We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great Hotel, great service!”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of Stags Head Inn

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Stags Head Inn
Ranked #7 of 12 Dunster B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Wales
Level Contributor
15 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Great Hotel, great service!”
Reviewed 7 January 2014

My wife and I stayed for two nights B and B last week. The room was comfortable, the food delicious and the service of the staff was flawless. Everyone who served us was cheerful and efficient. Can't wait to come back!

  • Stayed January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank dainsworth
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

230 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    187
    29
    6
    6
    2
See reviews for
38
141
2
5
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (36)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Witney, England, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
20 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 December 2013

Stayed here for a weekend a couple of weeks back. The owners assisted by their young and hardworking team will do whatever you need to ensure you have a good stay with them at the 'Stag'. Based on the South / Bottom of the Town, access to all that Dunster has to offer (Shops, Castle, Exmoor Visitor Centre, and Walking) is excellent.

Our room was very comfortable with quality bed linen, nicely decorated, warm and cosy. The En-suite was on the tight side, but your staying in a very old building with real 'character', so a small price to pay.

Dinner in the evening was lovely. Genuine 'Home Cooked Food', with quality local ingredients and well priced. Would have loved to try the Deserts, but just 'no room' so next time will skip the starter!

Some excellent real ales and breakfast the following morning kept to the same very high standard.

We have stayed in Dunster on several occasions over the last few months, and all in all, for friendliness. quality of accommodation and good food, this is our No1 choice!
Thank you.

Room Tip: I think they have 3 rooms. One of these might have a larger En-suite.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank KenSmale
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
NEWPORT
Level Contributor
34 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 51 helpful votes
Reviewed 11 November 2013

Nice meal. Excellent coffees. After our meal we decided to have liquor coffees. Corr! They were smashing. Lots of Amaretto and Baileys. The coffee itself was great too! The local cider comes highly recommended by my husband too!!

Stayed November 2013, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank ANGELA T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bath, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
12 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 November 2013

Our family wanted to stay in Dunster for the first time on holiday but had a job getting satisfaction in a number of places so we turned to trip advisor and noticed the ' stags head' as being very well spoke of with no negative comments and booked and subsequently had a great holiday.
Charming couple who, as per previous comments, do go out of the way to be helpful.
Comfortable beds and nice rooms/food.
Would certainly revisit and would recommend to others.

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank the-earl-of-wessex
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Newport, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
4 reviews
Reviewed 8 November 2013

We received a warm welcome from the barman on a cold, wet afternoon. The chicken in cider sauce with bacon and cheese was excellent with fresh, tasty veg on the side. The desserts sounded great too but we were too full to try them! Will definitely return on our next trip to Dunster.

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Stephanie P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Stourbridge, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 October 2013

Stayed here on the way to Cornwall, wonderful , helpful staff , great food , good price , soft bed , lovely buliding. these owners really care and its plain to see. no probs to go here again, very special place.

  • Stayed December 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank JAB180
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Devon
Level Contributor
78 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 October 2013

Can only thank everyone for making my wife's birthday meal so fantastic.

We had a great little table in the corner by the fire; the welcome was warm and friendly and the food was out of this world!! Fantastic strips of pork in a great sauce, and an unbelievably tender steak with fantastic home made chips!

The treacle tart and chocolate cheesecake were very tasty, and such a nice touch putting birthday candles in the treacle tart and the waitress singing happy birthday whilst serving it to our table.

A memorable and fantastic evening, and at a very good price as well!!

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank DixieDevil
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Dunster
0.2 mi away
The Luttrell Arms
The Luttrell Arms
#1 of 2 in Dunster
645 reviews
0.2 mi away
Yarn Market Hotel
Yarn Market Hotel
#2 of 2 in Dunster
180 reviews
2.3 mi away
Northfield Hotel
Northfield Hotel
#3 of 14 in Minehead
201 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.0 mi away
The Beach Hotel
The Beach Hotel
#1 of 14 in Minehead
246 reviews
17.2 mi away
The Seawood Hotel
The Seawood Hotel
#3 of 9 in Lynton
314 reviews
0.1 mi away
Dunster Castle Hotel
Dunster Castle Hotel
#3 of 12 in Dunster
339 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Stags Head Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Stags Head Inn

Property: Stags Head Inn
Address: 10 West Street, Dunster, Exmoor National Park TA24 6SN, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Exmoor National Park > Dunster
Hotel Style:
Ranked #7 of 12 B&Bs / Inns in Dunster
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Stags Head Inn 3.5*
Number of rooms: 3
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Agoda and Odigeo so you can book your Stags Head Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Stags Head Hotel Dunster
Stags Head Inn Dunster, Somerset

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing