We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Friendly hotel in lovely location” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Dunster Castle Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Dunster Castle Hotel
Ranked #3 of 13 Dunster B&B and Inns
Camberley, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
321 reviews
47 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 193 helpful votes
“Friendly hotel in lovely location”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 24 May 2013

Enjoyed a warm welcome at this friendly hotel on the high street in lovely Dunster. Well worth a walk around the village with plenty to see and wonderful Exmoor countryside on your doorstep. Evening meals a bit disappointing but a top notch breakfast. Cellar bar area could be made more attractive but decent enough ale. The Stags Head nearby another good watering hole but very small, Foresters Arms a little further round the corner not particularly nice.

Room Tip: Attic room on top floor. (No.6) not the most luxurious but definitely more than sufficient for a sol...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, travelled solo
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank SherpaP
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

333 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    185
    79
    32
    18
    19
See reviews for
52
195
10
15
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (78)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Birmingham, England, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
183 reviews
54 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 124 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 19 May 2013

We have just returned from two nights at the Hotel, celebrating my Dad's 70th Birthday. We were made to feel very welcome right from the start and, throughout, the staff were friendly and helpful.

The rooms were gorgeous- full of character. Our party had 3 rooms and each was decorated very tastefully. The bar was very quirky (we loved the hats!) and the restaurant beautifully decorated- the whole atmosphere was warm and relaxed.

The Hotel is very central- right in the centre of beautiful Dunster and near the village shops and Castle.

We had two breakfasts and an evening meal at the Hotel and we would very highly recommend both. Very good, friendly service and amazing food!- Honestly some of the nicest we have had.

An excellent Hotel which we hope to return to.

  • Stayed May 2013, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Emma H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Newton Abbot
Level Contributor
35 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 12 May 2013

I love this hotel and the staff, from the moment you enter Tim and Chantelle make you feel very welcomed. There is a lovely cosy bar. Once shown to our room you realise the attention to details is second to none, the beds are so comfortable, the bed linen good quality, the chocolates on arrival are local, and the bedrooms are very spacious. This is a good location to explore Somerset. The food in the restaurant is the best I have had for a while, it was simply delicious. I would recommend this hotel time and time again. Don ot be put off by some of the other comments, if you dont enjoy your stay here I will be so surprised, try it and see.

  • Stayed May 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank ladyBling
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Abingdon, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
36 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 17 April 2013

We stopped in for lunch having just visited Dunster Castle. The sandwiches were superb - imaginative and well presented - and the service was excellent. We ate in an attractive, well presented restaurant that had clearly been refurbished to a high standard. Would go again - highly recommended.

  • Stayed April 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank hurududu
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Weymouth, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 8 April 2013

We have just stayed in a standard room on the top floor of the hotel. Didn't realise this when booking, there were 32 steps, so not good for anyone with mobility problems. So my advice is please check in advance. Sadly the toilet did not function properly, reported it on the first day and although temporarily fixed the same problem occurred for the rest of our stay. We had to give up on the shower, which was either scorching hot or freezing cold. We had the church on the one side of us, great if you want an early wake up call at 5am!! and the main road through Dunster on the other side. Traffic lights outside the hotel so all the vehicles, which include lorries, tick over right outside! One night was "open mic nite" and found two of the "contestants" practising on the stairs outside our room. Bathroom not serviced on our second day. Only had breakfast, which was okay, but nothing special. Staff very pleasant though. Sadly won't be back.

Room Tip: Pay the extra if you really want to stay at this hotel and do not book a standard room.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Pearl040
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Exeter, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 April 2013

We booked our wedding breakfast and reception here after getting married in dunster church in march and it was fantastic. Thy we're relaxed and flexible yet efficient and attentive to our needs. The food was fantastic we opted for the platinum package which was enjoyed by all. The reception room was just the right size for the number of guests and is a beautiful room. My only criticism was that here seemed to be some kind of mix up with the guest rooms but that appeared to be quickly resolved. Breakfast was beautiful an again the hotel was relaxed about check out and very accommodating through out our stay. Would definitely recommend this hotel and I m very much looking forward to booking a romantic get away there soon!

Room Tip: Pay the little extra or the deluxe rooms and take ear plugs!
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Kempy090313
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 30 March 2013

I stayed for one night here on Good Friday and had such a lovely time I wanted to leave a review. The staff were so kind to me and even allowed my parents to have coffee and toast while I ate my breakfast, free of charge, as I was staying alone. The rooms are beautiful and extremely clean plus it is a bargin at £60 per night. I have stayed in much more expensive hotels which were no where near as nice or well decorated. Would recommend to anyone looking to stay in the area, well worth a visit.

  • Stayed March 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Rosie172008
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Dunster
0.1 mi away
The Luttrell Arms
The Luttrell Arms
#1 of 2 in Dunster
4.5 of 5 bubbles 635 reviews
0.1 mi away
Yarn Market Hotel
Yarn Market Hotel
#2 of 2 in Dunster
4.0 of 5 bubbles 180 reviews
2.0 mi away
The Beach Hotel
The Beach Hotel
#1 of 14 in Minehead
4.5 of 5 bubbles 240 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.3 mi away
Northfield Hotel
Northfield Hotel
#3 of 14 in Minehead
4.5 of 5 bubbles 198 reviews
0.1 mi away
Stags Head Inn
Stags Head Inn
#7 of 13 in Dunster
4.5 of 5 bubbles 229 reviews
0.1 mi away
Exmoor House
Exmoor House
#2 of 13 in Dunster
5.0 of 5 bubbles 207 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Dunster Castle Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Dunster Castle Hotel

Property: Dunster Castle Hotel
Address: 5 High Street, Dunster, Exmoor National Park TA24 6SF, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Exmoor National Park > Dunster
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 13 B&Bs / Inns in Dunster
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:4 star — Dunster Castle Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 8
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Dunster Castle Hotel is situated at the base of Dunster Castle itself and faces on to the cobbled medieval High Street. The recently refurbished hotel is under new ownership since June 2016 and has quickly established itself as a luxury boutique hotel and restaurant. All rooms are en-suite and vary from compact budget through to luxurious super-kingsize, and feature SMART TV's, free super-fast broadband, USB charging points, tea/coffee facilities with homemade biscuits, quality amenities, and complemented by stylish designer fabrics. Most, overlook the cobbled high street. The restaurant has the fastest growing reputation in the area for delivering exceptional food sourced from local ingredients complimented by exceptional service in exquisite surroundings. The hotel has the only private car park in Dunster and is free to guests. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com and HotelsClick so you can book your Dunster Castle Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Dunster Castle Hotel Somerset

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing