We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Friendly, personal and great fun!”

Cave Climb - Day Tours
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: Specialist providers of caving, climbing and abseiling since 1988. Extremely experienced instructors with impeccable safety record. Licensed to provide activities to schools and youth groups. We tailor the activity to suit the customer - challenging sessions for adults groups - fun, safe and educational sessions for children - unusual and adventurous day out for family groups Based in Cheddar, Somerset.
Birmingham, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
3 attraction reviews
“Friendly, personal and great fun!”
Reviewed 13 August 2014

We met our guide Nicola and immediately got on really well. We had such a great personal trip and loved it so much we said we'd definately go back. After dropping into a hole in the ground, we scrambled and squeezed through crazy rock formations and along underground streams and found Nicky to be the perfect guide with a good sense of humour, care and a delight to chat with as we explored.

Prices we're good and information was clear. All the staff we dealt with we're more than friendly and generous with their time. I guess our only criticism was the barn where we got changed was pretty grim (with no toilets) - but if your not afraid to get dirty and involved, we couldn't recommend it more for non-expert enthusiasts and people interested in caving.

Visited July 2014
Helpful?
Thank phluxm
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

157 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    157
    0
    0
    0
    0
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Southampton, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
2 reviews
“Outstanding”
Reviewed 10 August 2014

We took 9 children caving between the ages of 11 and 15 for a truly adventurous day. Some of the younger kids were understandably nervous at the start but Rachel did an incredible job of building their confidence and putting them at ease. The caves were stunning and it was interesting to learn about their history too. I never expected so many slides, drops and tight gaps. The kids were buzzing and by the end they all thoroughly enjoyed themselves and commented it was one of the best days out we've ever had.
I am so proud of our achievement and I can't imagine having a better experience anywhere else. From the bottom of our hearts, Thank you.

Visited August 2014
Helpful?
Thank lukejhall
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bath, United Kingdom
1 review
“Fantastic time tailored to our ability”
Reviewed 27 April 2014

Myself and two friends (all 24) did a half-day caving in Swildon's Hole lead by Rachel. She quickly realised we were all quite fit and able, plus we said we wanted to be pushed. So Rachel made sure our caving route was challenging enough and in the 2-2.5 hours down there we manage to see a lot of the cave. I wasn't too sure what to expect, but the whole thing was truly amazing. Rachel also explained the history of the cave as we went along which was very interesting.
Some tight squeezes and cramped spaces made it a very exciting tour! (but she made sure we were ok doing those bits first). Only regret is not doing a full day and going further into the depths of Swildon's Hole.

Visited April 2014
Helpful?
Thank Robin W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
151 reviews
63 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 71 helpful votes
“Underground thrill”
Reviewed 20 April 2014

Forget the bright lights of Cheddar's show-caves: these guys will take you down to see the subterranean world as nature intended. They took me and my two teenage children down Swildon's Hole in the Mendips. Beautiful stalactites and eerie "moonmilk" on the ceilings.

The thrill comes from the stream that runs through the main passage - you will get wet. A bit of crawling through narrow tunnels and some easy climbing against the flow of water added to the adventure. Kids loved it. We did a two-hour trip, but longer trips can be arranged.

There are hazards, of course, in a trip like this. But our guide was hugely experienced and safety was number one.

Highly recommended!

Visited April 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank Holidaze2020
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Cave Climb - Day Tours also viewed

 

Been to Cave Climb - Day Tours? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing