We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very Impressed”
Review of Stags Head Inn

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Stags Head Inn
Ranked #6 of 11 Dunster B&B and Inns
Portsmouth, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
12 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Very Impressed”
Reviewed 1 August 2014

Came upon by chance when visiting Dunster Castle today and delighted we did. Stopped for lunch and found a Gem. Main menu available as well as Lunch Menu so able to enjoy the Pulled Pork & Sage Pie (no wonder it's an award winner!) and Somerset Cider Chicken. Both served with perfectly cooked selection of veg. and well presented. Staff to be commended - very friendly and very able in spite of being very busy. Good wine selection at fair prices. Would definetly recommend and will return.

Stayed August 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Bobbie575
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

234 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    190
    29
    7
    6
    2
See reviews for
38
144
2
5
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (36)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Wales
Level Contributor
186 reviews
92 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 224 helpful votes
Reviewed 31 July 2014

We have been eating here every time we go to Dunster for 10 years and it has been consistently good. We were interested to see if the standards had been maintained following the takeover by new owners. The pub was very busy (on a Monday evening) and service was a little slow. However, the menu looked the same as before and we were pleased to find that the quality and quantity of the food were just as good as ever and the prices are the same (reasonable). All the dishes were excellent and need no particular comment. Ringo, the friendly waiter whom we have known for some years, explained that it's the same kitchen staff and nothing has changed except the owners. Indeed, why change a winning formula? It remains our favourite place to eat in Dunster. Highly recommended, booking essential.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Whistleman2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Fareham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 27 July 2014

Dropped in on the first night of our holiday for a meal - wasn't disappointed at all. Lovely food, brilliant and friendly service and a great meal. It is busy, however, so I would definitely recommend booking in advance. Well worth it.

Stayed July 2014, travelled with friends
Helpful?
Thank CaptainSlow4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bovingdon, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 July 2014

We stayed for 2 nights at the Inn, we could not have been made more welcome. The room was comfortable and the food was brilliant. Ringo was a true star, always so helpful and entertaining. Denise was the best hostess, looking forward to meeting Terry on our next visit. Dunster itself is a charming Medieval village, with lovely quaint shops and the Castle right opposite the Inn.
Thank you to all the staff for making our weekend so memorable.
Jenny & Dave
Hertfordshire

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Jenny H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
1 review
Reviewed 20 July 2014

We weren't staying but dropped in for a beer. Ended up back for fantastic food, excellent service and great company. If you're coming to Dunster don't leave without dropping in... Book ahead- there is a reason that this place is very popular...

  • Stayed July 2014
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
Helpful?
Thank Phil-at-the-bar
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Coventry,England
Level Contributor
10 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed 16 July 2014

I didn't actually stay here I just booked in for a meal with my elderly dad and my dog. What a treat it was, the food was delicious. The staff ar very amiable and our order was taken and delivered in a very timely fashion even though it was getting busy because of the World Cup final (there was a TV in the bar for customers to view the match). I had the soup to start and then the pork, fennel and sage pie and I have to say it was the most satisfying pie I have eaten in many a long year. The pork was so tender, the pastry melted in your mouth, the fennel and sage completed a perfect combination. The accompanying vegetables of potatoes, peas and carrots with gravy were also well prepared, the baby roast new potatoes were very moreish. My dad had the very generous starter of whitebait, salad and dip followed by the equally generous lamb casserole, he enjoyed it but his eyes were bigger than his tummy and the dog had to finish it off for him. For those who are real ale lovers I recommend the cheekily titled Piston Broke ale which was the perfect accompaniment to the pie. A very pleasant eating experience in a well run traditional pub in a very pretty part of the world. Booking a table is recommended as the tables around us were also reserved.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with family
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank c0lby
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Drayton, null, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 14 July 2014

My wife and I Stayed at the Stags Head for two nights and we had a wonderful time. We were greeted warmly and shown to our beutiful room. This building is 14th/15th centuary and has all the charm you would expect. Our room was imacculate and the bijou ensuite was perfect. The owners Terry and Denise were very welcoming and we decided to stay there for dinner. Good choice as the food was delicious and every table was full, mostly with locals, which says it all! We ate in the stag for the second night and as no tables were available they made an extra one up for us.Dunster is a real gem and the Stag is a great place to explore from being just opposite the castle entrance. We walked about a mile to the somerset steam railway station and had a great day out on a steam train! I cannot praise the staff and owners highly enough and srongly reccomend a stay at the Stags head Dunster.

Room Tip: Ask wellin advance and you will get the best room to suit
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Patrick K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Dunster
0.2 mi away
The Luttrell Arms
The Luttrell Arms
#1 of 2 in Dunster
676 reviews
0.2 mi away
Yarn Market Hotel
Yarn Market Hotel
#2 of 2 in Dunster
188 reviews
2.0 mi away
The Beach Hotel
The Beach Hotel
#1 of 12 in Minehead
269 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.3 mi away
Northfield Hotel
Northfield Hotel
#3 of 12 in Minehead
211 reviews
17.0 mi away
The Rising Sun Hotel
The Rising Sun Hotel
#1 of 5 in Lynmouth
455 reviews
0.1 mi away
Dunster Castle Hotel
Dunster Castle Hotel
#1 of 11 in Dunster
99 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Stags Head Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Stags Head Inn

Property: Stags Head Inn
Address: 10 West Street, Dunster, Exmoor National Park TA24 6SN, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Exmoor National Park > Dunster
Hotel Style:
Ranked #6 of 11 B&Bs / Inns in Dunster
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Stags Head Inn 3.5*
Number of rooms: 3
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Odigeo, Agoda and Priceline so you can book your Stags Head Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Stags Head Hotel Dunster
Stags Head Inn Dunster, Somerset

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing