We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Perfect Deja Vu”
other travellers have booked this property
The Byre
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
The Byre
Sitting Room The Byre
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Excellent
84 reviews
The Byre
Sitting Room
The Byre
Kitchen
The Byre
Dining Area
Sitting Room
Sitting Room
Local Produce!
Hall
Bathroom
Bedroom
Bedroom
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Enquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Barn -
1 Bedroom, 1 Bathroom, Sleeps 2
Cheddar, Somerset, England

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 84 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
English first
Any
English first
Antony W
Liskeard, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Perfect Deja Vu”
Reviewed 7 September 2014 for a stay in September 2014

This was our second visit to The Byre and we found the experience every bit as memorable as our first. The welcome that we received from the owners, Nigel and Charlotte was first class. The welcome basket, which included a home baked cake was a very thoughtful touch, which we all appreciated. The property was extremely spotless and boasted all the facilities that one could wish for, including a dishwasher, washing machine and oven/hob. A real feature is the wood burning stove which would be ideal for those winter breaks. The Byre was ideally situated, just outside the village of Cheddar and therefore provided an idea base from which to explore the many delights of Somerset. We would, without any hesitation thoroughly recommend this wonderful property to anyone looking to book a self catering holiday to Somerset.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Everything
Liked least: Nothing to report
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
RashMan87
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Beautiful cottage!”
Reviewed 4 September 2014 for a stay in August 2014
1
person found this review helpful

My wife and I stayed at The Byre for 4 nights. The owners are really friendly and were easily contactable prior to the booking and after. It has a large garden where you can relax and is not too far from the Cheddar Gorge. The awesome Western-Super-Mare Beach is about 35 minute drive away - a large, sandy beach.. Felt like we were abroad! The cottage includes a fire place which I couldnt take myself away from! The Byre literally includes every tool required for the kitchen and theres even board games and dvds. Amazing cottage. The owners even went out their way to post back a few things that we accidentally left there.

Thank you Nigel and Charlotte!

Value Rooms
Location Cleanliness
Service
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Flossy99
Port Talbot
Level 3 Contributor
11 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“PERFECT STAY”
Reviewed 17 July 2014 for a stay in July 2014

Had a very comfortable and relaxing stay at The Byre. It had everything that we needed .... and more. Enjoyed some lovely walks from the door ..... and a delicious home made cake to come back to !
We were lucky enough to have some great weather while there, and enjoyed a few drinks on the terrace.
Wouldn't hesitate in recommending this lovely place. Hope to return again.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Kitchen & utensils Bathroom cleanliness
Other facilities & amenities Service
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Your age range 35-49
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
geoffy124
St Ives, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“a perfect hideaway”
Reviewed 8 July 2014 for a stay in June 2014

We looked for a long time to find a cottage that fitted all our needs and this did it perfectly. we loved the contemporary style but were pleased it still had character. A lot of thought has gone in to the design and how it is equipped. It was very spacious too which was an added bonus. Very good position for visiting cheddar and the market towns. Our week went far too quickly and we were very sad to leave.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
steeleSta...
Stoke-on-Trent, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
34 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
“first class”
Reviewed 27 March 2014 for a stay in March 2014

we booked the cottage for a 4 night break, the experience from the start was easy. requesting details, booking , paying and arrival were all dealt with quickly and easily. Everything had been thought of. |The accomodation is first class. we especially liked the fact that well laid out walks had been included in the fact file starting directly from the cottage, including a OS map. We didn't need to get the car out.
The woodburning stove was lovely in the cold evenings. The area is lovely to visit with loads to see. And the homemade cake is to die for.
Thanks for a lovely break, We would recommend highly to friends

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Older travelers
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Clare P
Newquay, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Perfect countryside retreat”
Reviewed 6 February 2014 for a stay in January 2014
1
person found this review helpful

We were looking for a calm weekend in the countryside, with nothing to disturb the peace and quiet, somewhere we could really relax in and call home for a few days, and we definitely found it here.
Charlotte & Nigel welcomed us as if we were old friends, included a welcome pack of wood for the fire, tea, coffee, biscuits & even a home made cake. They were really flexible with check in/out times and really good at corresponding with us.
The cottage is beautifully decked out with a log burner, great kitchen, books & DVDs to keep you occupied, and a nice big bath - everything you could need for the weekend. We deliberately planned to cook everything there as we didn't want to be wandering around looking for places to eat. This is sometimes a gamble but not here, as the kitchen is really well kitted out with all the utensils and pots and everything, it really is a home from home.

It is a great location, we did a good 6 hour walk one day up to Cheddar and took in some spectacular views of the Gorge from there. It is the kind of place I'd happily go and stay a week just to relax. Absolutely lovely, and would love to go back :)

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The Log Burner and open plan kitchen
Liked least: Having to leave!!
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
People with disabilities Older travelers
People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Joe B
Haverfordwest, United Kingdom
1 review
“Simply Brilliant”
Reviewed 27 January 2014 for a stay in January 2014

This is our 3rd visit to The Byre and there is a reason we keep coming back. The accommodation is first class and both Nigel & Charlotte are the nicest hosts you will come across. The views are spectacular and the general feel of the property is warm and homely. Thank you for the cakes!! they were delicious.

Travelling group: Other
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a holiday rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing