We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Excellent food and service” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Stags Head Inn

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Stags Head Inn
Ranked #7 of 13 Dunster B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Warwickshire, UK
Level Contributor
158 reviews
110 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 153 helpful votes
“Excellent food and service”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 25 May 2013

We were staying at the Dunkery Beacon Hotel (see separate review) but got a taxi here on the Friday night. Very efficient and friendly service from start to finish - called in advance to ask them to email me a sample menu as not available on the website, and got a call back from very helpful man who explained that they had a problem with the email but he went through the menu with me over the phone. When we arrived the place was very busy but no faulting the service. We shared filo prawns to start which were delicious, garlicky and piping hot, then I had the venison and butternut squash pie and my husband the chicken, both very good, with a good and reasonably priced bottle of wine. Would certainly eat here again and, based on the food and service, would bear it in mind for accommodation also if we were in the area again.

Also very reasonably priced - meal as above including wine for £40.

  • Stayed May 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank alchemilla
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

229 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    187
    28
    6
    6
    2
See reviews for
38
140
2
5
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (36)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Lichfield
2 reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 24 May 2013

Fabulous four nights at the Stag's Head. Wonderful accomodation and food. Nothing was too much trouble for Bernice, Michael and all the staff. Those lovely touches like bottled water, sweets and biscuits on our hospitality tray were so appreciated. We love Dunster and have been many times before but can not imagine going again and not staying at the Stag's Head. Wonderful, we loved everything about our stay ( and my husband tells me that the beer is good as well !!!!!!!! )

  • Stayed May 2013, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank dandvbowen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
truro
Level Contributor
9 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 15 May 2013

Had a meal here on a monday night, I had the somerset chicken and my partner had a steak. Both our meals were fantastic, the staff were very attentive and made us feel very welcome. The service was brilliant from start to finish, would definitely suggest a visit to this fantastic pub.

  • Stayed May 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank cornwall111Truro
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Alweston, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
52 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 7 May 2013

We have just got back from four nights at the Stags Head, Mike and Bernice are friendly and caring hosts and make you feel very welcome, nothing was too much trouble. Would have liked a few more gluten free choices on the menu but the food was excellent as was our room with lovely touches even down to bottled water left daily. I cannot fault this place at all and would like to pass our thanks onto our hosts and their excellent staff, who, despite being very busy always had time to chat to you. A big fat gold star to you all.
If you want a clean friendly place to stay with excellent food you will do no better than book in at the Stags Head Inn in Dunster. many thanks. Frank & Anne B

Room Tip: I have read other comments that mention that the rooms face out onto the road, do not let this deter...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Anne B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Nottingham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
112 reviews
59 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 44 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 7 May 2013

We booked a two night midweek stay on the basis of Tripadvisor recommendations. The place is fabulous. From the welcome, to the rooms and the food, everything is top class. We stayed in room 3. The bed was huge and very comfortable. The little touches like sweets and biscuits in the room were appreciated. The room is like a Laura Ashley catalogue and is beautifully furnished. Even local church bells performing Matins at 6.00am did not put us off staying in this charming medieval village. we will be back !

Room Tip: We looked at a couple of the empty rooms in addition to ours and I there is nothing to choose - all...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Gerrymulvaney
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Caerphilly
2 reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 5 May 2013

We stayed in the Stags Head on 19th April 2013, this was our second visit, on a walking weekend. We chose to return as we had such a lovely welcome in October 2012.

On both occasions, we arrived early (at just gone 10am) they were so accommodating, providing us with a room to change into our walking clothes.

The rooms are spotlessly clean and warm and the owners think of everything you need from tissues to shower gel.

The food is excellent, on the first visit we chose to eat in the pub/restaurant in the evening. As it was so good the first time we chose to eat there again we weren't disappointed. The staff are very friendly and can't do enough for you and the atmosphere was brilliant.

  • Stayed April 2013, travelled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank sharon237
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Winnipeg, Canada
Level Contributor
7 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 18 April 2013

My sister is a great one for finding great places to stay when we visit her in England, but this time she outdid herself! The atmosphere at this inn is truly like coming home. The staff is so friendly and helpful and they really give 110% in everything they do. We had supper here our first night and of course breakfast the next morning, and the meals are really top notch. The rooms were great, with lots of character and the complimentary coffee/tea trays were really appreciated and well stocked. Can't think of too many places I've been that are at the same level as The Stags Head Inn - they really set the bar for other Inns/B&B's to strive for!

  • Stayed April 2013, travelled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Katima97
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Dunster
0.2 mi away
The Luttrell Arms
The Luttrell Arms
#1 of 2 in Dunster
4.5 of 5 bubbles 634 reviews
0.2 mi away
Yarn Market Hotel
Yarn Market Hotel
#2 of 2 in Dunster
4.0 of 5 bubbles 180 reviews
2.3 mi away
Northfield Hotel
Northfield Hotel
#3 of 14 in Minehead
4.5 of 5 bubbles 198 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.0 mi away
The Beach Hotel
The Beach Hotel
#1 of 14 in Minehead
4.5 of 5 bubbles 240 reviews
6.7 mi away
Lorna Doone Hotel
Lorna Doone Hotel
#1 of 2 in Porlock
4.0 of 5 bubbles 144 reviews
0.1 mi away
Dunster Castle Hotel
Dunster Castle Hotel
#3 of 13 in Dunster
4.0 of 5 bubbles 333 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Stags Head Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Stags Head Inn

Property: Stags Head Inn
Address: 10 West Street, Dunster, Exmoor National Park TA24 6SN, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Exmoor National Park > Dunster
Hotel Style:
Ranked #7 of 13 B&Bs / Inns in Dunster
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Stags Head Inn 3.5*
Number of rooms: 3
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Odigeo and Agoda so you can book your Stags Head Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Stags Head Hotel Dunster
Stags Head Inn Dunster, Somerset

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing