We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Lovely Stay”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Dunster Castle Hotel
Ranked #3 of 11 Dunster B&B and Inns
Devon, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
9 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Lovely Stay”
Reviewed 15 August 2014 via mobile

Hotel room was clean, good nights sleep, lovely breakfast. Staff very friendly, location although being in High Street was nice and quite at night even with window open. Menu was well presented and food to a very high standard.

Stayed August 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank ALIDJ1973
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

355 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    203
    83
    32
    18
    19
See reviews for
57
209
10
15
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (81)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Crewkerne, United Kingdom
1 review
Reviewed 9 August 2014

My husband booked this hotel for us to stay for one night for our Anniversary. It was a brilliant choice! Grant, Jo and their staff were very welcoming, friendly and efficient. Our room was beautiful, it was clean, well furnished, including a Super King bed and had a lovely view of the gorgeous town of Dunster. We had a wonderful evening meal in the hotel restaurant. The food quality was excellent, the cheesecake was the best we have ever had! The waitress was very friendly and helpful. The location was perfect for us to be able to visit the Castle and grounds and take a trip on the steam train, both of which were very enjoyable. Thank you very much for making our Anniversary special. Paul and Cynth.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Paul D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Abingdon, Oxfordshire
Level Contributor
26 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
Reviewed 31 July 2014

My wife Viv and I booked the previous day online and went to this Hotel on the recommendation of friends. On arriving Grant the manager was very friendly and chatty. They have only been managing the hotel for three months but all is going well.
We decided to have a light lunch in the lovely sunny beer garden, then later went for a walk around the village and toured the beautiful castle up the hill.
When we came back we discovered that Grant had upgraded our room without asking, the "Avill" room was beautiful with a massive superking bed and tasteful decor. When we went down for dinner later, I mentioned that the hotel sign was squeaking outside our window. Grant immediately sorted this out for us; the dinner was lovely as well.
This was a very warm night and we felt the room was far too warm and needed the windows open, the bathroom was like a sauna even though the radiator was off. It was only in the morning that Grant explained that they had under floor heating in the bathroom, and it had “maxed out” all night. My advise is check the switch is off or you will cook too if the weather is warm! Another bit of advice is, let the hot water run in the bath for a minute or so as they have old pipes that can discolour the water, then it runs clear; well it is a very old and handsome building!
Lovely full breakfast served by our young waitress and then off for a steam train ride down the coast from Dunster station. Thank you very much Grant, Jo and your staff for a memorable stay, we will be back! Thank you for the friendly service too!

Room Tip: We stayed in Room 3 which overlooks the main road. Traffic stops at the lights right outside our win...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank BigTP
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 28 July 2014

I had 4 days at this lovely hotel. Travelling alone with no car this was the perfect place for me with easy access to local bus routes. My room was lovely, overlooking the street. The staff were always friendly and helpful. I found the waiter/waitress service to be extremely prompt and accurate. And even when she was rushed off her feet, the waitress found time to smile, check everything was alright and ask how my day had been. The food is wonderful and excellent value for money. I haven't had chips that good for years, and the smoked almond, pea, and blue cheese risotto was the best risotto I've ever had. I would definitely go back.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled solo
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Alison G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
24 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed 26 July 2014 via mobile

Didnt stay at hotel as just a local day trip. Went for an early lunch. 2 adults 2 kids. Had the best scampi and chips ever not from packets and obviously handmade tartar sauce. Kids menu good not just sausages and chicken nuggets! Free range eggs in the gammon. Service quick and friendly desserts to die for chocolate and raspberry brulee and lemon posset gorgeous. Will go again on next visit.

Stayed July 2014, travelled with family
Helpful?
Thank James C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dulverton
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 July 2014

Came here with the boyfriend our first official out the house date. Very friendly staff and atmoshere. I order elderflower press for drink but unfortunately they had none left in stock which is understandable, they offered me a cordial instead which was just as tasty.. Food was of very high standard, i had a warm chicken and bacon salad and the boyfriend had mussels, both meals were thoroughly enjoyed.
HIghly recommended, hopefully be back again for dinner...

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Nadz22C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Nottingham, England, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
28 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 July 2014

We spent one night at this hotel as passing through area -the staff were very welcoming. Food was very good (the salmon and scrambled egg for breakfast was amazing). The room was spacious but very warm. A fan was provided and was on when we arrived. The windows opened onto a very noisy road, which didn't really bother us for one night. The hotel was very clean and we would visit again. Good value for money.

Room Tip: rooms away from main road are quieter
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank TheKKKKteam
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Dunster
0.1 mi away
The Luttrell Arms
The Luttrell Arms
#1 of 2 in Dunster
4.5 of 5 bubbles 667 reviews
0.1 mi away
Yarn Market Hotel
Yarn Market Hotel
#2 of 2 in Dunster
4.0 of 5 bubbles 183 reviews
2.0 mi away
The Beach Hotel
The Beach Hotel
#1 of 12 in Minehead
4.5 of 5 bubbles 259 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.2 mi away
Northfield Hotel
Northfield Hotel
#3 of 12 in Minehead
4.5 of 5 bubbles 209 reviews
0.1 mi away
Stags Head Inn
Stags Head Inn
#6 of 11 in Dunster
4.5 of 5 bubbles 233 reviews
0.1 mi away
Exmoor House
Exmoor House
#2 of 11 in Dunster
5.0 of 5 bubbles 219 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Dunster Castle Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Dunster Castle Hotel

Property: Dunster Castle Hotel
Address: 5 High Street | Dunster, Dunster, Exmoor National Park TA24 6SF, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Exmoor National Park > Dunster
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 11 B&Bs / Inns in Dunster
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — Dunster Castle Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 9
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Dunster Castle Hotel is situated at the base of Dunster Castle itself and faces on to the cobbled medieval High Street. The recently refurbished hotel is under new ownership since June 2016 and has quickly established itself as a luxury boutique hotel and restaurant. All rooms are en-suite and vary from compact budget through to luxurious super-kingsize, and feature SMART TV's, free super-fast broadband, USB charging points, tea/coffee facilities with homemade biscuits, quality amenities, and complemented by stylish designer fabrics. Most, overlook the cobbled high street. The restaurant has the fastest growing reputation in the area for delivering exceptional food sourced from local ingredients complimented by exceptional service in exquisite surroundings. The hotel has the only private car park in Dunster and is free to guests. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Ebookers, Hotels.com, Priceline, LateRooms, HotelsClick and HRS so you can book your Dunster Castle Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Dunster Castle Hotel Somerset

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing