We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Pleasant evening with friends”
Review of Stags Head Inn

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Stags Head Inn
Ranked #5 of 10 Dunster B&B and Inns
Reviewed 27 July 2013

Had a really good pub dinner here. The prices were reasonable and the beer was well received by the men. The food was well presented and tasty and the staff were very friendly. Can recommend for a friendly night out.

  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Service
Thank Madrongirl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (236)
There are newer reviews for Stags Head Inn
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

104 - 110 of 236 reviews

Reviewed 22 July 2013

Had a wonderful weekend at the Stag and Hounds.We had .a Beautiful room with huge six foot bed it was very very clean and tidy with plenty tea coffee making facilities We had two evening meals both FIRST CLASS. The breakfast was superb every thing you needed to start a day exploring Exmoor.The Hosts were very welcoming and staff could not do enough for you.THANK YOU ALL

  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank John B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 July 2013

My partner and I stayed for two nights as part of a tour around the West Country. We both loved this atmospheric pub. The accommodation was great and spacious; the breakfast delicious and the hosts friendly and welcoming. We choose to eat at the pub the two evening we were there and were very impressed by the menu and the quality of the food. We enjoyed Dunster and should we return to the area we would both want to stay at the Stags Head again.

  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Sonia E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 June 2013

This lovely little Inn lived up to our expectations.... The welcome & service from the owners is second to none. Fantastic rooms that are kept spotless. The meals in the evening are above good "Pub Food". The breakfast is really good and offers everything you could want....Wouldn't stay anywhere else if we were going back to that area....Thanks.

  • Stayed: June 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Steve W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 June 2013

I visit this pub every year during Dunster Archery Week the menu provides variety, value for money and a lovely atmosphere. My local pub is a country pub but this is just superb. I wish I loved closer but will be back again next year, we book for the following year every time we leave. It's nice to see the same staff year in year out, their charism charm and sense of humour is just an added bonus.

Stayed: June 2013, travelled with friends
Thank Gemma U
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 June 2013

In a two year absence to this venue, the quality of the food has changed. Service was excellent, however the food gave us mixed reviews. Here's hoping to our next 2 year visit, the Stags Head has returned to its original excellence.

  • Stayed: June 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Service
Thank LD_Traveller00
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 May 2013

We were staying at the Dunkery Beacon Hotel (see separate review) but got a taxi here on the Friday night. Very efficient and friendly service from start to finish - called in advance to ask them to email me a sample menu as not available on the website, and got a call back from very helpful man who explained that they had a problem with the email but he went through the menu with me over the phone. When we arrived the place was very busy but no faulting the service. We shared filo prawns to start which were delicious, garlicky and piping hot, then I had the venison and butternut squash pie and my husband the chicken, both very good, with a good and reasonably priced bottle of wine. Would certainly eat here again and, based on the food and service, would bear it in mind for accommodation also if we were in the area again.

Also very reasonably priced - meal as above including wine for £40.

  • Stayed: May 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Service
1  Thank alchemilla
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Dunster
0.2 mi away
The Luttrell Arms
The Luttrell Arms
#2 of 3 in Dunster
725 reviews
0.1 mi away
Dunster Castle Hotel
Dunster Castle Hotel
#1 of 3 in Dunster
130 reviews
0.2 mi away
Yarn Market Hotel
Yarn Market Hotel
#3 of 3 in Dunster
201 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.3 mi away
Northfield Hotel
Northfield Hotel
#3 of 12 in Minehead
252 reviews
17.0 mi away
The Bath Hotel
The Bath Hotel
#3 of 5 in Lynmouth
245 reviews
2.0 mi away
The Beach Hotel
The Beach Hotel
#1 of 12 in Minehead
303 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Stags Head Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Stags Head Inn

Address: 10 West Street, Dunster, Exmoor National Park TA24 6SN, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Exmoor National Park > Dunster
Hotel Style:
Ranked #5 of 10 B&Bs / Inns in Dunster
Price Range: £69 - £86 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Stags Head Inn 3.5*
Number of rooms: 3
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Agoda and Priceline so you can book your Stags Head Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Stags Head Hotel Dunster
Stags Head Inn Dunster, Somerset

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing