We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Delicious all day breakfast”

Ranked #2 of 3 Coffee & Tea in Cheddar
Certificate of Excellence
Dining options: Breakfast
Restaurant details
Dining options: Breakfast
shaftesbyry
Level 6 Contributor
148 reviews
96 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 53 helpful votes
“Delicious all day breakfast”
Reviewed 23 June 2014 via mobile

Two of us had an all day breakfast each in the simply gorgeous tea room this afternoon and it was absolutely delicious. We choose this tearoom as it looked lovely and welcoming and the all day breakfast was £1.75 cheaper than a cafe we had already walked past. Staff were very friendly the tearoom was delightful and toilets clean.Overall food and service was absolutely faultless. I also feel that other things on the menu were very reasonably priced. Next time I visit cheddar I will have to stop at simply gorgeous for another perfect breakfast.

  • Visited June 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
2 Thank jennifer474
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

87 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    50
    18
    6
    6
    7
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
London
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Charges for tap water, standards slipping....”
Reviewed 23 June 2014 via mobile

Went here today after the Cheddar Gorge half marathon looking forward to a nice relaxing lunch. Unfortunately, service wasn't with a smile, music kept skipping, food was worse than last year and they charge for tap water!

They weren't too happy when we were asking about gluten free options - even asking what was in the salad seemed an inconvenience to the staff.

The ploughman's was okay but unfortunately we couldn't quench our thirst due to their ridiculous policy of charging for tap water!!

When we asked the owner, he accused us of 'not having stepped in a restaurant recently' as this was apparently 'standard'. I didn't dignify this with a response - no tip left...

  • Visited June 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
6 Thank whiteflock
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
worcestershire
Level 4 Contributor
25 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Always an excellent breakfast”
Reviewed 13 May 2014

On visiting Cheddar Gorge, we can never visit without dining at Simply Gorgeous Tea Room.
Just have to have a breakfast there in the lovely surroundings of The Tea Room.

  • Visited April 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank tashWorcestershire
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
1 review
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Amazing Scones and Cream”
Reviewed 11 May 2014

It was really refreshing have a coffee and Cream Tea after a walk. Amazing atmosphere and location. I would really like to come again and have a nice afternoon coffee scones and cream

  • Visited March 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Vivek V
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bristol, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
29 reviews
13 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
“My favourite cafe in Cheddar”
Reviewed 23 April 2014

I've been coming to this cafe/tea shop for several years now, and I cannot fault it. The menu is extensive and very reasonably priced,the staff are always friendly and the service is excellent.

Most of the time I cycle there, and there's plenty of bike storage in the garden area at the back, and the staff are only too happy to refill water bottles if you need them filled. There's even a track pump in the cafe too!

I've sampled a few things on the menu, but the highlights for me are the fresh cheese scones, the soup or the jacket potatoes.

  • Visited April 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Gordon M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Simply Gorgeous Tea Room also viewed

 

Been to Simply Gorgeous Tea Room? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing