We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great hospitality”
Review of Stags Head Inn

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Stags Head Inn
Ranked #4 of 9 Dunster B&B and Inns
Reviewed 26 June 2014

We stayed here for a week and the staff were friendly, the food was excellent and the location perfect. We have already booked for next year and would highly recommend either for an overnight stay or just a meal

Room Tip: If you prefer a quieter room, 1A is in the back away from the road, but sadly not en-suite
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank GuernseySteve
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (241)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

80 - 86 of 241 reviews

Reviewed 24 June 2014

Visited on a Sunday evening to a reasonably quiet pub (which soon filled up) and received a nice welcome from the owner and the locals sat at the bar. We both chose the crab cakes and sirloin steaks and were not at all disappointed. The starters were very tasty and had a nice 'kick' to them and then the mains, the sirloins.....well ....these were superb they were some of the nicest steaks we have eaten in a very long time. They were cooked to perfection and so succulent nice and thick, none of 1/4 " rubbish often served in many places, this was very nice beef. It was accompanied by lovely steamed veg, chips onion rings and mushroom. An excellent meal and very well priced. If we are in the area again we will revisit.

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Paul7628
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 June 2014 via mobile

Used the pub as was next door to our B&B so was convenient as we were tired. Menu choice was changed as several items were not available. Although starters were good the Recommended main course replacement was ok. The beer was also only ok. Friendly enough staff but didn't feel inclined to revisit.

Stayed: June 2014, travelled as a couple
1  Thank Graham S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 June 2014

We took our American friends to this place for lunch whilst visiting Dunster, and all I can say is WOW!! Huge portions and lovely food for a very good price. Staff were excellent and the.place had a pretty decent selection of drinks on offer! Would hugely recommend this place if you are in the area... You will not be disappointed!!

  • Stayed: May 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Not-too-xabi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 June 2014

My husband and I stayed at the Stags Head for a wedding in Dunster. The room was lovely and super clean! The owners and the staff couldn't have been more helpful, the land lady even helped with the button holes of the groom, the best men and ushers. If you're looking for somewhere to stay in or near Dunster we highly recommend it.

  • Stayed: May 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Aereno
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 31 May 2014

We had a drink and dinner at the Stags Head, when staying in a cottage down the road for the weekend. Very cozy atmosphere, and really nice food. Was surprised as I thought it was just a pub! So, we ate here twice! Made to feel welcome, very friendly staff, and a fun place too. Highly recommended.

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank loudionne1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 May 2014

Very disappointed, place looked nice so thought we would have lunch here. Just gone midday and we were the only customers when we entered. We ordered our meals of 2 ploughmans and a round of sandwiches and sat down with our drinks. 40 minutes later we were still waiting for our lunch while watching other customers being served cooked food. Mentioned to the waitress how long we had been waiting and our food finally arrived another 10 minutes later and it was not worth the wait. A complaint was made on paying the bill but no apology forthcoming, so my daughter returned and complained again. She was told that the cheese in her ploughmans was an end peice so not at its best so did get the price of her meal refunded but again no apology. Love visiting Dunster but will not be visiting the Stags Head again.

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Service
1  Thank Nick T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Dunster hotels
0.2 mi away
Yarn Market Hotel
Yarn Market Hotel
#3 of 3 in Dunster
205 reviews
0.1 mi away
Dunster Castle Hotel
Dunster Castle Hotel
#1 of 3 in Dunster
143 reviews
0.2 mi away
The Luttrell Arms
The Luttrell Arms
#2 of 3 in Dunster
756 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.0 mi away
Exmoor House
Exmoor House
#2 of 9 in Dunster
239 reviews
0.2 mi away
Dunster Mill House B & B
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Stags Head Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Stags Head Inn

Address: 10 West Street, Dunster, Exmoor National Park TA24 6SN, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Exmoor National Park > Dunster
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 9 B&Bs / Inns in Dunster
Price Range: £71 - £84 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Stags Head Inn 3.5*
Number of rooms: 3
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Ebookers and Priceline so you can book your Stags Head Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Stags Head Hotel Dunster
Stags Head Inn Dunster, Somerset

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing