

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing