We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A fantastic place for an amazing coffee and snack even if you are a meat eater!”
Review of The Sitting Room - CLOSED

The Sitting Room
Price range: US$3 - US$11
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Breakfast, Reservations
Description: We are a meat-free establishment offering a selection of vegetarian dishes, cooked on the premises using fresh wholesome ingredients sourced locally where possible, and organically grown
Bristol, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“A fantastic place for an amazing coffee and snack even if you are a meat eater!”
Reviewed 25 May 2014

I am local and this is my favourite place to go for a coffee, light lunch and a slice of delicious homemade cake. The vast majority of the food is homemade (even the bread!) and the atmosphere is cosy on a cold winters day or cool and pleasant on a warm summers day. The garden is beautiful and a lovely place to sit and eat if you like eating al fresco. I would recommend this café to all ages and all types of eaters. Go and see for yourself...you won't regret it.

  • Visited May 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank TheGorgeous4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
cheddarcott, Owner at The Sitting Room, responded to this review, 3 June 2014
Well thank you so much for posting such a brilliant review. You and our other customers who have posted reviews have one us a Certificate of Excellence 2014. So a special thank you!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

78 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    73
    4
    1
    0
    0
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Bristol, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“short tea break at the sitting room”
Reviewed 5 May 2014

Stopped off at the sitting room by chance staying in cheddar for the weekend. Really glad we did
The premises were really cosy ,the cakes were to die for and the staff were both efficient and friendly would definitely recommend and return

  • Visited May 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
2 Thank djpippers
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
cheddarcott, Owner at The Sitting Room, responded to this review, 7 May 2014
Hi there! So glad you enjoyed your tea time break with us! And many thanks for taking the time to write the review. We hope you manage to pop in again very soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
1 review
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“An amazing place to eat.”
Reviewed 5 May 2014

My 5th visit in the last 2 months and they have all been unbelievable, I have been with a party of 9 for lunch, we did pre order to make things easier and have popped in for a coffee and cake. The food is unbelievably delicious and all very reasonably priced. I can recommend you all go and try it for yourselves you will not be disappointed.

  • Visited May 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
2 Thank Celia c
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
cheddarcott, Owner at The Sitting Room, responded to this review, 7 May 2014
Hi Celia
Thank you for choosing The SItting Room to bring all your ladies - we really appreciate it!
We are so glad you enjoyed the food and we look forward to seeing you again very soon.
Best wishes
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Redhill, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Charming experience”
Reviewed 17 February 2014

Just passing through and a local recommended we try the "Sitting Room". He was right, we got a very friendly reception and we enjoyed a light snack and a pot of tea each at a reasonable price. It was a pleasure to visit a people-run business, not an anonymous chain. It was not the weather to sit in the garden, but doubtless it would be in summer. Parking is a slight issue, but there is a supermarket just round the corner where you can park cheaply (60p an hour) and you even get that back if you do your shopping afterwards! We'll be back.

  • Visited February 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
2 Thank Kevin T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
cheddarcott, Owner at The Sitting Room, responded to this review, 18 February 2014
Well hello Redhill, it was lovely to see you on Saturday and we are so glad you enjoyed your food and surroundings. The SItting Room is part of a village-wide scheme; spend £5.00 and we will refund your first hour's parking - so you don't have to shop in the supermarket if you don't need to, although I am sure they would appreciate your custom as much as we did! Best wishes Elaine & Chris
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cheddar, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Foody Treat”
Reviewed 14 February 2014

A warm and friendly cafe with an even warmer welcome. The food is carefully cooked and presented and mouth-wateringly delicious - so good even meat eaters find it a pleasure! Great coffees and a variety of teas and other drinks.....and then there's the cakes!!

Clockworkpenguin

  • Visited February 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
2 Thank Clockworkpenguin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
cheddarcott, Owner at The Sitting Room, responded to this review, 18 February 2014
Well done finding your way around Tripadvisor and thank you so much for your very sweet comments!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed The Sitting Room also viewed

 
Cheddar, Somerset
 

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing