We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Cheddar winter break”
other travellers have booked this property
Nestled into the side of Cheddar Gorge with panoramic views to Glastonbury Tor and the moors
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Nestled into the side of Cheddar Gorge with panoramic views to Glastonbury Tor and the moors
A brand new kitchen has been fitted in 2016 Set up for up to 6 guests
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Excellent
5 reviews
Nestled into the side of Cheddar Gorge with panoramic views to Glastonbury Tor and the moors
A brand new kitchen has been fitted in 2016
Set up for up to 6 guests
The emphasis is on comfort and relaxation
We know how important it is to get a good night's sleep - we provide top quality mattresses & linen
Spacious bedrooms - the doubles face the front with views to the Somerset levels
The bunk room sleeps 2 children
An oasis of calm yet just 5 minutes walk from Cheddar Gorge and the village restaurants and bars
You have access to a mature garden and plenty of space for children to have adventures
The cottage is protected by Scots Pines - a great place to while away an afternoon
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Enquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Bungalow -
3 Bedrooms, 1 Bathroom, Sleeps 6
Cheddar, Somerset, England

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 5 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
English first
Any
English first
vickywood...
Reading, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Cheddar winter break”
Reviewed 2 January 2018 for a stay in December 2017

I stayed here with my husband and 3 children of 1, 3 and 9 years old. The house is warm, comfortable and very well equipped. Plenty of space to relax and put things. The owners greeted us on arrival and made sure we knew how everything worked including the wood burner which was lovely to have. Plenty of towels were provided and it was great not to have to bring them. The beds were very comfortable and we all slept very well. My youngest had to be woken up! The TV had Netflix which was very handy. Vanessa had a left a little welcome basket of a bottle of cider, a chocolate log, some cheddar cheese straws and the cups were laid out ready for us to make tea which was very welcome.
There is information about walks that you can pick up from the house with no need to get in the car. Sadly we didn’t do any as our reason for visiting was viewing houses and the loca area but the surrounding countryside is breathtaking even from the car but if you can go walking do! It’s a short walk to town albeit down a steep hill that you have to walk back up but it’s short. This is to be expected for a house with those views on the gorge cliffs! I highly recommend the house as it’s a great price for a 3 bedroom place and Cheddar is a good place to base yourself for the mendips and Somerset levels.

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Nottingham, United Kingdom
Reviewed 27 August 2017 for a stay in August 2017

Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveller and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Andrew v
1 review
“Lovely house and setting, perfect for exploring the whole of Cheddar”
Reviewed 2 October 2016 for a stay in September 2016

Wonderful warm welcome to this clean and well presented cottage with views to Glastonbury Tor. Being located up the cliff side - perfect for walking straight out the back garden onto the top of the gorge or down the steep hill to all the restaurants, pubs, cafes and shops in the village. This location proved a great base for exploring Wookey Hole, Weston-Super-Mare and everything Cheddar has to offer (sweet and cheese making and ice creams galore). So plenty to do for families with young or teenage kids like us. The beds were so comfortable, and the location quiet that we all slept very well. If you didn't want to go far the cottage has a chest full of board/card games and the garden was delightful. The only negatives were the TV is on the small side by today's standards and the wifi connection is extremely slow at dial-up speeds. But I expect if you were like us, the walking and cream teas were much more of a draw!

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Location and comfortable beds
Liked least: Entertainment equipment
Travelling group: Teenagers
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Families with young children
People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
10 Oct 2016
Hi Andrew,
Thank you so much for the positive review and for being the ideal guests!
We were sorry to hearthat the wifi was so slow...I don't know why that should be but will certainly get someone in to look at it. I agree the TV is slightly smaller than some home entertainment units these days and again this is something we will look to replace over the next year.
We are really glad that you enjoyed yourselves when you were here and would love to welcome you and your family back again in the future!
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
BritNZ15
Level 3 Contributor
12 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Best night's sleep ever!”
Reviewed 8 May 2016 for a stay in December 2015

This was a last minute booking but it was such a lucky find and we will definitely be back! The cottage is warm and cosy - we loved the log burner in the lounge - and it was so nice and relaxing to stay there after a hectic build up to Christmas. We often struggle to get a good night's sleep when we stay somewhere unfamiliar but this was amazing. I wish we could have taken those beds home with us. Vanessa and Jerry were really welcoming and we loved playing with their dogs in the garden. The welcome basket of homemade marmalade and some eggs and butter was a really nice touch. Cheddar is lovely too - loads of walks and great views.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Service
Liked best: The cottage!
Liked least: Arghhh it rained all the time!! British weather!!
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
8 May 2016
Hi,
Thank you so much for the lovely review. I have to say we enjoyed having you, and the dogs in particular loved playing with you in the garden. Jerry and I would love to welcome you back any time, but perhaps next time you would enjoy a summer break when you can take advantage of all the wonderful walks we have right on our doorstep!
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bongoflap...
Weston-super-Mare, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
“Loved it!”
Reviewed 21 March 2016 for a stay in November 2015

This beautiful holiday rental home is set in a great location. If your plan is to situate yourself in the tranquil countryside and sample some of Somerset's lovely villages, yet be close to places like Bristol and Wells, you can't go wrong with Cheddar Holiday Cottage.

Right from the start, I remember our vacation with fond memories. The owners (and their dogs and cat) are lovely – they greated us and showed us into the building, explained how everything worked and reminded us if we had any questions, they'd be just next door. We settled in with a cup of tea and some cookies from the friendly little welcome basket left on the table. We stayed in November, so the accompaniment of the roaring log burner was welcomed :-)

We enjoyed some walks whilst taking in the breathtaking views of the Somerset Levels, after which, we were very appreciative of the use of the utility room – Somerset isn't always dry, so to know you have use of a utility room is brilliant! The cottage isn't far at all from the top of Jacob's Ladder, in Cheddar Gorge – just a few minutes walk from the bottom of the driveway. We like cheese, cider and cream teas, so it'd be rude not to wander into Cheddar Gorge and visit the local shops and cafés! If you're unsure what to do in the area, just take a look at the website where you can find lots of useful links.

To sum up, we felt very welcome during our stay. Everything was as explained and handled really well before we arrived and again when we were greated.

Value Rooms
Location Cleanliness
Service
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
8 May 2016
Hi,
Thank you so much for your kind words about our holiday cottage. We have tried to make is as comfortable for guests as possible so it's nice to hear that you had a good time. It would be lovely to see you both again, perhaps when the weather is dryer and you can take advantage of the views from the garden hammock!
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a holiday rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing
;