We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Nice for lunch ” 3 of 5 bubbles
Review of The Galleries Inn

The Galleries Inn
Ranked #34 of 44 Restaurants in Cheddar
Cuisines: Bar, British, Pub
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: View, Cheap Eats
Dining options: After-hours, Dinner, Breakfast, Lunch, Full Bar, Highchairs Available, Outdoor Seating, Seating, Serves Alcohol
Level Contributor
15 reviews
13 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
“Nice for lunch ”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 10 June 2014 via mobile

It's lovely to sit in the conservatory and the food was good. Very big portions but not amazing! Staff seemed friendly..

Helpful?
Thank Shelb87
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

149 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    51
    30
    19
    15
    34
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Polish first
  • Any
English first
Bath UK
Level Contributor
129 reviews
38 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 79 helpful votes
“Rough and Ready”
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 7 June 2014

Visited on a Friday afternoon and Cheddar was very quiet even though sun was out and warm. Loads of steps to get to the Bar etc and very basic and a little scruffy inside. Staff looked totally bored and not welcoming. Had a cream tea and my friend just had garlic mushrooms and a drink. Didn't take long to come but could not believe they had put the 2 small scones in the microwave and spoilt them totally. The mushrooms were very greasy and even though they were hot they plonked them on top of the salad - very strange!!. Not the best. Tables outside where we sat were covered in dirty glasses and looked as though the staff were all sat just outside the bar door smoking and chatting and a bit scruffy and made no effort to tidy the place up. Will never visit again even though I only live within 20 miles of the place.

  • Visited June 2014
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
1 Thank pauliecat
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
58 reviews
30 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
“Spicy tortilla surprise”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 31 May 2014 via mobile

A trip to chedder was not improved by our meal here. Three out of three baguettes were stale.
However the spicy tortilla chips were a great little addition.

Helpful?
Thank Sali-G75
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chigwell, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
2 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Worst Meal Ever! And I mean it...”
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 29 May 2014

Had the displeasure of eating here over the bank holiday weekend. Was dirty (dead flies all over the place too), and the food was just disgusting. We waited quite a while, I had the cheesy Nachos, which instead of coming with Sour Cream, Tomato Salsa and guacamole like any ordinary nachos, came with Mayo, BBQ Sauce and Sweet Chilli - not a good combination, added to the nachos being massively over seasoned in some thick powdery something or other it was actually inedible. People in my group had your "homemade" burgers, I find it incredibly hard to believe they are homemade, if so, the chef needs a serious talking too, both who had it were actually sick after eating them. Not a good experience, I do not recommend this place which is a shame as location wise it is lovely!

  • Visited May 2014
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
1 Thank KLang-Mundy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Truly awful experience”
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 27 May 2014

We had the misfortune of eating here whilst on a whistle stop visit to Cheddar. Looked like a great location right in the middle of the High Street. Dirty pub, dead flies everywhere, long wait for what I can only describe as the most awful lunch we have had in a very long time. Home Made Burgers? I don't think so....McDonalds would have been preferable.
I actually think that we chose the worst place in the whole of Cheddar! Is there a rating less that zero?

Visited May 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank Dianne L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed The Galleries Inn also viewed

 

Been to The Galleries Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing