We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Excellent Food, Service and Atmosphere”
Review of Stags Head Inn

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Stags Head Inn
Ranked #6 of 11 Dunster B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Aylesbury, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
88 reviews
38 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 66 helpful votes
“Excellent Food, Service and Atmosphere”
Reviewed 23 March 2014

We came here for dinner whilst staying in Blue Anchor.

Food was excellent. My boyfriend said it was the best steak he had ever had! Really enjoyable. The staff were great too. It felt like very friendly, like there was lots of locals and travelers all mixing together. Fantastic. Very good value.

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank NicolaTravels
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

233 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    189
    29
    7
    6
    2
See reviews for
38
143
2
5
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (36)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Tetbury
Level Contributor
23 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 11 March 2014

We stayed for a couple of nights last week and also ate in the pub each night. What stood out was the outstandingly friendly efficiency of the service from the whole team. The room (number 3) was excellent value and comfortable enough., Breakfast was generous with options other than the full English. Dinner was hearty and very good value with a good range of choice - quality pub grub rather than chi-chi gastro pub style. It appears deservedly popular as a dining pub with locals and was rammed both nights during our stay: the kitchen and waiting staff were well able to cope. Its a great location for visiting the the village and its environs. Parking very close to the Inn could well be a challenge in the high season.

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Peter N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Twickenham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
Reviewed 25 February 2014

We have been lucky enough to visit Dunster several times in the last few years and have visited at different seasons. The charming village with its castle is a magical place and we have also enjoyed the beach, steam railway , Minehead and trips to Exmoor , Lynton and Lynmouth and Porlock. The area has so much to offer. Our recent February half term break at the Stags Head only added to our delight. We felt privileged enough to be able to stay in this wonderful historic building and were more than delighted with the comfortable accommodation . Our rooms were lovely and brightly furnished , equipped with everything we could have wanted during our stay. The daily cleaning was to a high standard and the generous refreshments tray was restocked on each occasion . The owners could not have been more pleasant and helpful and the bar and restaurant staff always friendly and attentive despite being really busy in the evenings. We and the children really enjoyed the excellent food and looked forward to sitting by a log fire at the end of a busy day. The breakfasts were a real feast with plenty of choice of different foods to cater for all appetites . We had a lovely time and would definitely want to stay again.

  • Stayed February 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Frank R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bridgwater, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
17 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 February 2014

Recently had an anniversary meal at this Inn and was very pleased. We had a delicious meal and the staff were very attentive. Only problem was we sat by the kitchen door so it was a bit drafts at times. Good value though and thoroughly recommended. Make sure you book as it’s a popular place!

  • Stayed January 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Lovetovisit20
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chesterfield, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
18 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 February 2014

Excellent, friendly, attentive and efficient service and excellent food should be the fundamentals for pubs across the uk yet it is hard to find the ones who excel at both and on a consistent basis. The Stags Head in Dunster achieves both seemingly effortlessly although I doubt the busy staff wouldn't see it that way! Haha. They are the driving force behind this place I concluded. When you throw in the mix a picture postcard street and great ambience and Exmoor atmosphere inside the pub then it makes this place one to visit and one to enjoy. I visited with my 4 year old daughter and partner one Friday evening (we booked) whilst on holiday in the area. My only complaint, and it is a minor one was the lack of choice on the menu. Fortunately I found one dish I liked (non gluten free) otherwise it could have been a bit tricky. They do offer a range of gluten free meals too which is progressive and helpful. It is a minor niggle and I am a notoriously picky eater so overall I have to give this place the big 5 dots. Go if you get chance.

  • Stayed February 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank grumpydad492
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Wales
Level Contributor
15 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 January 2014

My wife and I stayed for two nights B and B last week. The room was comfortable, the food delicious and the service of the staff was flawless. Everyone who served us was cheerful and efficient. Can't wait to come back!

  • Stayed January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank dainsworth
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Witney, England, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
20 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 December 2013

Stayed here for a weekend a couple of weeks back. The owners assisted by their young and hardworking team will do whatever you need to ensure you have a good stay with them at the 'Stag'. Based on the South / Bottom of the Town, access to all that Dunster has to offer (Shops, Castle, Exmoor Visitor Centre, and Walking) is excellent.

Our room was very comfortable with quality bed linen, nicely decorated, warm and cosy. The En-suite was on the tight side, but your staying in a very old building with real 'character', so a small price to pay.

Dinner in the evening was lovely. Genuine 'Home Cooked Food', with quality local ingredients and well priced. Would have loved to try the Deserts, but just 'no room' so next time will skip the starter!

Some excellent real ales and breakfast the following morning kept to the same very high standard.

We have stayed in Dunster on several occasions over the last few months, and all in all, for friendliness. quality of accommodation and good food, this is our No1 choice!
Thank you.

Room Tip: I think they have 3 rooms. One of these might have a larger En-suite.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank KenSmale
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Dunster
0.2 mi away
The Luttrell Arms
The Luttrell Arms
#1 of 2 in Dunster
4.5 of 5 bubbles 666 reviews
0.2 mi away
Yarn Market Hotel
Yarn Market Hotel
#2 of 2 in Dunster
4.0 of 5 bubbles 183 reviews
2.3 mi away
Northfield Hotel
Northfield Hotel
#3 of 12 in Minehead
4.5 of 5 bubbles 209 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.0 mi away
The Beach Hotel
The Beach Hotel
#1 of 12 in Minehead
4.5 of 5 bubbles 259 reviews
2.4 mi away
Marston Lodge Hotel
Marston Lodge Hotel
#2 of 12 in Minehead
4.5 of 5 bubbles 220 reviews
17.2 mi away
The Seawood Hotel
The Seawood Hotel
#2 of 9 in Lynton
5.0 of 5 bubbles 317 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Stags Head Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Stags Head Inn

Property: Stags Head Inn
Address: 10 West Street, Dunster, Exmoor National Park TA24 6SN, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Exmoor National Park > Dunster
Hotel Style:
Ranked #6 of 11 B&Bs / Inns in Dunster
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Stags Head Inn 3.5*
Number of rooms: 3
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Odigeo, Agoda and Priceline so you can book your Stags Head Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Stags Head Hotel Dunster
Stags Head Inn Dunster, Somerset

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing