We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Homey”
Review of Stags Head Inn

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Stags Head Inn
Ranked #6 of 11 Dunster B&B and Inns
Cairns, Australia
Level Contributor
13 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“Homey”
Reviewed 12 February 2013

Really good value, excellent services and breakky. Very professional staff!! The owners give it that family feel and are very attentive to special needs. Highly recommendet and we will be back soon. The village is very charming with lots of attractions we didnt make it to the castle but will.

Room Tip: Ask for room 3
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank cristina62318
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

234 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    190
    29
    7
    6
    2
See reviews for
38
144
2
5
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (36)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
bristol
Level Contributor
52 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 January 2013

We stayed here on the 27th and the 28th of January. It was just as we had experienced before. The rooms were clean, tidy and inviting. There were tea and coffee making facilities provided, with biscuits. The evening food downstairs in the main lounge was excellent.It was fully booked for food on a Monday night ! I had lamb koftas and very nice they were too. One of our party had the venison pie, which was also enjoyed.My choice of ice cream was local clotted cream ice cream of which there was a choice of flavours.
,Weve been here a few times now and have eaten our way through the menu. We have never been disappointed. We have stayed in 3 different rooms and have always enjoyed our stay This is a listed building and has interesting features. All in all, most enjoyable weekend break.

  • Stayed January 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank betacam
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
37 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 January 2013

We travelled to Dunster for a wedding and spent 3 lovely nights at the Stags Head Inn. The breakfast was delicious and the room very comfortable, would definitely recommend a stay and hope to come back in the future.

  • Stayed January 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank rob106106
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Combe Martin, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviewed 21 November 2012

We run a shop and rarely get away. We had a delightful stay at the Stags Head from the evening meal we booked to the breakfast the following morning. Everyone was welcoming and friendly and the room was quirky but wonderfully clean & comfortable and a lot of thought had gone into the facilities available. Have stayed elsewhere in Dunster before but this would be our choice of venue when we next visit. If it is in better weather we intend to have a drink in the upstairs beer garden.

  • Stayed November 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Andy B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bristol, UK
Level Contributor
20 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 November 2012

This is a lovely, cosy pub in the beautiful medieval Somerset village of Dunster. The owners, Michael and Bernice, do everything they can to make you feel welcome and the bar staff are just as friendly. Our double room was cosy, romantic and decorated in keeping with the old building. Dunster is a perfect place to spend a weekend - we also chose to spend our all-too-short two day honeymoon here, and we didn't want to leave. We have often dropped in for lunch on day trips before, but the evening menu is really special - even if it wasn't for the lovely comfortable room and the pleasure of staying overnight in Dunster the dinner menu alone makes it worth staying at least one night!

Room Tip: they are all lovely - we peeked into the empty ones!
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank paulineBristol_UK
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bristol, England
Level Contributor
510 reviews
43 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 595 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 November 2012

We were a group of friends looking for lunch after a visit to Dunster Castle. This pub is in sight of the end of the road down from the Castle entrance which heads towards the watermill, rather than town centre. We went there by chance and were delighted - a comfortable bar area, very warm welcome, tables moved around to accommodate 9 of us and a good menu offering tempting food.
Serevice was very good and we were not kept waiting for our food despite turning up without a reservation - credit to the staff. Everyone was happy with their choice and we would return without question if in that area again.

  • Stayed October 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Chris H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London
2 reviews
Reviewed 5 November 2012

My wife and I have just returned from a short break after our wedding last week. We plan on going to India over xmas and new year but as we had just got married we really wanted to get away for a short romantic break following the wedding. We trawled the internet trying to find somewhere that was reasonable in price and situated in Exmoor so we could go for long walks during the day and sit down by the fire place in an old pub in the evening.

The Stags Head looked a nice place to stay so we booked up a couple of nights. When we arrived on the Tuesday following our wedding we were met with warm smiles by Mike and Bernice and their staff who showed us to our rooms and were only to happy to help with advice on the local area and for anything we might need during our stay. Our room (1) was really lovely and cosy. It was as clean as any I have ever seen with all the amenities one would need. We had a bottle of champagne with us already as it was a gift for our wedding we were provided with Champagne flutes and an ice bucket to take to our room.

The breakfasts were EXCELLENT! We were offered fresh fruit salad, yogurts and cereals to start with and then a full english. More than enough to set you up for a days walking in the forests and hills around Dunster. My wife is a vegetarian and on the first day we were there she could only have eggs on toast, The next morning she was offered veggie sausages, breakfast potatoes, eggs and grilled tomatoes. Mike & Bernice had obviously gone out of there way to accommodate her. The same goes for the meals of an evening. The veggie option wasn't suitable so the kitchen again went out of their way to make her something that she could eat. Of the 4 places we ate at in the village, It was simply the best food we had in Dunster... Go for the toffee apple desert if you are there for diner, its a real treat!!!

When we left we were offered genuine thanks for staying and Bernice even gave us some drinks for our long journey back to reality. It really was the perfect honeymoon short break. Really cant recommend the place highly enough... We said we would be back for our first year anniversary but I think it could be a lot sooner.

  • Stayed October 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Mulka
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Dunster
0.2 mi away
The Luttrell Arms
The Luttrell Arms
#1 of 2 in Dunster
676 reviews
0.2 mi away
Yarn Market Hotel
Yarn Market Hotel
#2 of 2 in Dunster
188 reviews
2.0 mi away
The Beach Hotel
The Beach Hotel
#1 of 12 in Minehead
270 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
17.0 mi away
The Rising Sun Hotel
The Rising Sun Hotel
#1 of 5 in Lynmouth
457 reviews
0.1 mi away
Dunster Castle Hotel
Dunster Castle Hotel
#1 of 11 in Dunster
100 reviews
0.0 mi away
Exmoor House
Exmoor House
#2 of 11 in Dunster
228 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Stags Head Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Stags Head Inn

Property: Stags Head Inn
Address: 10 West Street, Dunster, Exmoor National Park TA24 6SN, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Exmoor National Park > Dunster
Hotel Style:
Ranked #6 of 11 B&Bs / Inns in Dunster
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Stags Head Inn 3.5*
Number of rooms: 3
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Odigeo, Agoda and Priceline so you can book your Stags Head Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Stags Head Hotel Dunster
Stags Head Inn Dunster, Somerset

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing