We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“What a great little place x love it x” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Locks Victorian Tea Rooms

Locks Victorian Tea Rooms
Ranked #1 of 3 Coffee & Tea in Dunster
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: Cafe, British
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Local cuisine, Child-friendly, Kids, Cheap Eats
Dining options: Brunch, Breakfast, Lunch, Highchairs Available, Outdoor Seating, Seating, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Towcester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
38 reviews
29 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“What a great little place x love it x”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 5 May 2014 via mobile

We called in here many times throughout our weeks holiday x once for afternoon tea which was just amazing x once for lunch jacket potato was so tasty x others times just for a drink x The staff we so friendly and it is just a lovely tea room x

Visited May 2014
Helpful?
Thank Julie C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

242 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    154
    54
    19
    11
    4
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Exeter
Level Contributor
21 reviews
18 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
“very nice”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 30 April 2014

Lovely food. Can recommend the tuna sandwiches,ginger scones and banana milkshake.Good sized portions.

  • Visited April 2014
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank jaki14k
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chard, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
71 reviews
58 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
“Quirky little place”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 16 April 2014

Visited here on a gloriously sunny day so sat in the warm courtyard and ordered a sandwich and a soup - both came quickly and were about a fiver each. The building is fascinating; I loved the toilets which looked as though they may have been the original school toilets, and there is a beautiful garden. The soup was quite thick and glutenous but perfectly acceptable, and the sandwich was a massive doorstep served with salad and crisps. Service was courteous and efficient, but not effusive or particularly engaging.

  • Visited April 2014
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Shepherdslady
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Burnham-On-Sea, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“locks tea rooms Dunster”
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 13 April 2014

We visited Locks today for a cup of tea and slice of cake. I had Apple cake which was very dry and of poor standard, my home made much nicer. I left quite a large portion of the cake. When I went to pay I explained it was very dry and inedible to the young guy who took my money, the owner was also standing next to him. No apology and we were charged the full amount. This is the second time we have visited and had poor food, will never visit again. The owner obviously thought we were not locals and it didn't matter, however as we live apprx 30 miles from Dunster we are regular visitors to the town.

  • Visited April 2014
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Sue T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
42 reviews
40 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
“Cream Tea”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 23 March 2014

First time in Dunster since November and had to have my first cream tea fix of the year but only at our favourite tea room. You have to try the warm ginger scone with honey and cream. There is no other taste like it. Absolutely divine! The Victorian is a lovely tea room with seating both inside and out. As the sun was shining we opted to eat outside.
We will be back!

  • Visited March 2014
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Sharon H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Locks Victorian Tea Rooms also viewed

Dunster, Exmoor National Park
Dunster, Exmoor National Park
 
Dunster, Exmoor National Park
Dunster, Exmoor National Park
 

Been to Locks Victorian Tea Rooms? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing