We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Fabulous”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Dunster Castle Hotel
Ranked #3 of 12 Dunster B&B and Inns
Chesterfield, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
23 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Fabulous”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 25 February 2013

We stayed on a short break deal. Cannot fault the care and attention we received for the whole stay. Delightful well appointed rooms (bit noisy facing the street), superb breakfasts cooked and presented to perfection. Evening dining was a treat with wide selection of wines and a small but ecletic menu deal. All this in a wonderful historic village.

  • Stayed February 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank NRH_11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

346 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    195
    82
    32
    18
    19
See reviews for
55
202
10
15
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (81)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Chester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
33 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 25 February 2013

Excellent food, welcoming staff. Did not feel rushed. Good value two course lunch. Thoroughly enjoyed the cider. Comfortable dining room. Toilets clean and well kept. The hotel was quiet but as it was Ferbruary and we deliberately chose to visit before the kids holidays it's what we expected.

Room Tip: Certainly go for the lunch menu offer.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Richard P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Nantwich
Level Contributor
31 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 February 2013

A very comfortable hotel with delicious food. Very helpful staff and a quiet night! Will be visiting again soon. Staff reorganised rooms so that my elderly aunt could be in the next room to my husband and I. Nothing too much trouble for them.

  • Stayed January 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Minicooperdogs
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Minehead, United Kingdom
2 reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 29 January 2013

Saturday 26th Jan we held my husbands 80th Birhday bash here, our family range in age from 80 to 10 yrs old, all 35 of us gave 10 out of 10 for the whole evening, food fabulous, bar prices reasonable, staff wonderful from Tim (manager ) James ( chef ) to waitresses, bar staff, oh everybody. We took over hotel ( all rooms ) people travelled from all parts of country, I can honestly say this hotel can in no way be faulted. THANK YOU so much for the best evening and stay ever. may you go from strength to strength.

  • Stayed January 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank maureen m
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cheshire, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
55 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 46 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 23 January 2013

If you are looking for lovely homely food and a nice roaring fire to go with it then you will go to the right place if you call in here. We didn't arrive for lunch until after 3 but that wasn't a problem and the meals were excellent.

  • Stayed December 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Ally F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lincs
Level Contributor
128 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 86 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 December 2012

Our crowd took over the hotel for the weekend, and were delighted by the experience. The manager and his wife are charming, and certainly know how to party! The rooms are spotless, beds comfortable, warm and welcoming. The bar, into which locals come, has pub prices (rare in my experience) and breakfast was very good indeed. I will definitely stay here again, and cannot recommend the place highly enough. Outstanding!

  • Stayed December 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank TheBlade
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bristol, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
345 reviews
62 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 131 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 8 November 2012

Called in to see advertised bar menu as we were in Dunster but didn`t want to eat in a restaurant necessarily. We were surprised to be told that the bar meals in the evening were the same as those in the restaurant and the same price, despite the different surroundings. Its a shame they don`t provide reasonably priced bar meals in the evenings for those of us who want something simple.

  • Stayed October 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank travelfan46
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Dunster
0.1 mi away
The Luttrell Arms
The Luttrell Arms
#1 of 2 in Dunster
4.5 of 5 bubbles 648 reviews
0.1 mi away
Yarn Market Hotel
Yarn Market Hotel
#2 of 2 in Dunster
4.0 of 5 bubbles 180 reviews
2.0 mi away
The Beach Hotel
The Beach Hotel
#1 of 14 in Minehead
4.5 of 5 bubbles 247 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.2 mi away
Northfield Hotel
Northfield Hotel
#3 of 14 in Minehead
4.5 of 5 bubbles 202 reviews
0.1 mi away
Stags Head Inn
Stags Head Inn
#7 of 12 in Dunster
4.5 of 5 bubbles 231 reviews
0.1 mi away
Exmoor House
Exmoor House
#2 of 12 in Dunster
5.0 of 5 bubbles 210 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Dunster Castle Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Dunster Castle Hotel

Property: Dunster Castle Hotel
Address: 5 High Street, Dunster, Exmoor National Park TA24 6SF, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Exmoor National Park > Dunster
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 12 B&Bs / Inns in Dunster
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — Dunster Castle Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 8
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Dunster Castle Hotel is situated at the base of Dunster Castle itself and faces on to the cobbled medieval High Street. The recently refurbished hotel is under new ownership since June 2016 and has quickly established itself as a luxury boutique hotel and restaurant. All rooms are en-suite and vary from compact budget through to luxurious super-kingsize, and feature SMART TV's, free super-fast broadband, USB charging points, tea/coffee facilities with homemade biscuits, quality amenities, and complemented by stylish designer fabrics. Most, overlook the cobbled high street. The restaurant has the fastest growing reputation in the area for delivering exceptional food sourced from local ingredients complimented by exceptional service in exquisite surroundings. The hotel has the only private car park in Dunster and is free to guests. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Ebookers, Booking.com, TripOnline SA, LateRooms, Hotels.com, HotelsClick, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your Dunster Castle Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Dunster Castle Hotel Somerset

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing