We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Super bungalow accommodation in a great location”
The Orchard
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
The Orchard
Driveway view Lounge
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Excellent
19 reviews
The Orchard
Driveway view
Lounge
Lounge
Lounge
Kitchen
Master Bedroom with ensuite
Double Bedroom
Triple Bedroom
Triple Bedroom
Entrance
Hallway
Bathroom
Garden
stunning scenery around Cheddar Reservoir. excellent walk
Cheddar Gorge Bus Tour
Cheddar Gorge in all its splendor
Goughs Caves, Cheddar Gorge
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Enquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Cottage -
3 Bedrooms, 2 Bathrooms, Sleeps 7
Cheddar, Somerset, England

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 19 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
English first
Any
English first
SusanQ24
Gloucestershire
Level 6 Contributor
107 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
“Super bungalow accommodation in a great location”
Reviewed 20 November 2015 for a stay in November 2015

Extremely spacious and comfortable 3 bedroom (very comfortable beds) bungalow in a private and quiet setting, superbly situated for exploring Somerset. Wonderful, helpful hosts live next door; they are very quiet/discreet. A Costcutter shop and petrol station are 3 minutes walk away. There are plenty of good restaurants nearby. Cheddar Gorge and Caves are a few minutes away by car and are well worth a visit. The beautiful town of Wells is only a few miles away, with its wonderful cathedral and Bishop's Palace as well as a great market on a Wednesday and a Saturday. There are lots of good shops in Wells, too, and delightful coffee shops and eateries.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Space and comfort
Travelling group: Friends
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway People with disabilities
Older travelers Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mitcham, United Kingdom
Reviewed 13 October 2015 for a stay in September 2015

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: It was clean comfortable and felt like home
Travelling group: Extended Family
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway People with disabilities
Older travelers Families with young children
Large groups
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveller and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Ruth G
St. Asaph, United Kingdom
1 review
“A Gem of a property!!!”
Reviewed 10 September 2015 for a stay in August 2015

We had a fantastic stay at 'The Orchard', the property is in a perfect location with the Cheddar Gorge and Caves just a 5 min walk around the corner and the village centre just a 10 min walk down the road. The bungalow was immaculately clean, very well presented and is deceptively spacious with large rooms, we were a party of 6 adults and a baby and never felt on top of one another. The owners Carol and James had thought of everything and were very kind having bread and milk waiting for us on our arrival, they also provided us with very useful information about local pubs, restaurants and attractions. There are so many things to see and do in the local area - we enjoyed visiting the Gorge & Caves, took trips out to Wells, Weston and Street and had a fun day out on the West Somerset Steam Railway. There is so much more we would have liked to have seen and done that we will have to make a return trip sometime in the future and there's no question as to where we would stay - No Brainer!!! The Orchard - don't know why anyone would consider staying anywhere else!

Travelling group: Extended Family
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Amanda B
Uckfield, United Kingdom
1 review
“So glad I chose this property for our holiday”
Reviewed 1 September 2015 for a stay in August 2015

The owners were welcoming and relaxed on our arrival and milk and bread was a very thoughtful touch. They were very helpful with local knowledge plus the property was well stocked with leaflets of local places to enjoy which was useful. Despite their proximity, they left us to our own devices and we were able to enjoy full privacy. The property was brilliantly located and we were able to walk into Cheddar and local pubs for evening meals, even at the pace of our 3 year old. However, the best thing of all was that the property was immaculately clean! I travel with a tiny bottle of Jif and I certainly did not need it here! Especially lovely to be able to relax and not worry about grime when one has young children in tow. I would definitely recommend this property, we had a lovely stay.

Travelling group: Young Children
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lynne P
Urmston, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Perfect location for a great holiday”
Reviewed 10 August 2015 for a stay in August 2015

We arrived to be greeted by Carole and James (the owners) who had kindly left us bread, milk and a card and gift for our daughter's birthday- a great start to our time in "The Orchard".
Carole is a font of local knowledge and gave us lots of advice on where to go and places to eat (The Bath Arms does exceptionally good food). The bungalow was spacious, well equipped and had two bathrooms (one on suite) which is must with two teenage children. Due to its location there is much to do- Cheddar Gorge is a 10 minute walk away(this saves all the car parking fees) with a variety of activities and attractions (climbing, Jacob's Ladder, Gorge walk and Gough's Cave to name a few). Bristol is within easy reach to go Banksy spotting and hunting Shaun the Sheep (on the day we went they had run out of maps so download one before you go). Other attractions within easy driving distance include Wells (market and stunning cathedral), Weston (sand sculptures and beaches), Glastonbury (walk to the top of the Tor) and Longleat (it's an expensive day out but well worth the money- it's a must to feed the deer!). Overall it was a fantastic holiday with excellent accommodation, very friendly but not intrusive owners and lots to do and see . We would highly recommend this bungalow and will definitely be heading there again.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Kitchen & utensils
Travelling group: Teenagers
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
LisaWB
Hertfordshire
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Fantastic bungalow and location.”
Reviewed 30 August 2014 for a stay in August 2014
1
person found this review helpful

We had an amazing week staying in this bungalow. Extremely well equipped, clean and very spacious. The owners gave us some very good recommendations for places to eat/ things to do etc. Cheddar is a great location, beautiful walks and lots to do. Our four year old daughter loved it and so did we! We had both sets of grandparents with us and the cottage was perfect.

Value Rooms
Location Cleanliness
Service
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Gillian H
Larkfield, United Kingdom
2 reviews
“Wonderful Bungalow”
Reviewed 27 September 2013 for a stay in September 2013

A wonderfully spacious bungalow. Plenty of room for all the family, very clean and well equipped. Location could not have been better, just a short walk to the bottom of the Gorge and restaurants and only a little further into Cheddar Village. Landlords were very helpful pointing out what the area had to offer along with tips on where best to eat. We as a family had a lovely time and would not hesitate on re-booking for another holiday.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The properties location.
Liked least: Found the kitchen a little small for 4 adults and a toddler.
Travelling group: Extended Family
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a holiday rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing