We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Nice building”

Psalter’s Restaurant
Ranked #11 of 17 Restaurants in Dunster
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: US$32 - US$54
Cuisines: British
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Local cuisine, Child-friendly, Business meetings, Special Occasion Dining, Romantic, Groups
Dining options: Dinner, Lunch, Accepts Mastercard, Accepts Visa, Free Wifi, Full Bar, Highchairs Available, Private Dining, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Waitstaff, Wine and Beer
Description: Psalter's Restaurant is named after the famous Luttrell Psalter, one of the best preserved medieval books now held in the British museum. Commissioned by Sir Geoffrey Luttrell in the early 1300s, whose family owned Dunster Castle, much of the village of Dunster and two of the buildings that make up The Luttrell Arms, we felt it appropriate to mark our connection in this way. We hope that our restaurant will combine the historic legacy and character reflected in the ancient architecture so authentically preserved in the buildings of Dunster and the Luttrell Arms with the very best of today's British hospitality and cuisine. We believe in using local produce that is 100% traceable, involving as few food miles as possible. We pride ourselves on simple preparation and beautiful presentation. We also support the local economy wherever possible.
taunton
Level Contributor
13 reviews
11 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Nice building”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 29 July 2014

You really can't say anything negative about the place itself as it's full of character with a nice garden around the back to enjoy this cracking weather we're having here - all good.
Had food there which looked really nice and home made etc. but was just 'alright'. A bit bland to be totally honest. And a pint of Peroni lager was £4.60 which I think is a bit steep. I suppose the garden you have to sit in while drinking that said pint brings the price up ?

Visited June 2014
Helpful?
Thank andydTaunton
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

222 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    89
    62
    35
    23
    13
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
hertfordshire
Level Contributor
43 reviews
13 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 50 helpful votes
“Secret garden!”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 23 July 2014

We visited as a family of three last week and made our way to the enchanting secret garden which has lovely views of Dunster Castle. The bar food menu was good with a variety of options to suit all tastes. My only criticism would be that the food could do with a touch of seasoning (and that is really nitpicking I know!), but we will definitely be back for another meal if we are in Dunster again!

  • Visited July 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank gen1980
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
england
Level Contributor
99 reviews
77 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 70 helpful votes
“Great historical hotel”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 16 July 2014

Whilst visiting duster we looked out the Luttrell arms again we enjoyed it so much last time .they have redone the secret garden ,it is now so much bigger and more accesable ,this time we had vegetarian tagiatelle and crab and corrander cakes both were really excellent ,or be expensive ,the place ,staff and views are so good it's so worth finding ,try driving into the castle NT car park and walking across the path at the back which takes you straight into the garden the view of the castle is great .

  • Visited July 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank paul d
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
South Devon
Level Contributor
24 reviews
21 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Good Food and Good Service!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 14 July 2014

Ate in the bar. Two excellent caesar salads, one portion of chunky chips, mineral water, one glass of wine and a single espresso all for £30! Enjoyable food, good service and excellent value. We shall be back.

  • Visited June 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank WestbankSouthDevon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
South West England
Level Contributor
340 reviews
189 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1,357 helpful votes
“Lovely location, poor food”
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 25 June 2014 via mobile

Had a meal with friends and family in the garden which has a lovely view if the castle, plenty of space and good-sized tables. It is a lovely quirky building too. That completes the positive aspects.

A friend ordered the ribs and they were largely left as a result of the most incredible amount of fat underneath. I ordered the Cajun chicken burger and I have rarely had such a bland dish. The accompanying chips were not terribly warm either. Food is served on wooden "chopping boards" which, as trendy as it might be, always makes me feel uncomfortable in respect of hygiene.

A single person taking orders and manning the bar smacks of penny pinching when even the burgers are £12.

Star rating is for the location and view but the food is over-priced and seriously in need of better quality.

Visited June 2014
Helpful?
5 Thank KMR139
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Psalter’s Restaurant also viewed

Dunster, Exmoor National Park
Dunster, Exmoor National Park
 
Dunster, Exmoor National Park
Dunster, Exmoor National Park
 

Been to Psalter’s Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing