We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Really good place in a great area”

Locks Victorian Tea Rooms
Ranked #1 of 3 Coffee & Tea in Dunster
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: Cafe, British
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Kids, Local cuisine, Child-friendly
Dining options: Brunch, Breakfast, Lunch, Highchairs Available, Outdoor Seating, Seating, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
1 review
“Really good place in a great area”
Reviewed 30 June 2014 via mobile

This is the second visit we have made here and it didn't fail to impress yet again. The food was really nice, and fresh. The service was prompt and friendly. I orded a ploughmans and it came within 10 minutes and it was the full works. The price is reasonable for the quality of the food, would definitely recommend to anyone passing through Dunster

Helpful?
Thank Santiago O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

258 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    164
    57
    21
    12
    4
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
117 reviews
75 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 73 helpful votes
“Good food in a pretty location”
Reviewed 28 June 2014 via mobile

Had lunch on a warm sunny day, sitting in a secluded courtyard. Our food comprised of ginger scone cream tea: blue cheese on toast and 2xblue cheese, leek and walnut pie with side salad and chutney. The pot of tea also came with an extra tea bag and pot of hot water, an appreciated addition. Decent sized portions and extremely tasty. Good quality home-made food. Reasonably priced.

Visited January 2014
Helpful?
Thank annloubes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Porlock, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Ginger Scones and Honey...”
Reviewed 27 June 2014

...yummy! A bit sweet and very sticky but it is a cream tea after all! The concept of ginger and honey is a good, and original one. Next time we have visitors from afar and it's a lovely sunny day, we'll be back.

  • Visited June 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank LighthousesRUs
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Alsager, England, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
117 reviews
68 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 56 helpful votes
“Good portions”
Reviewed 27 June 2014

Great portions of cake etc, hot water brought with tea, politeness all round, good value! Good atmosphere,down a passageway with clothing shops into a cobbled courtyard.

Visited June 2014
Helpful?
Thank Tomsksa
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Taunton, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
40 reviews
13 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
“Courtyard Cheer”
Reviewed 16 June 2014

Dunster is fairly local to me so I'm a fairly regular visitor, however it is the first time I've been to Locks Victorian Tea Rooms. The town is usually very busy with tourists and weekend visitors but today, maybe because it was Fathers day, was very quiet and peaceful. That peaceful atmosphere was certainly present in the part-cobbled courtyard that you reach after walking through a passageway between two shops. Seating was comfortable, not too close to your neighbour with very attentive and cheery staff and equally cheery Sparrows. Various flavoured Teas and Coffees were available and we chose Peppermint tea with 2 Cream Teas and two Sandwiches. The sandwiches were superb, not the flaccid mass produced supermarket stuff but glorious thick slices of what seemed to be home baked bread which was delicious, accompanied by Coleslaw, Salad and home made Chutney. I had Tuna Mayonnaise and it was stuffed full, no thin scrapings here! The accompanying Cheddar sandwich was on Granary and equally impressive! The Cream Teas came with a choice of Scones including Cherry which was quickly demolished.
A couple next to us opted for a triple decker cream tea and ended up with 'carry out' boxes as they couldn't finish it all. Very reasonably priced for a 'tourist' town and recommended, particularly on a nice sunny day.

  • Visited June 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Dave S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Locks Victorian Tea Rooms also viewed

Dunster, Exmoor National Park
Dunster, Exmoor National Park
 
Dunster, Exmoor National Park
Dunster, Exmoor National Park
 

Been to Locks Victorian Tea Rooms? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing