We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“The perfect home from home!”
other travellers have booked this property
The Byre
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
The Byre
Sitting Room The Byre
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Excellent
76 reviews
The Byre
Sitting Room
The Byre
Kitchen
The Byre
Dining Area
Sitting Room
Sitting Room
Local Produce!
Hall
Bathroom
Bedroom
Bedroom
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Enquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Barn -
1 Bedroom, 1 Bathroom, Sleeps 2
Cheddar, Somerset, England

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 76 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
English first
Any
English first
tiggz92
Berkhamsted, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“The perfect home from home!”
Reviewed 13 February 2017 for a stay in February 2017

My partner and I stayed here for a weekend break and what a treat it was! The cottage is finished to an exceptionally high standard with everything you could possibly need! Fantastic hosts that provided a great welcome basket. Being February, the weather was a bit chilly, but we had wonderful evenings spent relaxing and warming up in front of the log fire! It really was the most peaceful, idyllic retreat! We would reccommend it to everyone and we will most definitely be booking again!

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bethany M
Blackburn, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Home from home”
Reviewed 28 November 2016 for a stay in February 2016

From the moment we arrived we was made to feel welcome. Great location and stunning view from the garden. Very clean and lovely hosts. We will definitely book again!

Your age range 18-24
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
A TripAdvisor Member
1 review
“Very high standard, every thing you needed and fab location.”
Reviewed 3 November 2016 for a stay in October 2016

We had a great week the weather was perfect for the time of year. The cottage was lovely, very clean and comfortable and to a high standard. There were lots of nice places to visit , for us to see the European Cranes on the levels was extra special. Charlotte and Nigel were great and we loved the goodies basket.

Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Fizz24
Shipley
Level 3 Contributor
11 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“A prefect place to hideaway and relax”
Reviewed 1 November 2016 for a stay in October 2016

The Byre is a beautiful cottage set in the Somerset countryside. It has everything you need for a peaceful week away. The owners were lovely and made us really welcome. The cottage is ideal for exploring the area.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The cottage is beautifully decorated and equipped.
Liked least: For safety you need to use the car to go out in the evening as the roads around the cottage have no pavements and are narrow.
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Older travelers People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lisa H
London, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
“PERFECT IN EVERY WAY”
Reviewed 22 October 2016 for a stay in October 2016

This gorgeous getaway is perfect in every way. The Byre is comfortable and cosy, larger than expected and decorated and equipped to a high standard. There was plenty of room for our Labrador too and we enjoyed snuggling down in front of the wood burner every night. Our hosts were wonderful. Charlotte welcomed us with a delicious home-made lemon drizzle cake and Nigel keeps their large garden looking beautiful. It was a joy to wander around it. The location couldn't have been better. So many brilliant walks around the stunning Mendips and close to Cheddar with all its iconic attractions. We were spoilt for choice and needless to say, didn't get around to doing everything we wanted to as there is so much to do. Our car broke down whilst we were there and Charlotte kindly offered to drive us into town so that we weren't stuck but to be honest, it gave us a chance to do another walk! We would definitely return to The Byre but in the meantime, are happy with our lovely memories.

Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Emma K
Bury St Edmunds, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
“Home away from home”
Reviewed 11 October 2016 for a stay in October 2016

A peaceful and idyllic retreat, The Byre offered everything we could need.
The cottage is finished to a very high standard and the welcoming touches made for a lovely getaway from day to day life.
Although we did not get the opportunity to sit outside and enjoy the garden, many an evening we left the curtains open until dark in order to enjoy the view.
I would not hesitate to recommend this property to friends and family.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Anita R
St Albans, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Superb rental, couldn't fault it.”
Reviewed 21 August 2016 for a stay in August 2016

The accommodation was excellent, unusually spacious, with a beaurtiful home from home kitchen with everything you could possibly need. Personally loved having a gas hob as that's what I'm used to. Lovely outlook from lounge to owners back garden with own little patio to sit out on. The owners were perfect hosts - giving us all the information of the surrounding area we could ever need, including some beautiful local walks. One of the best places we have stayed at on our trips around England.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Older travelers People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a holiday rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing