We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Just what I needed!”
other travellers have booked this property
The Byre
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
The Byre
Sitting Room The Byre
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Excellent
84 reviews
The Byre
Sitting Room
The Byre
Kitchen
The Byre
Dining Area
Sitting Room
Sitting Room
Local Produce!
Hall
Bathroom
Bedroom
Bedroom
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Enquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Barn -
1 Bedroom, 1 Bathroom, Sleeps 2
Cheddar, Somerset, England

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 84 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
English first
Any
English first
MTBChick7...
Derby, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
8 reviews
6 hotel reviews
“Just what I needed!”
Reviewed 3 January 2015 for a stay in December 2014

I found the byre to be very clean, quiet and comfortable (very comfy bed). The decor is very tasteful throughout, with lots of attention to details. The photos do not show that there is a lovely outlook from the sofa onto the owners' garden and beyond, which I very much enjoyed. The owners are discrete but very helpful. Other reviews re: parking should be ignored - nothing to worry about if you have an average-sized car and basic manoeuvring skills. Overall I was very pleased with my choice.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Decor and outlook from lounge.
Liked least: Not applicable
Travelling group: Solo Traveller
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
sarah2604...
Hockley, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Perfect!!”
Reviewed 14 December 2014 for a stay in December 2014

If your looking for a comfortable, spacious, well equipped home from home to stay in whilst exploring Somerset then look no further!!! This pretty cottage with amazing views is the perfect choice. Charlotte and Nigel have made every effort into providing everything you could possibly wish for down to the smallest detail.
Spotlessly clean, well equipped and furnished to a very high standard.
There are a number of shops close by the cottage plus lots of places to eat and drink.
The information provided by the friendly owners on things to do and see, details of walks in the area etc is well thought out and informative.
If we return to Somerset in the future we would book The Byre again without a second thought.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: All of it!
Liked least: Leaving!
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Older travelers
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
RC2291
Newcastle, Australia
Level 5 Contributor
64 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 62 helpful votes
“A wonderful place in Somerset”
Reviewed 27 November 2014 for a stay in November 2014
1
person found this review helpful

The Byre in Draycott near Cheddar is delightful!. It is absolutely as described. Beautiful decor and with all that is required for our stay. A very warm welcome from Charlotte and Nigel with little extras like the cake. This is one of the nicest cottages we have ever stayed in and would highly recommend it to anyone wanting to stay in this area.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Everything
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Older travelers People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Antony W
Liskeard, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Perfect Deja Vu”
Reviewed 7 September 2014 for a stay in September 2014

This was our second visit to The Byre and we found the experience every bit as memorable as our first. The welcome that we received from the owners, Nigel and Charlotte was first class. The welcome basket, which included a home baked cake was a very thoughtful touch, which we all appreciated. The property was extremely spotless and boasted all the facilities that one could wish for, including a dishwasher, washing machine and oven/hob. A real feature is the wood burning stove which would be ideal for those winter breaks. The Byre was ideally situated, just outside the village of Cheddar and therefore provided an idea base from which to explore the many delights of Somerset. We would, without any hesitation thoroughly recommend this wonderful property to anyone looking to book a self catering holiday to Somerset.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Everything
Liked least: Nothing to report
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
RashMan87
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Beautiful cottage!”
Reviewed 4 September 2014 for a stay in August 2014
1
person found this review helpful

My wife and I stayed at The Byre for 4 nights. The owners are really friendly and were easily contactable prior to the booking and after. It has a large garden where you can relax and is not too far from the Cheddar Gorge. The awesome Western-Super-Mare Beach is about 35 minute drive away - a large, sandy beach.. Felt like we were abroad! The cottage includes a fire place which I couldnt take myself away from! The Byre literally includes every tool required for the kitchen and theres even board games and dvds. Amazing cottage. The owners even went out their way to post back a few things that we accidentally left there.

Thank you Nigel and Charlotte!

Value Rooms
Location Cleanliness
Service
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Flossy99
Port Talbot
Level 3 Contributor
11 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“PERFECT STAY”
Reviewed 17 July 2014 for a stay in July 2014

Had a very comfortable and relaxing stay at The Byre. It had everything that we needed .... and more. Enjoyed some lovely walks from the door ..... and a delicious home made cake to come back to !
We were lucky enough to have some great weather while there, and enjoyed a few drinks on the terrace.
Wouldn't hesitate in recommending this lovely place. Hope to return again.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Kitchen & utensils Bathroom cleanliness
Other facilities & amenities Service
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Your age range 35-49
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
geoffy124
St Ives, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“a perfect hideaway”
Reviewed 8 July 2014 for a stay in June 2014

We looked for a long time to find a cottage that fitted all our needs and this did it perfectly. we loved the contemporary style but were pleased it still had character. A lot of thought has gone in to the design and how it is equipped. It was very spacious too which was an added bonus. Very good position for visiting cheddar and the market towns. Our week went far too quickly and we were very sad to leave.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a holiday rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing