We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“I recommend the cream tea!”
Review of Edelweiss

Edelweiss
Ranked #6 of 44 Restaurants in Cheddar
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: Cafe, British
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Local cuisine, Child-friendly, Kids, View
Dining options: Breakfast, Brunch, Lunch, Accepts Mastercard, Accepts Visa, Free Off-Street Parking, Highchairs Available, Outdoor Seating, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Takeout, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Description: Edelweiss is a popular and long established family run cafe serving breakfasts, home-cooked meals, light bites, teas and real barista made coffees. It is open seven days a week until late lunchtimes, increasing to 5pm during the summer. Wheelchair, Children and Dog friendly.
Weston-super-Mare, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
140 reviews
77 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 53 helpful votes
“I recommend the cream tea!”
Reviewed 27 May 2014

We called into Cheddar on our way back from a day out and just wanted a small sweet bite to lift our blood sugar as we were planning to have dinner shortly. We chose one cream tea and a second pot of tea and split the scone. It was excellent. The girl in front of us in the queue to pay commented that it was the best scone she'd ever eaten and the cashier was really pleased. This is a nice olde worlde cafe with pots of tea and extra water on offer, ideal for the thirsty traveller!

  • Visited May 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Carol739
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

206 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    147
    44
    8
    1
    6
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Witney, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Late tea at Edelweiss”
Reviewed 3 May 2014

After a long day my wife and I decided to have tea at Edelweiss, despite them about to close we were invited in and treated to a very nice, generous portioned meal. Would recommend eating here to anyone.

  • Visited May 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Sherwood_ranger2014
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kettering, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
20 reviews
10 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Tasty specials and great service”
Reviewed 21 April 2014

Restaurant was busy but staff were attentive and the food didn't take long to arrive. Ordered off the specials menu and have to say the beef in a home made garlic and mushroom roll was superb and great value for money. The cream tea looked fab too!

Visited April 2014
Helpful?
Thank Paul C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Truro, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
15 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Cream tea”
Reviewed 27 February 2014

Superb scones one of the best cream teas we have eaten! Staff friendly and good value, must be good people were booking for a table

Visited February 2014
Helpful?
Thank John L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Stourport-on-Severn, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
115 reviews
53 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 50 helpful votes
“What a Gem!”
Reviewed 12 February 2014

My husband and I called in at Cheddar after a couple of days away in Yeovil. What a lovely surprise to find the Edelweiss, with its own parking, and lovely food. It was very busy when we arrived, but we found a table and were served by a very friendly efficient waitress. The Tea Room was lovely and cosy, fresh and very clean. Will definitely visit again when we are in the area.

Visited February 2014
Helpful?
Thank 397ValH
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Edelweiss also viewed

Cheddar, Somerset
Cheddar, Somerset
 
Cheddar, Somerset
 

Been to Edelweiss? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing