We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Home from home!”

The Old Police House B&B
We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Cheddar
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
The Old Police House B&B
Ranked #3 of 12 Cheddar B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 2 September 2014

Myself and my husband have just stayed here for our wedding anniversary. As soon as we pulled up, we were greeted by the owner, Jackie who was very inviting, easy to get in with and very sweet. Nothing was too much trouble for her, you just needed to ask! We stayed in the cell, which is an annex outside but suited us better as we are night owls so liked the ease of coming and going without waking anyone up! The room was very clean, spacious and was furnished to a high standard for a b&b. There was coffee facilities, hot chocolate and home made biscotti which jackie had made herself (and was yummy!). Jackie was very considerate as she left coloured towels for me as i have dyed red hair and was worried about ruining them!
Breakfast is first class! So many options, vegetarian option and the quality of the produce is fantastic! also the dinnerware she uses is beautiful!
I can't rate jackie and this b&b enough! I wont be staying anywhere else when next visiting cheddar!

  • Stayed: August 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Grace G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (90)
There are newer reviews for The Old Police House B&B
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

80 - 86 of 90 reviews

Reviewed 26 August 2014

Sorry Jackie -meant to write this ages ago but was out of action for a while....we stayed here in June and Jackie turned our trip into a wonderful experience -apart from the lovely room and the home cooked delightful breakfast Jackie saved the day by driving us to the wedding when we couldnt get a taxi and the next day took us off for a trip to Wells Cathedral-all in her own time. So if you want to feel at home with a wonderful hostess then look no further than the Police House.
Will be back soon Jackie
Kevin and Helen

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank 325Kev55
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 August 2014

A wonderful B&B that I highly recommend to anyone visiting Cheddar. Jackie was fantastic - very welcoming and couldn't do enough for us. We stayed in the 'cell' which was far more luxurious than it sounds! Very comfortable bed, hot shower and great refreshments including wonderful home made Italian biscuits. Breakfast was delicious and extremely generous in portions which was just what we needed before our hike around the gorge. The B&B was also ideally located being only 5 minutes walk from the local amenities. A thoroughly enjoyable stay!

  • Stayed: August 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank Camilla E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 July 2014

Jackie and her husband have a lovely home in Cheddar. Our family enjoyed the stay very much and are excited to come back next time we are in England. The rooms are spotless and the meals were delicious. Jackie is so friendly and a wealth of information. We highly recommend this B&B to anyone who comes to Cheddar!! - The Carrow Family

  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled with family
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank DevonCarrow
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 July 2014

We stayed for one night and would highly recommend it. We had the double room in the main house which was clean and spacious with lots of light. The home made biscuits were delicious and the breakfast was healthy and plentiful. Members of my family stayed in the others rooms and Jackie made us all extremely welcome. Would definitely recommend.

  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Sarah S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 July 2014

We had a wonderful weekend staying at the Old Police House, thank you Jackie for taking such good care of us!

We stayed in the double room which was a good size (considering we brought our enormous suitcase with us) and had plenty of wardrobe space, tea and coffee facilities, a TV and en-suite bathroom. The whole house was just beautiful, very clean and obviously well looked after. Jackie was so welcoming and made the most AMAZING cooked breakfasts in the morning.

The loaction was perfect for us, just a 10 minute walk to the Gardner's Arms, where we had a lovely meal on Friday evening. It is also about a 5 minute walk to the centre and a 10 minute walk to the gorge.

We would definitely stay again if we come back to Cheddar. Steve says the homemade biscuits were great too!

Lizzie and Steve

  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled with family
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank ste_mcny
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 June 2014

We stayed two nights having found this excellent Bed and Breakfast by chance.
Jackie greeted us and we were impressed by how clean and comfortable her home was.The location is just a short walk from the centre of Cheddar where there are a number of pubs and restaurants .
Adequate on site parking.
The breakfast was delicious and probably one of the best we have ever eaten with fresh free range eggs and other locally sourced ingredients.
Jackie has a wealth of local knowledge and is more than happy to share with visitors which is helpful when you are only in the area for a few days.
This has to be one of the best Bed and Breakfast establishments in the area and will be our first port of call next time we are in the area .Highly recommended.

Room Tip: We had a double on suite which was very comfortable .
  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank evbr943
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Cheddar
6.0 mi away
Days Inn Sedgemoor M5
Days Inn Sedgemoor M5
#1 of 1 in Cheddar
655 reviews
5.9 mi away
Wookey Hole Hotel
Wookey Hole Hotel
#1 of 1 in Wookey Hole
1,046 reviews
4.8 mi away
Best Western The Webbington Hotel and Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
7.2 mi away
DoubleTree by Hilton Bristol South - Cadbury House
0.3 mi away
Gordons Hotel
Gordons Hotel
#2 of 12 in Cheddar
264 reviews
0.2 mi away
Bath Arms Hotel
Bath Arms Hotel
#1 of 12 in Cheddar
198 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Old Police House B&B? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Old Police House B&B

Address: Norville Lane, Cheddar BS27 3HJ, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Somerset > Cheddar
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free Parking Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 12 B&Bs / Inns in Cheddar
Number of rooms: 3
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Jackie and Tony look forward to welcoming you to their charming Bed and Breakfast Guest House situated in the heart of Cheddar. Located in the 19th century former police cottages, within easy walking distance of the Gorge and Caves, local shops, pubs, restaurants and the leisure centre. The spacious double bedroom has ensuite, central heating, colour television, hair dryer, towels, tea/coffee making facilities, complimentary toiletries and free wi-fi. The large single bedroom has an adjoining private bathroom. The room also has central heating, colour television, hair dryer, towels, tea/coffee making facilities, complimentary toiletries and free wi-fi. The cell, a double room with ensuite is an annex 5 metres from the house. The room also has heating, colour television, hair dryer, towels, tea/coffee making facilities, complimentary toiletries and free wi-fi. Our double rooms are £80 per night for Bed and Breakfast (£60 per night for single occupancy). The single room is £50 per night Bed and Breakfast We offer full english, continental and vegetarian breakfasts - all delicious. There is ample off road parking. Not suitable for children under 12 years of age. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
The Old Police House B&B Cheddar, Somerset

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing